Deafheaven Sunbather
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Keyblade
May 29th 2013


16419 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

false metal



getting old

Digging: -

Lucid
May 29th 2013


7051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's actually a relatively audible lyric too, how did you not get that?


with bm i've just been attuned to not hear the lyrics

Dodecahedron
May 29th 2013


970 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The only real metal is tru steel, lelel

Sleaper
May 29th 2013


3471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Only reason i aint 5ing this is because the 2nd half just isnt on par with first 3 tracks.

Digging: August Burns Red - Found in Far Away Places

Lucid
May 29th 2013


7051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

except the pecan tree is the best?

Sleaper
May 29th 2013


3471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

nah i dont think so. sunbather is easily my fav track.

So far this is my AOTY tho

sniper
May 29th 2013


19076 Comments


sunbather is probably the most similar to the stuff this band has done before. have you heard roads and the demo? also are you pawpn?

Sleaper
May 29th 2013


3471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeh man im pawpn.

nah i havent heard anything from these guys before.. which is why i love this so much... its so new to me haaha.

sniper
May 29th 2013


19076 Comments


this is my favorite by them right now but roads to judah is worth a listen just for "violet" and the rest is also damn good.

Sleaper
May 29th 2013


3471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

sweet, ill check it out. ever since i heard nameless coyotes work like a couple of years ago i just loved this sort of music. keeeen for his new one

Durrzo
May 29th 2013


1197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm still doing my best to warm up to these shrieking vocals, but the rest is totally worth the effort.

Evreaia
May 29th 2013


4220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

shrieks are the best kind of vocals, man the fuck up

Digging: Goldmund - All Will Prosper

Durrzo
May 29th 2013


1197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well clearly I disagree! Little to no variation and not at all easy to understand, I don't see the appeal. Though after a couple spins they aren't as grating as they were initially.

Keyblade
May 29th 2013


16419 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you'll get used to em and hopefully come to enjoy them

ti0n
May 29th 2013


1682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

very good review. this is actually my most favourite album this year so far after national. it really is worth the hyperbole yes

Digging: Self Defense Family - Heaven Is Earth

Evreaia
May 29th 2013


4220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Little to no variation "



In the case of this band, perhaps. but generally shrieks > all

ti0n
May 29th 2013


1682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Little to no variation "



i couldnt be less arsed. i love it that way.

Motiv3
May 29th 2013


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice review, good album i guess.

mindleviticus
May 29th 2013


8521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

love it

Lucid
May 29th 2013


7051 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I finally read the review and some of the writing is sloppy.

Structured with the highs and lows endemic of the genre... Instead, the unstructured songs feature


So are the songs structured or unstructured?

Despite drawing a lot of attention for its disparaging influences


Disparaging means: "Regard or represent as being of little worth." You likely meant "disparate" here.

Somewhere between the decaying sounds of “Windows” and the sonic hell of “The Pecan Tree,”


There is nothing "hellish" about that section or the album.

Sunbather seems somewhat orthodox--nubile even.


Nubile?? That word means: "ready for marriage" or "sexually mature and attractive." Lol.



Otherwise, thumbs up.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy