The National Trouble Will Find Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
NightProwler
December 15th 2013


6346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Naaah... Not really :D

Digging: Goat - Commune

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
December 15th 2013


7112 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

How could you leave demons off that list

Artuma
December 15th 2013


13026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

well look at his username

Digging: Suffocate For Fuck Sake - Blazing Fires and Helicopters on the Fro

InfamousGrouse
December 15th 2013


3503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Slipped is a grower if ever I heard one

Digging: Harry Nilsson - Nilsson Schmilsson

Artuma
December 15th 2013


13026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

for me the hardest grower here was this is the last time

zakalwe
December 15th 2013


8096 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hardest grower, snigger.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
December 15th 2013


7112 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The National as a whole is just a grower band for me. Like, I always dig their sound right off the bat, but every time I listen to an album I find another song or at least another aspect that I just love.

Skoj
December 15th 2013


1136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The bridge in "I Should Live in Salt" and "Demons" omg

Skoj
December 15th 2013


1136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

One of two 5s of the year. None in the last three years.

zakalwe
December 15th 2013


8096 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

To be brutally honest there hasn't been a "recent" band that can churn out the instant classics. These are the only ones I can think of.

NightProwler
December 15th 2013


6346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The Gaslight Anthem's two first records, IMO. Although that is a few years from now. But no, few artists these days can make four amazing records in a row, like these guys have.

StallionMang
December 15th 2013


5619 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Like Clockwork is like "this close" to being a modern classic, but yeah, the most recent 5 album I have is from 2005

Digging: The Antlers - In the Attic of the Universe

Skoj
December 15th 2013


1136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Gaslight Anthem is up there with consistency, but there isn't a more consistently "classic" band making music right now.

InfamousGrouse
December 15th 2013


3503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

59 sound maybe, sink or swim is of substantially lower quality (though not bad by any means)

zakalwe
December 15th 2013


8096 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's weird because the amount of great stuff has never been bettered but there is a distinct lack of pure gold.

Green Baron
December 15th 2013


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the 59 sound is so close to a 5

NightProwler
December 15th 2013


6346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

skoj: I agree with that, although Gaslight is closer to my heart, the National has made more classics.

Infamous: Yeah, I used to think SoS was below 59, nowadays I kinda think it's on par. I like it's raw sound. But I am kind of biased as I adore them

Green Baron
December 15th 2013


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Biggest grower on this album is probably Demons

Hated it when I first heard this album, but now it's starting to climb

zakalwe
December 15th 2013


8096 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I mentioned it before by I was driving home at some ridiculous time in the morning, Sun was up, demons was on the stereo and if I wasn't a hard as nails all round bloke I would have wept uncontrollably.
This album is full of them moments though.

NightProwler
December 15th 2013


6346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

zak: It really is. Songs that seem so crafty as a whole, yet still maintaining a feeling as if they could break down and fall apart at anytime. So fragile.


Edit: "the 59 sound is so close to a 5"

It is a 5 :]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy