Queens of the Stone Age ...Like Clockwork
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
InbredJed
May 25th 2013



5786 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"That's like 15 spins too many."

Implying what, exactly? That if an album doesn't grab you the first 5 spins its trash?

InbredJed
May 25th 2013



5786 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

see?! I can do maths!

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013



10056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

You excel at misreading, friend!

I only continue listening to an album if I get that "it's going to grow on me!" vibe. Otherwise, I mostly steer clear, unless if it's a style I'm already familiar with-- that way I'm already interested in analyzing it, etc etc.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

zakalwe
May 25th 2013



7368 Comments


Sawyer is absolutely fucking massive!!

Digging: J Mascis - Tied to a Star

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013



10056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Said Kate after sleeping with him?

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013



21778 Comments


I can't imagine why anyone would listen 20 times to an album they don't like

zakalwe
May 25th 2013



7368 Comments


Absolutely brilliant, genuinely lol.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013



10056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Also Greg, I'd put a comma after 'bang' in the summary! Makes it read more easily.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013



7351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@InbredJed:

You know with so many new albums released weekly, you need to be selective. If the record doesn't grab me at my 3rd spin (or around) I just stop listening to it. I still think I give a record a fair amount of time in comparison to some other listeners who judge a record by its itunes preview or give it only one cursory spin.


Digging: Royal Blood - Royal Blood

Acrosstheshield13
May 25th 2013



791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i didn't know how i'd feel about a new Queens record after Era Vulgaris..I didn't expect much..but i was pleasantly surprised. solid record.

Uranium
May 25th 2013



7079 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is so solid. I love all their records.

Gyromania
May 25th 2013



15482 Comments


i love how much is going on in these songs, and the switch in moods keeps it interesting. keep your eyes peeled and i sat by the ocean (which is maddeningly catchy) are such opposites and yet they don't sound weird next to each other.

great review btw



Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013



10056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Greg is much more patient than I am. If there's nothing redeeming on the first listen, I say fuck it.

InbredJed
May 25th 2013



5786 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ya'll are right, I wasn't trying to say you should listen to something that doesn't turn you on.

It was actually a special situation with E.V. and myself where I wasn't a huge fan of the band at the time, and a roommate/friend was obsessed with the album and kept playing it. I would always leave when it came on until a month or so later when it finally clicked for me.

If it were up to me, I would have NEVER dug that album!

Uranium
May 25th 2013



7079 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought EV was a perfect garage rock record. I rocked hard to that album many times.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013



7351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Gyromania:
Exactly. I hinted at it in my write-up actually. Was planning to write something similar to what you just wrote, but it turned up a bit differently.

@Omaha:
I didn't know you were so cruel man.



Gyromania
May 25th 2013



15482 Comments


yea it's bizarre how well it all goes together. very difficult to pick a favourite, but i appear missing, fairweather friends, i sat by the ocean, and my god is the sun are initial standouts. will probably raise my rating in time

tempest--
May 25th 2013



13150 Comments


Great review man, can't wait to hear this!

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

Gyromania
May 25th 2013



15482 Comments


the end of i appear missing is ridiculously good

DrHouseSchuldiner
May 25th 2013



5643 Comments


Need to check!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy