August Burns Red Rescue and Restore
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
FearThyEvil9
June 18th 2013



11363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm slowly about to 4.5 and say it's tied with Constellations. It really just sounds like part 2 to me and better produced.

FearThyEvil9
June 18th 2013



11363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

like the band but this is such hypocritical shit: “Metalcore is not an interesting genre at this point,” remarks August Burns Red guitarist JB Brubaker. “It's very repetitive and predictable; I want more than breakdowns and pop choruses these days.”

He's not saying no breakdowns at all, he's pointing fingers at bands that use nothing BUT breakdowns and throw in those stupid choruses. Sure, Abr use plenty of breakdowns but they write interesting riffs to go along with it and don't use pop-choruses. I can see what he means with this because I know the bands he's basically directing that towards.

RyanSmithers
June 18th 2013



56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is seriously great...I'm so glad they've returned to form and brought some of the real heaviness from Messengers back. The production is much better as well. Really seems like after stumbling with Leveler they have regained their traction with this album.

Ponton
Emeritus
June 18th 2013



5775 Comments


creative captivity is cool

Digging: Mimicking Birds - Mimicking Birds

Emethyst
June 18th 2013



25 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Solid album overall with Count It All as Lost, Creative Captivity, and Beauty as Tragedy being the three best imo. For some reason Creative Captivity reminds me of LVCRFT from General Lee.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 18th 2013



18622 Comments


this sounds promising so far

Digging: Somos - Temple of Plenty

SoxRock
June 18th 2013



27 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Very good review. Enjoyed seeing your take on past material.

Spirit Breaker and Count It All As Lost are my two favorites so far.

ConsumerOfNut
June 18th 2013



112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only listened to about 2/3 of this but what I've noticed most is that the drums are really loud and clunky. Kind of annoying. I like it though.

JackSparrow
June 18th 2013



1686 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this is the best Matt's drums have ever sounded

JazzHands333
June 18th 2013



311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If I didn't like Constellations, will I like this? The two songs I've heard are good, but I'm not really in the mood for a disappointment.

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
June 18th 2013



1546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm not a big fan of Constellations, but I really like this so it just depends.

JazzHands333
June 18th 2013



311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Alright, then, I'll give this a try. Good review, by the way.

Akashezz
June 18th 2013



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Depends what you didn't like about Constellations. This definitely has more experimentation but it actually works. Individually, the band's talent has probably never been displayed better than on this album.

joshieboy12345
June 18th 2013



5256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

After a couple of listens. Solid 4.

Digging: For The Fallen Dreams - Heavy Hearts

MarkTheDead
June 18th 2013



595 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I adore ABR, with that said this blows the rest of their stuff out of the water. I'm considering 5'ing this.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
June 19th 2013



18622 Comments


This reminds me of Constellations in a lot of ways actually

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
June 19th 2013



1546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is definitely more similar to Constellations than it is to Leveler, but I think the song writing is much improved on here. Constellations was inconsistent for me with some songs being very forgettable and then a few really good ones. On this album, every track is solid and feels like it adds something to the overall listen.

fromtheinside
June 19th 2013



16419 Comments


for a christian album

holy fuck does this go so hard

Digging: Lord Mantis - Death Mask

wacknizzle
June 19th 2013



11948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what about Mewithoutyou?!!! Although I think Aaron may be Muslim, his lyrics reference from The Christian and The Hebrew Bible.

Digging: Lord Mantis - Death Mask

NonApplicable
June 19th 2013



1827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't wait to hear this! I won't be messing with this at 192kb/s though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy