Alice in Chains The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BigPleb
May 28th 2013


37948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Its tied with BGWTB, S/T is far weaker than this.

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

slagun
May 28th 2013


745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this almost definitely is their worst album

truekebabpower
May 28th 2013


639 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

S/T has got it's problems, but the amazing wibe on it is undeniable

this almost definitely is their worst album (2)

tempest--
May 28th 2013


14624 Comments


"It's tied with BGWTB, S/T is far weaker than this." [2]

SitarHero
May 28th 2013


4745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Shit's about to get real.

JViney
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2013


322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hmm. Well, as it happened I managed to find an copy of 'Facelift' lurking around on my laptop. I'd like to give AiC another shot. Is that a better place to go from?

SitarHero
May 28th 2013


4745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Depends on what you're into normally. I'd say start with Jar of Flies.

Edit: I just looked at your pie chart and it says you like teh mehtulz. Then have at and start with Facelift or Dirt.

slagun
May 28th 2013


745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

''Hmm. Well, as it happened I managed to find an copy of 'Facelift' lurking around on my laptop. I'd like to give AiC another shot. Is that a better place to go from?''

Absolutely, first two tracks rule.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2013


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

The first half of Facelift is particularly amazing. So yeah... definitely.

tempest--
May 28th 2013


14624 Comments


first all tracks rule

fix'd

Pho3nix
May 28th 2013


56 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@JViney they only have three records (plus two excellent EP's) featuring their late vocalist Layne Staley, so I'd say go with those first.

Their self-titled, also known as Tripod, gets a lot of slack but It's actually an immense grower.

Anyway, I'd say this one can stand on its own - but It's just not the same without the brooding, even "weird" vocals by Staley. What made this band so unique were songs like Angry Chair and I Stay Away, they sound wrong and right at the same time... hard to explain really. With TDPH most songs sound muddled and very much the same, there's no huge variety there even if the quality of the tracks are top notch. I also think they should switch their vocal style to something else, since it was Staley who perfected that and not Cantrell.

SitarHero
May 28th 2013


4745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

DuVall's not copying Staley and we're all the better for it.

"I also think they should switch their vocal style to something else, since it was Staley who perfected that and not Cantrell."

Ummm I'm pretty sure that despite how awesome Staley was he didn't perfect the twin lead vocal line idea by himself.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2013


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I kind of hate the fact that it already has more ratings than Jerry Cantrell's Degradation Trip which is such an immense album.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 28th 2013


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

It may be better than his first solo album, but not Degradation Trip.

SitarHero
May 28th 2013


4745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think you're short-shifting the album somewhat. It's a little paint-by-the-numbers, but it's still damn solid.

Dimor
May 28th 2013


1835 Comments


Man this is damn good. These guys just keeping releasing stellar albums.

BigPleb
May 28th 2013


37948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Cos Cantrell is still in the band.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
May 28th 2013


13454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

he is the band

NonApplicable
May 28th 2013


2012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No way this is as good as BGWtB

Minus.
May 28th 2013


2680 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm just now getting to listen to this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy