Queens of the Stone Age ...Like Clockwork
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
InbredJed
May 25th 2013


6074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"That's like 15 spins too many."

Implying what, exactly? That if an album doesn't grab you the first 5 spins its trash?

InbredJed
May 25th 2013


6074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

see?! I can do maths!

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


10273 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

You excel at misreading, friend!

I only continue listening to an album if I get that "it's going to grow on me!" vibe. Otherwise, I mostly steer clear, unless if it's a style I'm already familiar with-- that way I'm already interested in analyzing it, etc etc.

zakalwe
May 25th 2013


8494 Comments


Sawyer is absolutely fucking massive!!

Digging: Luciano Basso - Voci

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


10273 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Said Kate after sleeping with him?

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013


22005 Comments


I can't imagine why anyone would listen 20 times to an album they don't like

Digging: Miguel - Kaleidoscope Dream

zakalwe
May 25th 2013


8494 Comments


Absolutely brilliant, genuinely lol.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


10273 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Also Greg, I'd put a comma after 'bang' in the summary! Makes it read more easily.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@InbredJed:

You know with so many new albums released weekly, you need to be selective. If the record doesn't grab me at my 3rd spin (or around) I just stop listening to it. I still think I give a record a fair amount of time in comparison to some other listeners who judge a record by its itunes preview or give it only one cursory spin.


Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

Acrosstheshield13
May 25th 2013


791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i didn't know how i'd feel about a new Queens record after Era Vulgaris..I didn't expect much..but i was pleasantly surprised. solid record.

Uranium
May 25th 2013


7230 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is so solid. I love all their records.

Gyromania
May 25th 2013


15941 Comments


i love how much is going on in these songs, and the switch in moods keeps it interesting. keep your eyes peeled and i sat by the ocean (which is maddeningly catchy) are such opposites and yet they don't sound weird next to each other.

great review btw



Digging: Lantlos - .neon

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


10273 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Greg is much more patient than I am. If there's nothing redeeming on the first listen, I say fuck it.

InbredJed
May 25th 2013


6074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ya'll are right, I wasn't trying to say you should listen to something that doesn't turn you on.

It was actually a special situation with E.V. and myself where I wasn't a huge fan of the band at the time, and a roommate/friend was obsessed with the album and kept playing it. I would always leave when it came on until a month or so later when it finally clicked for me.

If it were up to me, I would have NEVER dug that album!

Uranium
May 25th 2013


7230 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought EV was a perfect garage rock record. I rocked hard to that album many times.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Gyromania:
Exactly. I hinted at it in my write-up actually. Was planning to write something similar to what you just wrote, but it turned up a bit differently.

@Omaha:
I didn't know you were so cruel man.



Gyromania
May 25th 2013


15941 Comments


yea it's bizarre how well it all goes together. very difficult to pick a favourite, but i appear missing, fairweather friends, i sat by the ocean, and my god is the sun are initial standouts. will probably raise my rating in time

tempest--
May 25th 2013


13878 Comments


Great review man, can't wait to hear this!

Gyromania
May 25th 2013


15941 Comments


the end of i appear missing is ridiculously good

DrHouseSchuldiner
May 25th 2013


5643 Comments


Need to check!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy