Queens of the Stone Age ...Like Clockwork
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ZippaThaRippa
May 25th 2013


2443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm getting a very definite Pink Floyd vibe from the title track

dannyboy89
May 25th 2013


13065 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've been putting off Rated R for a long time, that needs
to be fixed hard.

I've only dug SFTD in full.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I'm getting a very definite Pink Floyd vibe from the title track"

Yeah. I hear ya.

InbredJed
May 25th 2013


6106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ha! I new this review had to be coming soon, nice work Greg!

I will certainly be checking this album out in the coming weeks, but I don't understand all the flak against Era Vulgaris. I felt it was a much more cohesive and well-executed affair than its predecessor. Both albums were obviously lacking after the departure of Josh's primary writing partner, Oliveri. Van Leeuwin's contributions have always been more accents than impetus, and I think that relationship was improved upon with E.V.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@SgtPepper:

I think the energy is there, but there's sort of different vibe to it than usual when it comes to these guys. I for one like that the focus is on melodies.

@InbredJed:
I didn't like Era Vulgaris at all. I may revisit it soon though. I loved Lullabies though.


SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


4458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

@Greg
It is a different energy, I agree, it's more for lack of a better word, "sexual". It's got a darker feel than Lullabies, and Queens Of The Stone Age have always excelled in conjuring up these kind of atmospheres. It's like nothing they've done before, and I do like the way this album focuses more on melody than aggression. Still, I feel like everything just kind of blends together, there's no real instant excitement, it has to be attained in its growth. At least that's how I feel.

peaks40
May 25th 2013


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fuck ya'll, rules

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

was pleasantly surprised by this one, much better than the last LP, but it's still a cut below their best work. The high ratings for this kind of surprise me but I guess sputnik is sputnik and you'll all calm down in a few weeks. 3.5-4 for me, 4'd because m/

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@SgtPepper:
You hit the nail right on the head with the 'sexual' thing. The record has tremendous replay value for me. I always stick with the albums that I tend to listen to a lot despite their small flaws. I don't know now if it's as good as Rated R for example. I'll tell you in a year.


Gyromania
May 25th 2013


16089 Comments


oh shit, this is good eh

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013


22059 Comments


Yeah I won't check this out. Rated R was ok.

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

DoubtGin
May 25th 2013


6754 Comments


no

jefflebowski
May 25th 2013


8257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the production is pretty horrific on some tracks but the songs are more than decent

NonApplicable
May 25th 2013


2012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oliveri is barely noticeable. WTF?

SiameseInfinity
May 25th 2013


20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review, but I really like Era Vulgaris too, i think it achieved quite a unique sound and showed a clear progression for the band. Also, you can quite clearly hear Trent's vocals in Kalopsia. Can't wait to listen to the whole thing.

jefflebowski
May 25th 2013


8257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this got 5 stars in MOJO, for what it's worth

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Speaking of Nick Oliveri:

http://deadlightentertainment.bandcamp.com/track/06-hanging-low

InbredJed
May 25th 2013


6106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

coo

This album has the creeping nosferatu, "I will possess you!" sexual vibe going, where Era Vulgaris was more a "Robot-disco"
sexual thing.

Honestly, it took me over 20 spins to really start digging EV, Greg

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Over 20 spins you say? That's like 15 spins too many.

scissorlocked
May 25th 2013


3511 Comments


great work as always man

will listen this soon

Digging: Low Roar - Low Roar



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy