Deafheaven Sunbather
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
sixdegrees
June 16th 2014


21497 Comments


what

Digging: The Verve - The Verve

climactic
June 16th 2014


21928 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hah



i get it

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2014


17867 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What are these HIPSTER creatures you speak of?

zaruyache
June 16th 2014


13906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Used to be probably-snotty musical elitist nerds that listened to bands were obscure and would say

stuff like "I like [band name], you've probably never heard of them." Kids that listened to obscure

stuff just so they could say they listened to stuff nobody'd heard of. Now it's just a clothing style

for kids that like weird indie rock or w/e.

Digging: Imbaru - Vigias

YakNips
June 16th 2014


18218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i just like this album

Digging: Jute Gyte - Perdurance

Azn.
June 16th 2014


5619 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jesus christ all the incessant arguing about sunbather is so trite

GuanoBumbershoot
June 16th 2014


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"But like I stated before, the sound means more than the tagging."



That's the way it should be.



Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
June 17th 2014


7792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

besides "Vertigo" I'm not digging this as ahrd as i used to

Digging: Danny Brown - Atrocity Exhibition

Hopelust
June 17th 2014


2408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Maybe the novelty has just worn off. This album just passed its first birthday last week.

BrushedRed
June 18th 2014


2006 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Gets better with age, imo

jtswope
June 18th 2014


4631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"jesus christ all the incessant arguing about sunbather is so trite"



Yup.

BrushedRed
June 18th 2014


2006 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"Uh Brushed, hate to break it to you but this band is constantly labeled a hipster group and is demonized by *metal* elitists for

not being black metal enough. So you've got it backwards there, in that hipster kids like this kind of "unrecognizable"

"distorted" bs. Shoegaze was a totally hipster genre in the beginning, wasn't it?"



When did I ever say this was black metal? I said this was Ninth Paradise but set on fire.. Are you saying Ninth Paradise is

black metal? From what I've garnered.. This is not black metal nor is it totally post-rock.. Shoegazing, for sure, but not like

most Shoegazing. It's Shoegazing on steroids. The majority of the flack you hear from this album deals with the vocals and

those are the folks who say "well it's pretty til you factor in vocals" and I didn't know that vocals only made the music... There

are definitely some black metal influences here. But is it black metal? No. Nor should it be compared directly to it. The only

genre I can say this is is "Sunbather". It's a genre on it's own.

beefshoes
June 18th 2014


6587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If I listened to this critically and in an elitist type of way, I probably wouldn't like it that much at all.

I think the problems arise when you listen to it as a black metal record. It obviously has characteristics of black metal, but it

obviously doesn't compare to Burzum or Ulver. Just enjoy it for what it is and if you can't, then I feel you.

tempest--
June 19th 2014


18934 Comments


omg shut the fuck up about genres

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
June 19th 2014


7792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this is really just instrumental rock except for when there's words at which point it becomes dynamic music

Phlegm
June 19th 2014


7177 Comments


If I listened to this critically and in an elitist type of way, I probably wouldn't like it that much at all.
I think the problems arise when you listen to it as a black metal record. It obviously has characteristics of black metal, but it
obviously doesn't compare to Burzum or Ulver. Just enjoy it for what it is and if you can't, then I feel you. [2]

hard dude

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
June 19th 2014


7792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think it's obviously guitar music, with a bit of percussion thrown in for good measure

Amphoteric
June 19th 2014


2014 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It's post-blackgaze sunbathercore metal

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
June 19th 2014


7792 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i personally think there's a good case to be made for this being a decent shoemetal release as opposed to gazingatblackshoes release

MO
June 19th 2014


20961 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

fucking footwear genre names just ugh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy