The National Trouble Will Find Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
juiceviaorange
May 22nd 2013


286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's sick how much I love this band. It's sicker how good they actually are

Iluvatar
Emeritus
May 22nd 2013


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

i listened to this chan its too bad its not good though

treeqt.
May 22nd 2013


13856 Comments


^

Digging: Bisk - Twisted

Treeman
May 22nd 2013


1263 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

this is like a 4.3 right now but i already know its just going to turn into a 5 at some point so i just 5'd it

Electric City
Emeritus
May 22nd 2013


15744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is the first national album where ive felt cold towards it, yet its not so different from their more recent albums, which I quite like. i think my love affair with them is coming to a close

pjquinones747
May 22nd 2013


766 Comments


This artwork fucked with my head for a while

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

barcafan21
May 22nd 2013


1953 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

dont be such a downer

Aids
May 22nd 2013


24176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this review is perfect, I feel the exact same way. It feels like a bit of a step below High Violet and Boxer to me, but that might be because of how it's much less immediate, like you said. 123 on Devendorf's snare drum and I'm pretty much in full agreement with the lyrical analysis. Nice work.



However, I do think that the "white girl" lyric might just be Matt intentionally being silly for no real reason, like "I was teething on roses, I was in Guns n Noses" from Humiliation. It's still a good lyric but not one of the best or most noticeable in my opinion. You used it to make your point well though so whatever.

Digging: RATKING - 700 Fill

barcafan21
May 22nd 2013


1953 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

am i the only one that finds this the most immediate since alligator

WhiteNoise
May 22nd 2013


3277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is one of the slowest growing albums I've ever heard but I think I'm getting there...

Aids
May 22nd 2013


24176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@barca - probably



there's lots of interesting stuff going on here musically, but most of it is really subtle. There's nothing that grabs me, at least, quite like the opening piano of Fake Empire.

Winesburgohio
May 22nd 2013


1072 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's not their most complex but it's definitely their most nuanced, if that makes sense. i love the subtle touches they're so adept at.



also i'm glad the review makes note of the 'frailty' in Berningers voice. he sounds as lost as he did on Alligator but without the complimentary youthful bravado

Digging: DJ Rashad - Just A Taste

johnnydeking29
May 22nd 2013


9885 Comments


this is like a 4.3 right now but i already know its just going to turn into a 5 at some point so i just 5'd it

What. No...

this review is perfect, I feel the exact same way...

Whilst it isn't nearly as bullshit-laden as most Chan reviews, it certainly isn't perfect; looks like it was written in a hurry

Digging: Sleepytime Gorilla Museum - Of Natural History

Winesburgohio
May 22nd 2013


1072 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pretty sure he misused ephemeral but other than that it's really good!

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


2795 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The album's a classic apart from this song and this part and the way they do this and they didn't

quite manage this and

STOP SHOUTING!
May 22nd 2013


639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i like the way you hone in on the emotion, but avoid hyperbole and try to be precise.

'depths upon depths' - exactly.

Alex445
May 22nd 2013


149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

did these guys seriously just release their 4th consecutive phenomenal record? Jesus christ.



These guys stand tall with Radiohead, Queens of the Stone Age, and Soundgarden as being my all time favorites. Simply amazing.

NightProwler
May 22nd 2013


6802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good review. And yeah, maybe Heavenfaced should have been a little longer - but Matt's voice in that song is sooo omfg

Digging: Joanna Gruesome - Weird Sister

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


3687 Comments


Great review as always Chan.

Motiv3
May 22nd 2013


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

only fitting to have a chan review for the National. This is 5/5 for me though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy