The National Trouble Will Find Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
jefflebowski
August 23rd 2013


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just because i discovered the secret homoerotic subtext behind all of matt's lyrics and you didn't

jefflebowski
August 23rd 2013


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

also, nicely done

ABjordanMM
August 24th 2013


1431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

same to you good sir.

Digging: Ben Howard - I Forget Where We Were

Athom
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2013


17222 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is my biggest disappointment of the year. Such a flat record. All the emotional depth that made their last two records so great is completely absent.

Monsieur
August 24th 2013


78 Comments


All the emotional depth that made their last two records so great is completely absent.


Cannot agree in the least bit

jefflebowski
August 24th 2013


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

b-but..this is way more emotionally affecting than high violet and boxer!

why does no one agree with me? *sobs in corner*



jefflebowski
August 24th 2013


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

seriously though, this is possibly their most melodramatic and upfront album in terms of matt's
delivery especially, boxer and hv are to me incredibly subdued by comparison, with a few exceptions

Athom
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2013


17222 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really? to me it's the national making elevator music. it's devoid of any spark or passion. it sounds like autopilot. even matt's lyrics sink on this one.

jefflebowski
August 24th 2013


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i respectfully disagree completely, i think the fact he uses his high register much more on this (ie. heavenfaced, pink rabbits, i should live in salt) lends this a directness and power missing from their earlier work

also, how can you not be moved by the coda of this is the last time?

jefflebowski
August 24th 2013


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i will admit his lyrics are a tad weaker on this though

also i really need to stop thinking of things to write after i've already posted once

Lakes.
August 24th 2013


28467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"really? to me it's the national making elevator music. it's devoid of any spark or passion. it sounds like autopilot. even matt's lyrics sink on this one."

that would explain why this album made my mom start liking the national

Digging: Scott Walker and Sunn O))) - Soused

jefflebowski
August 24th 2013


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

weirdly, my dad loves sad songs and won't listen to anything after alligator

Lakes.
August 24th 2013


28467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"i think the fact he uses his high register much more on this (ie. heavenfaced, pink rabbits, i should live in salt) lends this a directness and power missing from their earlier work"

this is why my mom likes it, she says their older stuff is too brooding and monotone lol

jefflebowski
August 24th 2013


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

clearly we have plenty in common

tommygun
August 25th 2013


24989 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

so surprised you wanna dance with me now

Lakes.
August 25th 2013


28467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

5? whoa

Cygnatti
August 25th 2013


21353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wow you guys have parents that listen to non pop music!! I'm so jelly.

Lakes.
August 25th 2013


28467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i'm also lacking a strict asian mother.

but i have a strict white jesus freak mother, which might be worse

Cygnatti
August 25th 2013


21353 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ugh possibly. My parents are Christians but they don't do shot outside of going to church. Hell, I've NEVER seen then pray ever. And my dad falls asleep during mass (and he committed adultery). And after all of this, they give my two older brothers a ton of shit because they don't want to go to church.

tommygun
August 25th 2013


24989 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

solid gooold



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy