Queens of the Stone Age ...Like Clockwork
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BigPleb
June 4th 2013


37232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Keep Your Eyes Peeled needs more love.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

castlemadeofsand
June 4th 2013


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree with your statement about having to listen to the whole album, its very cohesive.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2013


10288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

releasing two critically acclaimed albums such as


Since you mention the two albums after this, there's no need to say "such as." Maybe say "the two critically acclaimed albums..."

one could only anticipate what he had in stored for the next Queens Of The Stone Age


In store*, and also, I'd slap 'album' or 'record' at the end of this. Feels incomplete otherwise.

The first two sentences of your second paragraph say the same thing, so I'd get rid of one of them.

but the music is engineered uniquely uniquely different from anything else before it


instead have taken certain elements from previously written songs; the haunting atmosphere


A colon ( would work much better here, since you have a list after it.

There's quite a handful of guest stars that have been invited to this reunion party of sorts to aid Queens Of The Stone Age renovate their style.


'Aid' feels weird here-- maybe just say help, or change it to 'aid ___ in a style renovation."

n fact, it's a bit of tease.


Bit of a tease* and haha, the rest of this paragraph. SO titillating.

Haha I have to run now (all dem words, man,) but maybe Brostep can look at the rest for you if I can't complete this later. Overall there's much less to fix here than your last one-- this one flows very naturally, and is a good read. Nice work.



KILL
June 4th 2013


71965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my god is the sun!

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

newjunk2
June 4th 2013


232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Kalopsia and I Appear Missing are probably my two favorites, but I think Smooth Sailing is the obvious choice for the next single.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Geist
June 4th 2013


371 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Smooth Sailing makes me want to not have any pants on ever.

FearThyEvil
June 4th 2013


12629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just can't get into this band at all for some reason.

Ecnalzen
June 4th 2013


6706 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was really surprised by the title track on this. It is awesome and very different than the norm for these guys. So far, I like this album better than the last two.

His falsetto is pretty damn good on here; I don't think I've ever really heard him use it so much before.

tommygun
June 4th 2013


24989 Comments


sweet rev sarge

gotta check

BigPleb
June 4th 2013


37232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I Appear Missing is godly, yeah.

jtswope
June 4th 2013


2369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still have to listen to this.

clander270
June 4th 2013


170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really liked this album but it's definitely not their best. Honestly I don't know why everybody knocks Era Vulgaris, I fucking love that album.

CrownOfMagnets
June 4th 2013


2293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is probably my third favorite QOTSA album behind Songs for the deaf and Rated R. It reminds me of Lullabies to Paralyze but with less filler.

Ecnalzen
June 4th 2013


6706 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I used to really like Rated R, but I listened to it the other day and didn't really get much out of it except for 3 or 4 songs. It was weird.

Sheaiskl
June 5th 2013


816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Smooth Sailing is probably the song I least like

sblevins95
June 5th 2013


158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Smooth Sailing is so groovy and shit though

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2013


4443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

smooth sailing is a pretty decent track, it really grew on me for a while.

StrizzMatik
June 5th 2013


3208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Excellent review although I disagree on the album not having standouts. There isn't one bad song on this album, and I would easily put I Appear Missing, My God Is The Sun, Kalopsia, the title track & Smooth Sailing in a Best Of comp. On many levels it's the best thing they've done from a musical perspective but the lack of some standard QOTSA riff-y songs does bump it down a bit from Rated R / Songs levels of classic.

Digging: Lagwagon - Hang

Sheaiskl
June 5th 2013


816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not to say I don't like Smooth Sailing. Every song on the album is of great quality, I appear missing I think would slip into a top 5 qotsa songs list.

DeZoet
June 5th 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I liked this review, its how I felt after my first listen through (although better written any set of sentences I could stick together ahaha). On second and third listen some of songs are starting to stick in my head, but I was looking forward to the heavy riffs that we are accustomed too from QOTSA.

I Appear Missing, My God is the Sun & Kalopsia are early standouts that call me back for a another listen. I Sat by The Ocean also is pretty catchy tune that I've been humming. It's definitely a good album, not my favourite release (might be a close 2nd or 3rd after it grows on me)I think it needs a few more listens before rank it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy