Sigur Ros Kveikur
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Chrisjon89
June 15th 2013



3503 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i've only heard Valtari once but I really liked it. surprised at 3.6.

minty901
June 15th 2013



1978 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

valtari is beautiful. their second-best album.

...alright then may as well:

1. ( )
2. Valtari
3. med sud i eyrum vid spilum endalaust
4. Kveikur
5. Takk...
6. Agaetis Byrjun
7. Von

Artuma
June 15th 2013



12176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hmm at least we have Von at the same place in our rankings minty :D

Digging: Le Pre Ou Je Suis Mort - Le Pre Ou Je Suis Mort

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
June 15th 2013



7087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my biggest complaint about THIS album is that some of the tracks are really good and pleasant only because Sigur Ros has a pleasant sound - they don't have a ton of depth or really anything to elevate them beyond simple charming tracks.

A lot of the tracks tracks are strong enough to make this whole thing a compelling listen - Brennisteinn and title track the most, brennisteinn being my fav of theirs in a long while - but there are a few tracks that ride completely on Sigur Ros's charm without even attempting to be anything bigger.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
June 15th 2013



7325 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

6. Agaetis Byrjun


?!

Artuma
June 15th 2013



12176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ugh yeah minty's ranking is really differing from the usual Sigur ranking and it seems like he should listen more to Agaetis but i don't blame him

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
June 15th 2013



7087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha yeah Agaetis rules way too hard to be that low. The real ranking though is:

1. Heima
2. Everything else

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
June 15th 2013



7325 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I understand differing opinions etc but having Agaetis so low seems odd to say the least.

I really liked Valtari, and thought it was pretty underrated here. I get the feeling it's going to be
the overlooked gem in their discography. Med was good, but I agree with TMobotron that you can't
really absorb it like you can with their other records.

Artuma
June 15th 2013



12176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah it should be Hvarf/Heim, not just Heima

JS19
June 15th 2013



4219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agaetis is in my top five albums ever... Plus I 5'd valtari, so maybe I just disproportionally like this band?

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
June 15th 2013



7325 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fucking hell I forgot about Heima haha. They're too good to keep up with.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
June 15th 2013



7087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought this band was solid but no more for the longest time, then I sat down and really put all my focus into my first Heima viewing and was just like "okay this band obviously fucking rules" and they've since become one of my favs - and heima remains one of the greatest things ever.

Artuma
June 15th 2013



12176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hmm yeah one of the best music DVDs ever, with Neverender by Coheed and Cambria

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
June 15th 2013



7087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I liked the starland ballroom DVD from them more just because it was around at the time when I was really into them, I'd kind of fallen out of love by the time Neverender dropped. Really love the TSOAF dvd as well, but Heima is in a league of its own for me because it's kind of an artful piece that stands on its own rather than just being live performances.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
June 15th 2013



7325 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I first discovered Sigur Ros when I was going through a pretty shitty time and bought Takk... on
impulse. That first blast of Glosoli was like novocain for the soul.

That moment on Heima when they perform Von in a cafe or something is beyond magical.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
June 15th 2013



7087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Ali I hear you about that Von performance but pretty much everything on Heima strikes me that way - the band playing in their beautiful home-country in whatever awesome location they think fits the best. Stripped down acoustic indoor (and outdoor) sets, sets in abandon old buildings, it's like they're indulging themselves completely and playing in the places that inspired their sound. Ugh I could go on for days, Heima is one of my favorite things ever.

JS19
June 15th 2013



4219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heima is probably one of my favourite things I have ever seen. Gtardjamm is just...

defjaw83
June 15th 2013



1765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still getting to grips with this. Rating will prob go up but it's sounding awesome. So good to hear percussion playing a major part on a Sigur Ros album again

tcat84
June 15th 2013



825 Comments


Var sounds almost exactly like a song off of () without the vocals, If they meant to do this in a sort of of reference throwback to the album thats awesome but if they didn't than it kind of annoys me... Otherwise this album rules after one listen!


tcat84
June 15th 2013



825 Comments


I know that sounds stupid that I say a song, but I tried to find the part that it reminds me of quickly, but () is so long I would have to listen for a while



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy