Dio Holy Diver
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
March 15th 2014


71981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

anyone remember that dio episode on south park? fuckin hilarious

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
March 15th 2014


16060 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn no havent seen

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

KILL
March 15th 2014


71981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

season 3 i think

Green Baron
March 15th 2014


20076 Comments


must watch

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
March 15th 2014


16060 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

can someone get a link im too lazy

MrSirLordGentleman
March 16th 2014


4596 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

couldn't find the original version, but still... love me people

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cv7xCzPWxTk

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
March 16th 2014


16060 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so it was just that ? cartoon Dio playing the song ? dont want to appear ungrateful for the link but...

MrSirLordGentleman
March 16th 2014


4596 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the original version is actually kinda worse, the school prinicpal introduces them to "Dio, a band that was very famous in the 80's" then Dio asks the students if they want to rock and play only like 10 seconds of the song, not the full one

KILL
March 16th 2014


71981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah its funny as fuck, dios speaking voice is ridiculous and the transition to him singing is so good

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 16th 2014


14824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

WELL I'M GLAD WE ALL LEARNED SOMETHING TODAY KIDZ

NOW LETS DANCE!!

Digging: Off Minor - The Heat Death of the Universe

VermTheImpaler
March 16th 2014


1360 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

5 this or die

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 16th 2014


14824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I choose death

Cygnatti
March 16th 2014


21395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bad choice

Hovse
March 16th 2014


922 Comments


Death yea

VermTheImpaler
March 16th 2014


1360 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Death rules, why not?

Killerhit
March 16th 2014


5254 Comments


death

not a perfect album, but it's pretty good

NinoKuni
May 1st 2014


198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"if you seen any of that yawnfest game of thrones series"

You suck

LaughingSkull
May 2nd 2014


223 Comments


Brendan, you must be one of the few people on sputnik whose opinions I tend to agree with almost all of the time, and this is just another great example.

To me, the part where you hit the nail on the head in your review is this:

The beginning of "Caught in the Middle" sounds like a normal Dokken-style 80s hard rock opening


I would go further and say that the ENTIRE ALBUM sounds like that.
If we take a brief look at the most prominent emerging forces in the metal landscape of Holy Diver's release date, we can see the following:
-Iron Maiden was on the rise
-Manowar made their debut one year prior
-Metallica had just made their debut and it was the freshest thing out there, and the one that would eventually grow to be the most influential
-Slayer
-possibly some other stuff as well, which I can't think of right now

Now, Dio somehow doesn't fit in that time frame at all. I listen to his music, and to me it sounds like a continuation of the stuff that Purple, Rainbow and Sabbath did. It wasn't innovative, it wasn't moving. It was just more of the same vein that had already went dry in the late 70's. I wouldn't call it "bad" and probably wouldn't rate it as low as 2.0, but I just fail to see how it earns the label "monumentally influental".

tempest--
May 2nd 2014


14049 Comments


whether you like something or not can't deny its influence you fucking idiot

MrSirLordGentleman
May 2nd 2014


4596 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pretty much everything made by 80's Maiden was influenced by Dio. DT, Opeth and practically every prog or power metal band is influenced by this, Rising and H&H



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy