Kalmah Seventh Swamphony
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
FinalWord
June 11th 2013


99 Comments


Album Rating: 3.5

Correct Kalmah ranking:

12 Gauge
They Will Return
The Black Waltz
Swampsong
Swamplord
Seventh Swamphony
For the Revolution

The three albums with "swamp" in the title are all about interchangeable for me, though.


wow, might sound harsh, but I have to say: You have pretty bad taste in music when it comes to kalmah

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2013


16390 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Have a review for this in the works, album is pretty great but is probably the same quality as For the Revolution.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

mifzal
June 11th 2013


826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

For the revolution isn't listenable anymore. I haven't listened to it since the year it was released.

pedro70512
June 11th 2013


2706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Like A Slave and Towards the Sky are sweet but the rest of Revolution is rather forgettable. Damn, I guess that means my review is destined for the sidebar then...

Digging: EPISTASIS - Light Through Dead Glass

UnitK2K
June 12th 2013


108 Comments


Nope! The title track is really good, and fuckin DEAD MAN'S SHADOW is sooo sweet. Kalmah is just too good

pedro70512
June 12th 2013


2706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh I forgot about Dead Man's Shadow, good call. Just went back through it and Ready For Salvation is a nice change of pace too.

FrozenVain
June 13th 2013


2432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is it just me or is Kalmahs production getting worse and worse? I think that the production on For The
Revolution, 12 Gauge and this is really awkward. Both 12 gauge and this have a really unclear muddy
production while their first three are crystal-clear and sharp. The keyboard is also way to low in
certain parts of this album.

"For the revolution isn't listenable anymore. I haven't listened to it since the year it was released.
"
It's on the same level as this imo.

mifzal
June 13th 2013


826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

i think FTR was a positive step in terms of polishing the true kalmah sound , but that album lost it's power after few listens.

Raz0rGrind23
June 13th 2013


423 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Despite FTR being their weakest; and might I add this album still fucking kills the majority of crap being released today, Outremer has a nice punch to it.

Raz0rGrind23
June 13th 2013


423 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still need to hear 7th though. Going to wait until its proper US release. Damn excited and great review sir

FrozenVain
June 14th 2013


2432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"i think FTR was a positive step in terms of polishing the true kalmah sound , but that album lost it's power after few listens."

Disagree completely. The prodction and overall sound on that album was it's main issue in my opinion. The riffs and songs were all good written they just didn't have the same impact. They all felt weaker. The bass was very strangely produced. Sometimes you can hear it and sometimes you don't.

pedro70512
June 14th 2013


2706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I liked the production sometimes. "Towards the Sky" had a great charging feel, but others like the
title track sound too thick.

hexfix93
June 17th 2013


13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Most disappointing Kalmah album ever, in my opinion. I've listened to it several times and I just don't know...a few good songs but most of them only shine during the solos. And the intros are just terrible. Not for all songs, but for the most part after about 1-2 minutes into a song I always ask myself "why didn't they just start it there?".

Also not really digging the new keyboardist. Maybe I'll give this another spin in a week and see if my opinion changes.

Good review nonetheless.

FrozenVain
June 17th 2013


2432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

While I agree with you on most points I have to disagree about the keyboardist. He is actually kinda awesome it's just that the album is so terribly mixed that the keyboards sounds like shit.

tacos N stuff
June 17th 2013


359 Comments


love the consistency of this band
they never let you down =]

XfingTheSullen
June 18th 2013


2616 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Review really made me stoked.

Digging: Kalisia - Cybion

XfingTheSullen
June 18th 2013


2616 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

But if it's only at FTE level, it will be pretty underwhelming.

Keyblade
June 18th 2013


14836 Comments


this is such a great review, good job man

Digging: Strawberry Switchblade - Strawberry Switchblade

hexfix93
June 18th 2013


13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I guess I worded that kinda badly. I don't think the keyboardist is bad at all, it's just that the
keys just seem out of place sometimes. And they just remind me of Dimmu Borgir (reviewer mentioned
that too iirc) at times and I'm not a fan of Dimmu. I dig some of their stuff but for the most part I
just can't stand them. That similarity is really what kills a lot of this album for me.

I did give the record another spin and I actually enjoy everything after Hollo. It's just the frst 3
songs I really can't stand listening to (except for the solos of course). Might up my rating to 3.5.
Even so, I'm still disappointed in many aspects and still consider this to be their worst record.

pedro70512
June 18th 2013


2706 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd sign up for a career arc where my worst record is a 3.0/3.5.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy