The National Trouble Will Find Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
treeqt.
May 22nd 2013


16864 Comments


^

Treeman
May 22nd 2013


1425 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

this is like a 4.3 right now but i already know its just going to turn into a 5 at some point so i just 5'd it

Electric City
Emeritus
May 22nd 2013


15760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is the first national album where ive felt cold towards it, yet its not so different from their more recent albums, which I quite like. i think my love affair with them is coming to a close

pjquinones747
May 22nd 2013


826 Comments


This artwork fucked with my head for a while

Digging: The Dear Hunter - Act V: Hymns With The Devil In Confessional

barcafan21
May 22nd 2013


2667 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

dont be such a downer

Digging: Local Natives - Sunlit Youth

Aids
May 22nd 2013


24269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this review is perfect, I feel the exact same way. It feels like a bit of a step below High Violet and Boxer to me, but that might be because of how it's much less immediate, like you said. 123 on Devendorf's snare drum and I'm pretty much in full agreement with the lyrical analysis. Nice work.



However, I do think that the "white girl" lyric might just be Matt intentionally being silly for no real reason, like "I was teething on roses, I was in Guns n Noses" from Humiliation. It's still a good lyric but not one of the best or most noticeable in my opinion. You used it to make your point well though so whatever.

barcafan21
May 22nd 2013


2667 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

am i the only one that finds this the most immediate since alligator

WhiteNoise
May 22nd 2013


3464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is one of the slowest growing albums I've ever heard but I think I'm getting there...

Aids
May 22nd 2013


24269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@barca - probably



there's lots of interesting stuff going on here musically, but most of it is really subtle. There's nothing that grabs me, at least, quite like the opening piano of Fake Empire.

Winesburgohio
May 22nd 2013


1274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's not their most complex but it's definitely their most nuanced, if that makes sense. i love the subtle touches they're so adept at.



also i'm glad the review makes note of the 'frailty' in Berningers voice. he sounds as lost as he did on Alligator but without the complimentary youthful bravado

johnnydeking29
May 22nd 2013


10931 Comments


this is like a 4.3 right now but i already know its just going to turn into a 5 at some point so i just 5'd it

What. No...

this review is perfect, I feel the exact same way...

Whilst it isn't nearly as bullshit-laden as most Chan reviews, it certainly isn't perfect; looks like it was written in a hurry

Digging: The Veils - Total Depravity

Winesburgohio
May 22nd 2013


1274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pretty sure he misused ephemeral but other than that it's really good!

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


2897 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The album's a classic apart from this song and this part and the way they do this and they didn't

quite manage this and

STOP SHOUTING!
May 22nd 2013


668 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i like the way you hone in on the emotion, but avoid hyperbole and try to be precise.

'depths upon depths' - exactly.

Alex445
May 22nd 2013


149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

did these guys seriously just release their 4th consecutive phenomenal record? Jesus christ.



These guys stand tall with Radiohead, Queens of the Stone Age, and Soundgarden as being my all time favorites. Simply amazing.

NightProwler
May 22nd 2013


7005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good review. And yeah, maybe Heavenfaced should have been a little longer - but Matt's voice in that song is sooo omfg

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


4254 Comments


Great review as always Chan.

Motiv3
May 22nd 2013


8979 Comments


only fitting to have a chan review for the National. This is 5/5 for me though.

anarchistfish
May 22nd 2013


25264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree about the drumming on this band's songs. They do so much in those little moments that

completely shift the moods of songs

Digging: Lamb of God - VII: Sturm und Drang

anarchistfish
May 22nd 2013


25264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

am i the only one that finds this the most immediate since alligator



Yeah cos this is like Boxer and listening to Boxer was like trying to squeeze water out of stone



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy