Alice in Chains The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
State0ftheLee
June 1st 2013


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album rating 9.5

I feel this a worthy follow-up to Black Gives Way to Blue. Cantrell and DuVall harmonies are near perfect on tracks like Voices and Stone. Phantom Limb is a grunge-thumping thunderclap. Filling the void of the late great Staley is impossible, but building upon the sound with new vocalist DuVall takes the band in new directions that still sound like AIC and something new as well.

FirstLucidDream
June 1st 2013


18 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wish Jerry would let Duvall sing more. Cantrell's backing vocals are great, but I don't think he's a very good lead singer. William is amazing and they barely let him shine.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

It's true that he's being underused on these records. Cantrell's a fine lead singer though.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 1st 2013


6196 Comments


I have yet to listen to this one.

Good review.

Digging: Alkoholizer - Free Beer... Surf's Up!!!

SitarHero
June 2nd 2013


4698 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You's slackin' Voivod. Tsk tsk.

Oc3anic
June 2nd 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is a great follow up to Black Gives Way to Blue. I don't know if I would put it ahead of it yet, but I have only spun it 3 times. It's still got room to grow!

Low Ceilings, Lab Monkey, title track, and Choke have to be the best songs in my opinion.

Stone is just plain boring and repetitive though...

Oc3anic
June 2nd 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hate when people call Alice In Chains grunge. They may have a few qualities similar to the genre but I would never call them a grunge band.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I don't really like this tag either, but it was a nice marketing tool back in the day... and people still use it.

omgraptors
June 2nd 2013


814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wonder which one of the 3 ballads/up-beat songs is gonna be the next single.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Voices for sure.

Nagrarok
June 2nd 2013


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Seems likely enough.

TooManyFriends
June 2nd 2013


714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Title track + Phantom Limb are just way too good

Det_Nosnip
June 2nd 2013


374 Comments


Yeah...I really don't get why people like the new AIC. Both albums have been incredibly boring IMO. Not anything particularly wrong with the new singer...but AIC were done way before Layne died and Jerry hasn't written a decent song in decades.

oltnabrick
June 2nd 2013


31079 Comments


Huge avatar o lawd

Digging: Pharmakon - Bestial Burden

FCY
June 3rd 2013


206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Unfortunately this doesn't have the lasting value of BGWTB. Bummed to a 3.5.

GauravB82
June 4th 2013


39 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Love this album, can listen start to finish. I don't think it's samey, I think AIC has made an album to weed out the people with low attention spans. It's totally solid.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Ah. Critics are really harsh on this. Just checked out metacritic, and it's got pretty mixed reviews.

BigPleb
June 4th 2013


36979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I think this has got staying power, despite its length the replay value is high.

THE DEVIL PUT DINOAURSSS HEREEEEEEEEEEE

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I mostly agree, but as I stated this is rather safe. There's nothing really totally new for the band on this record. The material is solid though.

BigPleb
June 4th 2013


36979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Don't think they intended to, but still it does prevent the record from being anything above a 4.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy