Deafheaven Sunbather
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BrushedRed
September 24th 2014


1132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't smoke weed. I just speak honesty. Album is better than it gets flack for.

zaruyache
September 24th 2014


7884 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

scrolled through your 5-4.0's and you don't seem to have much bm there, so tbh this probably just sounds like nothing else you've heard because you've heard nothing else that sounds like this. I've seen lots of people compare numerous bm bands to dfhvn. Post-black metal is the popular thing in bm right now so it's not surprising there a loads of bands riding on dfhvn's coattails.



On that note, does anyone know of an instance of a bm band using post-rock influences earlier than Weakling?

Digging: Ethereal Shroud - They Became the Falling Ash

bach
September 24th 2014


13573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

who gives a shit

Digging: Nurse With Wound - Who Can I Turn to Stereo

BrushedRed
September 24th 2014


1132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If I had to fit it to anything, this album is the heavier version of Hurry Up, We're Dreaming by M83, sure it fits in with certain genres but as a whole, it cannot be contained. And that album didn't get any type of flack.

Wizard
September 24th 2014


19767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

BrushedRed, you should brush up on your bm knowledge before making ignorant statements as to why this album is unlike anything you've ever heard.

Digging: Leviathan - Scar Sighted

BrushedRed
September 24th 2014


1132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Because I don't rate every album I listen to. It would take years to do such. I know plenty of black metal bands. And to be honest I said this album was NOT black metal.

Wizard
September 24th 2014


19767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

But, but, but....ah fuck it. Argument is redundant.

AmericanFlagAsh
September 24th 2014


1892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My friend just went to their show tonight

Digging: Refused - The Shape of Punk to Come

BrushedRed
September 24th 2014


1132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I rest my case.



Argument is not redundant. I just told you what you didn't want to hear. It's possible to like both Deafheaven and black metal,

contrary to popular belief

Wizard
September 24th 2014


19767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I rest my case



No, no, you have no idea what you're talking about.

zaruyache
September 24th 2014


7884 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Weakling's 'Disasters in the Sun' rips faces off. Shit I need to listen that album more. Destroys this one by leaps and bounds of anti-cosmic space.

BrushedRed
September 24th 2014


1132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Because you wanna compare this to Agalloch?

Xar
September 24th 2014


1652 Comments


Because I don't rate every album I listen to. It would take years to do such.
it takes 5-10 seconds to rate an album on sputnik, slightly more on rym.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2014


6716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Because you wanna compare this to Agalloch?"



lmao

Digging: The Phonies - Your Body Lost Along the Shore

YakNips
September 24th 2014


14244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this sucks

Digging: Car Seat Headrest - Twin Fantasy

BrushedRed
September 24th 2014


1132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't care for rate your music. Tried it. It's the pitchfork of this site

zaruyache
September 24th 2014


7884 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It took a while to get my ~500 ratings back after some random admin nuked me for unknown reasons, but doing it as you listen to stuff isn't that bad. Helps you keep track of everything, too.

BrushedRed
September 24th 2014


1132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hey he was comparing black metal and that's the first black metal I saw on his 5's. I didn't care to scroll thru everything of his.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2014


6716 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm about 99.9% sure Wizard wasn't talking about agalloch haha

BrushedRed
September 24th 2014


1132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"It took a while to get my ~500 ratings back after some random admin nuked me for unknown reasons, but doing it as you listen to stuff isn't that bad. Helps you keep track of everything, too"



But you do realize I'm a 5th year senior in chemical engineering with an internship and a part-time job. I rarely ever have free time (something you guys have too much of)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy