The National Trouble Will Find Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
barcafan21
May 22nd 2013


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

easily aoty

Digging: St. Vincent - St. Vincent

Parallels
May 22nd 2013


6643 Comments


no dont say that

DamnVanne
May 22nd 2013


1791 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

I'm giving The National a listen for the first time right now, and I can't see why you folks could possibly care this deeply for this band

juiceviaorange
May 22nd 2013


285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's sick how much I love this band. It's sicker how good they actually are

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

i listened to this chan its too bad its not good though

treeqt.
May 22nd 2013


10112 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

^

Digging: Cikada String Quartet - In Due Tempi (Saariaho, Cage, Maderna)

Treeman
May 22nd 2013


1223 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

this is like a 4.3 right now but i already know its just going to turn into a 5 at some point so i just 5'd it

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is the first national album where ive felt cold towards it, yet its not so different from their more recent albums, which I quite like. i think my love affair with them is coming to a close

pjquinones747
May 22nd 2013


765 Comments


This artwork fucked with my head for a while

Digging: Thank You Scientist - Maps of Non-Existent Places

barcafan21
May 22nd 2013


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

dont be such a downer

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


23924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this review is perfect, I feel the exact same way. It feels like a bit of a step below High Violet and Boxer to me, but that might be because of how it's much less immediate, like you said. 123 on Devendorf's snare drum and I'm pretty much in full agreement with the lyrical analysis. Nice work.

However, I do think that the "white girl" lyric might just be Matt intentionally being silly for no real reason, like "I was teething on roses, I was in Guns n Noses" from Humiliation. It's still a good lyric but not one of the best or most noticeable in my opinion. You used it to make your point well though so whatever.

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

barcafan21
May 22nd 2013


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

am i the only one that finds this the most immediate since alligator

WhiteNoise
May 22nd 2013


3224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is one of the slowest growing albums I've ever heard but I think I'm getting there...

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


23924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@barca - probably

there's lots of interesting stuff going on here musically, but most of it is really subtle. There's nothing that grabs me, at least, quite like the opening piano of Fake Empire.

Winesburgohio
May 22nd 2013


1042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's not their most complex but it's definitely their most nuanced, if that makes sense. i love the subtle touches they're so adept at.

also i'm glad the review makes note of the 'frailty' in Berningers voice. he sounds as lost as he did on Alligator but without the complimentary youthful bravado

Digging: Vashti Bunyan - Heartleap

johnnydeking29
May 22nd 2013


9287 Comments


this is like a 4.3 right now but i already know its just going to turn into a 5 at some point so i just 5'd it

What. No...

this review is perfect, I feel the exact same way...

Whilst it isn't nearly as bullshit-laden as most Chan reviews, it certainly isn't perfect; looks like it was written in a hurry

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

Winesburgohio
May 22nd 2013


1042 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pretty sure he misused ephemeral but other than that it's really good!

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


2715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The album's a classic apart from this song and this part and the way they do this and they didn't
quite manage this and

STOP SHOUTING!
May 22nd 2013


631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i like the way you hone in on the emotion, but avoid hyperbole and try to be precise.
'depths upon depths' - exactly.

Alex445
May 22nd 2013


149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

did these guys seriously just release their 4th consecutive phenomenal record? Jesus christ.

These guys stand tall with Radiohead, Queens of the Stone Age, and Soundgarden as being my all time favorites. Simply amazing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy