Queens of the Stone Age ...Like Clockwork
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
evilford
June 6th 2013


22660 Comments


nice rev dude

gotta get this hard, the list of guest artists just gave me a woody

Digging: Cadaver - ...In Pains

BigPleb
June 6th 2013


36740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Ah, still rules.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2013


4435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

@Evilford
Thanks, man. Yeah, I was little bummed that Mark Lanegan wasn't as prominent in this.

@Lebowski
Shut the fuck up, Donny.




BigPleb
June 6th 2013


36740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Am I wrong?

Uranium
June 6th 2013


7169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, this album is solid. as said many times before, it could have benefited with at least one hard
rocking song.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2013


4435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

@BigLebowski
I saw that movie for the 20th time today, just had to say it when I saw you. This is starting to grow on me more though.

@Uranium
I agree there. "My God Is The Sun" kind of tries to revive the "Songs for The Deaf" sound, but even that feels a little tamed (still rules though). This album isnt suppose to be about heavy hitters anyway.

BigPleb
June 6th 2013


36740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good review btw man, agree with almost all your points.

Definitely their best since SFtD.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2013


4435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Thanks. I was a little "iffy" about this review, but everyone seems to be receiving it well.

I have this as my 4th favourite (behind SftD, Rated R, and the debut), but it is growing on me. I was bored by it at first, but I eventually started to see the light.

BigPleb
June 6th 2013


36740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The album felt a little self-indulgent to me at first, but after a few listens you begin to see what Homme and co. were going for.

Uranium
June 6th 2013


7169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice! Yeah, this is definitely one of their tamer, more focused albums. I feel like they had a point to
make and they made it excluding filler or superfluous songs.

It's different, but really, what two cd's of theirs can you truly compare?

I'm a sucker for EV, though.


SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2013


4435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

@bigLebowski
That's exactly how I felt. I'll admit I was a bit disappointed not to hear them return to a heavier sound, but in the end, I began to appreciate the mellower sound. "My God Is The Sun" was initially my favourite track but I started to go with "Keep your eyes peeled" and "like clockwork" in the end.

@Uranium
Yeah, this is album was a good kind of different- took me a while to ge that though. I like EV too. I've told BigLebowski this as well, I stick by my statement that Era Vulgaris is a good album.


Uranium
June 6th 2013


7169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll stand with you and fight the good fight for its merit

BigPleb
June 6th 2013


36740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Finally, someone who likes Keep Your Eyes Peeled as much as me!

Sheaiskl
June 6th 2013


816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of my favourites

jtswope
June 6th 2013


2216 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just got this. Gonna blast it on my drive today.

omnipanzer
June 6th 2013


21557 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is much better than I was expecting, great review.

BigPleb
June 6th 2013


36740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

So much replay value.

SharkTooth
June 6th 2013


4562 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hell, it's an improvement from Vulgaris, that itself is great enough,
(I gave Vulgaris a 3.5 so you can understand my high rating for this)

Digging: King Hobo - King Hobo

Titan
June 6th 2013


4884 Comments


the last 2 tracks are amazing

CrownOfMagnets
June 7th 2013


2263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

their albums ranked in my opinion:
Rated R/Songs for the Deaf (tie)
...Like clockwork
Self titled
Lullabies
Era Vulgaris



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy