Deafheaven Sunbather
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
danielito19
August 24th 2014


6056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I legitimately don't understand the point of solos.

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

deathschool
August 24th 2014


9004 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Need to hear the new song.

Of course you don't, Danielito. You're 3punk5solos.

Digging: Look What I Did - Zanzibar III: Analog Prison

zaruyache
August 24th 2014


6866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

because they sound cool? They don't really fit into [most] black metal, though, unless they're like layered to make a cool harmonization or somehow mix with the chord progressions of the rhythm riff.

I mean listen to how the solo syncs and fits with the rhythm riff
http://youtu.be/H8PC1_3fjvs?t=1m47s

Digging: Ardour Loom - Demo

beefshoes
August 24th 2014


4212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solos are great if the solos are great.


Digging: Devin Townsend Project - Z2

NineInchDreamPark
August 24th 2014


64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Solos are badass m/m/m/m/m/

BrushedRed
August 24th 2014


1066 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I prefer the solos in the beginning of "Vertigo" and the one in "From the Kettle Onto the Coil" over those that Dragonforce does. Nice and smooth and not overbearing as opposed to giving someone a seizure.

BrushedRed
August 24th 2014


1066 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Oh please. This was the most talked-about metal record of the year and it got fantastic reviews from critics. It was only a vocal minority of elitists and contrarians that complained about it."

Imo, it deserves the praise. But why everywhere do you see user scores in the 70-80 benchmark as opposed to the 90s (which it truly deserves?). I think album is underrated. Not by critics. But by audiences.

Mesm277
August 25th 2014


201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

To see exhibit A of beautiful solos. Shine on You Crazy Diamond

Gestapo
August 25th 2014


728 Comments


http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/image.php?u=664728&dateline=1408985002

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
August 25th 2014


1644 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The solo in the middle of the new song is atmospheric as hell. I love it.

Artuma
August 25th 2014


14384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

it's great yeah but i don't think they should use them much. the solo can easily destroy the atmosphere

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

climactic
August 25th 2014


19368 Comments


solo in vertigo is god awful

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
August 25th 2014


1644 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its better than rehashing intro drum loops like in the new song, lol it sounds like a mix of Dream House and The Pecan Tree. But seriously, if they keep having incredible endings like that, a new album would be filled with top notch material.

Keyblade
August 25th 2014


15011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

solo in vertigo is god awful

123

Digging: Submotion Orchestra - Alium

BrushedRed
August 26th 2014


1066 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"The solo in the middle of the new song is atmospheric as hell. I love it"

Amen.

"solo in vertigo is god awful"

Not amen. Vertigo is quite possibly the best of this album. Only second to The Pecan Tree

Love how this album is versatile. You can headbang your anger out, yet relax on the beach with this.

BrushedRed
August 26th 2014


1066 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Its better than rehashing intro drum loops like in the new song, lol it sounds like a mix of Dream House and The Pecan Tree.
But seriously, if they keep having incredible endings like that, a new album would be filled with top notch material."

I agree. And I think Deafheaven are a force to be reckoned with. They truly have talent. I'm just kinda sad they went with more
of a bm approach to the new song. Like it may be better but I don't want them to feel like the vocals and instruments have to
be altered to please the crowd, but have you not listened to "The Pecan Tree" at all? It ends similar as "From the Kettle" but
not quite as polished. It's people like that that make me wonder if they've actually listened to Sunbather... If Deafheaven were
a movie, they'd be The Shining. It has it's art/house influence while still being dark and terrifying. Not to mention "all work and
no play makes Jack a dull boy." You shouldn't take the album that seriously. Sure it touches touchy and personal subjects
but you also should take it as it is and have fun with it. Without that, you will be a "dull boy."

I love the lyrics to the new song. Poetic while still being heavy. Reminds me a lot of Converge in that aspect.

(I just wonder what the score would be if we didn't have trolls and idiots spreading their drivel all over the place before giving it
a chance. Album isn't a one-time deal. It takes time. It's a great challenge, but it's a challenge with great rewards. Might be
4.2-4.4 range. I remember when album was 4.2-4.3 before we had too many loud-mouths, a 4 is great for sure, but it doesn't
do the album justice. I see a bigger gap between 4 and 4.3 than a 4 and 3.7 even though the 2 are equivalent points-wise). If
album ever goes down to the 3's I'll lose hope for humanity. This is some of the best stuff you'll experience.

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2014


2901 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hoping "From the Kettle Onto the Coil" ends up on the new album

Digging: Botch - We Are the Romans

zaruyache
September 1st 2014


6866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

3:18 in the title track omg that riff m/



I think album is underrated. Not by critics. But by audiences.

Oh for christ's sake quit complaining. It has good scores everywhere including here and RYM
despite the massive negative feedback it's gotten from elitists, and it has MASSIVE amounts
of ratings on both of the aforementioned sites. This album has been rated 1600 times on this site
and 3700 times on RYM and has good average scores on each. With such an obviously wide and general
audience giving their input on the album (because of how widely advertised it was), it makes sense
that the average rating wouldn't be as high as that of another classic record by a more kvlt band
only being listened to by people already interested in super kvlt black metal in the first place.

This has a "low" rating because everyone--black metal fanboys and everyone in between--has been
given the opportunity to listen to and give feedback for this album--many of whom clearly didn't end
up liking this style of music--which is not something we are used to seeing in black metal music
today. If Katy Perry albums were advertised explicitly to pop music fanboys and weren't seen or
heard by anyone else, I'm they would have decent average scores, too.

DrGonzo1937
September 2nd 2014


5921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this shit

Digging: Ilenkus - The Crossing

jtswope
September 2nd 2014


2365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice av Gonzo.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy