Black Sabbath 13
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2013


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

I knew people weren't going to agree with that. I personally think The Devil You Know is the best thing Sabbath has done since Mob Rules, so I have that as a solid 4. This album is good too, but I dont know, that album just hit me more instantly and kept my intrigue longer than this.

ViperAces
June 14th 2013


12485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

id recommend still letting it grow, but idk since youve already listened a couple of times. this is my fav after mob rules actually, but ive never heard any post-mob rules black sabbath album

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2013


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

@Viper
I'd say check out Dehumanizer, the only one worth checking out.
As for The Devil You Know vs. 13 thing, dont get me wrong, I like this album a lot, it's just if I had to choose between the two I'd go with The Devil You Know.

manosg
June 14th 2013


6526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Even though this one doesn't have tracks like Falling Off the Edge of the World or The Sign of the Southern Cross, I slightly prefer it from Mob Rules. I also prefer it from The Devil You Know. The reason is Iommi's soloing which reminds me of his performance on Heaven and Hell.

Digging: Witchfynde - Give 'em Hell

ViperAces
June 14th 2013


12485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ill check it. and yea this is pretty close to mob rules

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2013


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

@manosg
Hey man. And yeah, I guess everyone has their own unique preference when it comes to these albums. but they're all great and have their own individual highlights so it's all good.

@Viper
I hope you like it. It's a fun one. Dio returns on that one, it's actually pretty much the same lineup from Dehumanizer.

manosg
June 14th 2013


6526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@SgtPepper
Hey dude, hope all is well. That's the great thing about music. You may have people who like even the same band but have entirely different preferences with respect to its discography.

Titan
June 14th 2013


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pariah and Methademic are awesome songs.....could've easily been part of the 'original' track listing.

TheNotrap
June 14th 2013


8121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Good review.
Album has some nice moments.

Digging: Pink Floyd - The Endless River

ViperAces
June 14th 2013


12485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you guys make m e feel like im overrating it

TheNotrap
June 14th 2013


8121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Nah, album's good. To each his own.

Det_Nosnip
June 14th 2013


374 Comments


MO: he's actually a lot better drummer than Ward, who was fine...but Wilk definitely likes to lay back
and I'm sure was given express instructions to give the other band members space.

Titan
June 14th 2013


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^Has nothing to do with who's better.....Ward obviously has a much better feel and style for the Black Sabbath brand. Wilk was indeed given instructions on how to play these songs as the online studio clips indicated. He was a good choice and was humble as well. Good choice imo....

TheNotrap
June 14th 2013


8121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Template drumming.
Keep it safe, keep it pro.



SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2013


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Yeah, Brad Wilk did a great job. But I personally like a little energy in drummers. For example, Bill Ward's style in "The Wizard" where he does those Ginger Baker-like fills and beats. I know the doom-direction here doesn't really give the freedom for it, but overall Brad Wilk was an excellent choice. He couldn't have been a better fit in this album.

TheNotrap
June 14th 2013


8121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"He couldn't have been a better fit in this album."
Vinnie Appice.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2013


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Yeah, Vinnie Appice was great, and would have been the logical choice, but by he "couldn't have been a better fit in this album" - I was referring to his particular performance in the album. He did a great job fitting in.

TheNotrap
June 14th 2013


8121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yes he did, but every session drummer fits on Sabbath's rhythm section.
The drumming is soulless in my opinion. Pro, but soulless.


SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2013


4453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

Yeah, that's what I meant by lack of energy. It's just like you said, it's "template drumming". It's too mechanical for my taste, no spontaneity or soul, but it works with what they were trying to do here. But I find that's who Brad Wilk is, he's more of a sturdy groove kind of guy, as opposed to someone like Ginger Baker or John Bonham who challenges the rhythm of the music. That's why I think Vinnie Appice would have been a wiser choice, but Brad Wilk worked and in the end I suppose that's all that matters.

TheNotrap
June 14th 2013


8121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yeah sure, and you did a good review.
Btw, don't you think Rick Rubin's work is flat? By the book "Pro Tools" engineering?




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy