Queensryche Queensryche
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2013


21583 Comments


^nah that would be Tate's band.

Digging: Foxes in Fiction - Ontario Gothic

Titan
June 10th 2013


5744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Both in my mind

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2013


21583 Comments


Looking at the two bands, I don't see this as 'fauxryche' at all.

A group formed by the band's fired singer (who wasn't a founding member) and a bunch of hired musicians is a lot less deserving of the Queensryche name than a band featuring 3 of the band's founding members.

tempest--
June 10th 2013


14612 Comments


well I don't know if Tate can be called a "founding member" but he's always been the vocalist

Titan
June 10th 2013


5744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

'A group formed by the band's fired singer (who wasn't a founding member) and a bunch of hired musicians is a lot less deserving of the Queensryche name than a band featuring 3 of the band's founding members.'

agree



Willie
Moderator
June 10th 2013


16147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There is no way this can be THAT good.
I don't believe that I'm over-selling this. I've been listening to this at least once a day for almost a month and I still love it. I think a good gauge to judge this (before actually hearing it) is to think about how much you like Empire. This is definitely heavier, but if there's a similar album to this it's probably Empire.



Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

BigPleb
June 10th 2013


37888 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

But you always seem to rate higher than most for this band Willie, that's why I'm skeptical.

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

Titan
June 10th 2013


5744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You oversold it by ranking it above Empire, Promised Land, The Warning, and the ep.

InbredJed
June 10th 2013


6106 Comments


word to that

BigPleb
June 10th 2013


37888 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The trve era.

Willie
Moderator
June 10th 2013


16147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But you always seem to rate higher than most for this band Willie, that's why I'm skeptical.
That's true and I've almost always found something to enjoy about all of their releases (except Hear in the Now and Dedicated to Chaos). That's why I mentioned that your enjoyment of Empire is a good gauge of how much you might potentially enjoy this (but this us heavier, of course).

@Titan: I think this ranks above those albums. I'm enjoying this one more.

ViperAces
June 10th 2013


12504 Comments


what about the new darkthrone, bs, mbv?
new voivod was pretty cool tho.

Necrotica
June 10th 2013


10118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Empire's really overrated imo

Willie
Moderator
June 10th 2013


16147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah. It's really good, but it's definitely not unbeatable if the band puts enough effort into their album (like they have).

laughingman22
June 10th 2013


1934 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't know, from your review it sound like this albums doesn't have the prog or the epic tracks from their masterpieces.
I'm glad queensryche has done something worth while but this doesn't seem like the return of 80's ryche, but I'm hoping
for the best.


Willie
Moderator
June 10th 2013


16147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm glad queensryche has done something worth while but this doesn't seem like the return of 80's ryche, but I'm hoping


From my review: If there is one complaint that could be leveled against these songs, it’s that they lack the high level of classy, progressive elements that were so prevalent during the Chris DeGarmo era. The songs all seem to be lacking that layer of subtle flourishes and clean guitar melodies that were (apparently) DeGarmo’s influence...It just feels like it would have been a perfect opportunity to crank out an extended song similar to ‘Roads to Madness’, ‘Eyes of a Stranger’ (the extended live version) or ‘’Promised Land’.

It doesn't 'seem' like it's a complete return to the 80s Ryche because it's not.

Titan
June 10th 2013


5744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

'If there is one complaint that could be leveled against these songs, it’s that they lack the high level of classy, progressive elements that were so prevalent during the Chris DeGarmo era. The songs all seem to be lacking that layer of subtle flourishes and clean guitar melodies that were (apparently) DeGarmo’s influence...'

In other words, the songwriting is suffering.

Willie
Moderator
June 10th 2013


16147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not suffering. Just different. It's probably the lack of DeGarmo and the increase in Wilton that made this so heavy and riff-oriented.

Titan
June 10th 2013


5744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah but Chris has been gone awhile obv

Willie
Moderator
June 10th 2013


16147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

True and Geoff had a team of writers... and Wilton wasn't one of them.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy