Alice in Chains The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Yeah. It's totally intentional. Still, I hoped this record would be more adventurous. It doesn't deserve so many lukewarm reviews though.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

BigPleb
June 4th 2013


36984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I think most of the neg reviews are to do with the fact it's nothing different. Some people just might not be able to embrace it anymore.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

True, but I suspect some of them didn't invest enough time in listening to it. The record grows on you after 3 spins.

BigPleb
June 4th 2013


36984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, 1 spin and had done with it. No patience nowadays, especially when it comes to 'lengthy' albums.

gordodustin
June 4th 2013


122 Comments


After many listens, I've found myself becoming irritated with the vocals on this album. There's way too much of both vocalists singing over each other. It's like neither of them are good enough to be the lead singer so they just split the role in half.

Gyromania
June 6th 2013


15941 Comments


best alice in chains album. hands down

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

oltnabrick
June 6th 2013


31079 Comments


um what

Digging: Drexciya - Neptune's Lair

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Yeah. Contribs know what's up.

BigPleb
June 6th 2013


36984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Gyro be trollin.

Minus.
June 6th 2013


2680 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wasnt too impressed my first listen. but It's really growing on me. I think the problem was I kept
comparing it to BGWTB. I am really starting to love this. I still think it's too early to
rate this.

revanne
June 6th 2013


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a really good album, definitely a grower. Great mix of band's characteristics with few new elements and fantastic arrangements. Although, I have a problem with production. It just .. it doesn't emphasize the darkness & emotional depth of their sound. IMO, the over-compression and digital sheen makes TDPDH a bit bland and I am disappointed by that.

Nagrarok
June 6th 2013


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Production was the biggest drawback to BGWTB and unfortunately this has suffered a similar treatment.

YoYoMancuso
June 6th 2013


11149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The biggest drawback is its length. The sound could be a bit bigger but what I really look for is songwriting and this album delivered.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2013


16408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is pretty fucking good

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

CrownOfMagnets
June 7th 2013


2287 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^agreed. The title track is the shit and Stone is fucking catchy.

Darkwatch025
June 7th 2013


186 Comments


This album definitely took a few listens to grow on me. I like it a lot more now, however, BGWTB was so much better overall. Looking in View, Last of My Kind, Private Hell, and Your Decision are all amazing songs.

Darkwatch025
June 7th 2013


186 Comments


This album definitely took a few listens to grow on me. I like it a lot more now, however, BGWTB was so much better overall. Looking in View, Last of My Kind, Private Hell, and Your Decision are all amazing songs.

jtswope
June 7th 2013


2351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haven't fully listened to this yet. I'm sure it won't be as good as Dirt but from what I've heard it sounds pretty good.

Dreamflight
June 7th 2013


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Now that I've listened to this enough times to fully understand it, I came up with 2 conclusions:

- It didn't live up with the expectations, and it's probably their less interesting album do date.

- Jerry MOTHERFUCKING Cantrell is still my fav guitar player of all time. Dude is God.

SitarHero
June 8th 2013


4698 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Breath on a Window might be the most mainstream song written by AiC since Facelift, but goddamn is it catchy. Only Cantrell could write and play something that poppy and not sound like a sellout.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy