Deafheaven Sunbather
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BrushedRed
August 26th 2014


1121 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"The solo in the middle of the new song is atmospheric as hell. I love it"

Amen.

"solo in vertigo is god awful"

Not amen. Vertigo is quite possibly the best of this album. Only second to The Pecan Tree

Love how this album is versatile. You can headbang your anger out, yet relax on the beach with this.

BrushedRed
August 26th 2014


1121 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Its better than rehashing intro drum loops like in the new song, lol it sounds like a mix of Dream House and The Pecan Tree.
But seriously, if they keep having incredible endings like that, a new album would be filled with top notch material."

I agree. And I think Deafheaven are a force to be reckoned with. They truly have talent. I'm just kinda sad they went with more
of a bm approach to the new song. Like it may be better but I don't want them to feel like the vocals and instruments have to
be altered to please the crowd, but have you not listened to "The Pecan Tree" at all? It ends similar as "From the Kettle" but
not quite as polished. It's people like that that make me wonder if they've actually listened to Sunbather... If Deafheaven were
a movie, they'd be The Shining. It has it's art/house influence while still being dark and terrifying. Not to mention "all work and
no play makes Jack a dull boy." You shouldn't take the album that seriously. Sure it touches touchy and personal subjects
but you also should take it as it is and have fun with it. Without that, you will be a "dull boy."

I love the lyrics to the new song. Poetic while still being heavy. Reminds me a lot of Converge in that aspect.

(I just wonder what the score would be if we didn't have trolls and idiots spreading their drivel all over the place before giving it
a chance. Album isn't a one-time deal. It takes time. It's a great challenge, but it's a challenge with great rewards. Might be
4.2-4.4 range. I remember when album was 4.2-4.3 before we had too many loud-mouths, a 4 is great for sure, but it doesn't
do the album justice. I see a bigger gap between 4 and 4.3 than a 4 and 3.7 even though the 2 are equivalent points-wise). If
album ever goes down to the 3's I'll lose hope for humanity. This is some of the best stuff you'll experience.

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2014


3400 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hoping "From the Kettle Onto the Coil" ends up on the new album

Digging: The Smashing Pumpkins - Monuments to an Elegy

zaruyache
September 1st 2014


7453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

3:18 in the title track omg that riff m/



I think album is underrated. Not by critics. But by audiences.

Oh for christ's sake quit complaining. It has good scores everywhere including here and RYM
despite the massive negative feedback it's gotten from elitists, and it has MASSIVE amounts
of ratings on both of the aforementioned sites. This album has been rated 1600 times on this site
and 3700 times on RYM and has good average scores on each. With such an obviously wide and general
audience giving their input on the album (because of how widely advertised it was), it makes sense
that the average rating wouldn't be as high as that of another classic record by a more kvlt band
only being listened to by people already interested in super kvlt black metal in the first place.

This has a "low" rating because everyone--black metal fanboys and everyone in between--has been
given the opportunity to listen to and give feedback for this album--many of whom clearly didn't end
up liking this style of music--which is not something we are used to seeing in black metal music
today. If Katy Perry albums were advertised explicitly to pop music fanboys and weren't seen or
heard by anyone else, I'm they would have decent average scores, too.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

DrGonzo1937
September 2nd 2014


6938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this shit

Digging: Marilyn Manson - The Pale Emperor

jtswope
September 2nd 2014


2534 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice av Gonzo.

DrGonzo1937
September 2nd 2014


6938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers jt. Still playing it like it's just come out.

Hopelust
September 3rd 2014


1129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Feel you on that. Been jamming this in my car all spring/summer. Hard.

DrGonzo1937
September 3rd 2014


6938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

mmm definitely a driving album smashed to 11

Hawks
September 3rd 2014


35837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Never jammed this in the car actually.

Gestapo
September 3rd 2014


728 Comments


this definitely wont bump in the whip what r u guys on about

Hopelust
September 4th 2014


1129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah it's especially good if you have a commute somewhere that'll let you play through the whole album. Hate stopping a track midway cuz I've arrived at my destination.

BrushedRed
September 7th 2014


1121 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still my favorite album since TDAG.

My day is not complete without feeling the power of the sun.

BrushedRed
September 7th 2014


1121 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"jammed this hard on my 8 hour car trip the other day it rules"

Done this before. Great album for long drives. No one will appreciate it unless it's taken as a whole anyway. Folks give it crap
whenever they hear the first half of "Dream House" and yet they haven't heared, rather felt, all the movements and feelings in
this album. Truly a masterpiece, album deserves a 4-5 and anything less is closed-mindedness or an unappreciativness of
art. Album is art class in 60 minutes. Takes the best of unlikely genres and turns them into flawlessness

TheSpirit
September 7th 2014


18005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

As someone who also enjoys this album, pls shut up

adr
September 7th 2014


3665 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn surprised you dig this Spirit and.... Emarosa :D

album is sweet, stoked for the new one!

Digging: Boris - Boris At Last -Feedbacker-

Artuma
September 7th 2014


16311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

As someone who also enjoys this album, pls shut up [2]

Digging: Nux Vomica - Nux Vomica

Wolfhorde
September 7th 2014


13690 Comments


As someone who enjoys two songs on this album, please shut up.

Digging: Vi Som Alskade Varandra Sa Mycket - Den sorgligaste musiken i varlden

AaronIsCrunchy
September 7th 2014


917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Heard this when it first came out and didn't really get what all the fuss was about. Might have another listen at some point.

deathschool
September 7th 2014


10708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Those two songs sure are tops though.

Digging: Pegasuses-XL - Electro Agitators



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy