The National Trouble Will Find Me
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DBlitz
June 9th 2014


1690 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

TWFM > A Fever You Can't Sweat Out > HV

NorthernSkylark
June 9th 2014


3807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't have any questions
Cause I don't think it's gonna rain

Digging: Pharmakon - Bestial Burden

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2014


16431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Goodness, Pink Rabbits just never gets old

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

Green Baron
June 19th 2014


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

never does

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

SnakeDelilah
June 19th 2014


7904 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The last 2 songs >

Digging: Sun Kil Moon - Benji

TalonsOfFire
June 19th 2014


8204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This probably has their worst closer since the debut. Not that it's bad, every other song is just better. Except Fireproof

Digging: Stella Luna - Stargazer

NorthernSkylark
June 20th 2014


3807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fireproof > the rest

Just because I strongly disagree with you

Chrisjon89
June 20th 2014


3738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed Sowing ^ Pink Rabbits is one of those incredible songs. so much sadness in it. this year's equivalent for me is Your Love Is Killing Me by Sharon Van Etten

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

TalonsOfFire
June 20th 2014


8204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Graceless>Sea of Love>This Is The Last Time>Don't Swallow The Cap>Humiliation are my top 5

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


16431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Your Love Is Kiling Me is a poignant track as well. My favorite off her new album.

SeaAnemone
June 20th 2014


20534 Comments


I really only listen to a select few tracks off this anymore
it doesn't help that The National have two other incredibly-solid albums with a similar aesthetic so I never feel the desire to choose this instead ('cept for the individual lovely tracks)
still much better than HV though

Digging: Pharmakon - Bestial Burden

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


16431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually prefer High Violet. I think it's their best album.

TalonsOfFire
June 20th 2014


8204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The three before this are 5's and this is probably a 4.3

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


16431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm definitely in the minority, but I think Boxer is weak compared to Alligator and High Violet. I even prefer Trouble Will Find Me.

1. High Violet (5.0)
2.) Alligator (4.5)
3.) Trouble Will Find Me (4.0)
4.) Boxer (3.5)

And I like the Cherry Tree EP too. "All Dolled Up In Straps" is amazing.

SeaAnemone
June 20th 2014


20534 Comments


I actually prefer High Violet. I think it's their best album.


I shouldn't be upset because The National are so consistent but this opinion confounds me

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2014


16431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It was the first National album I heard...does that help clarify?

SeaAnemone
June 20th 2014


20534 Comments


(I've done this a million times before but like)

1. Boxer (5.0)
2. Alligator (4.7)
3. Trouble Will Find Me (4.1)
4. High Violet (3.4)
5. singles (really good)
6. self-titled / sad songs (like a 3)

TalonsOfFire
June 20th 2014


8204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is probably their most consistent along with Boxer. Alligator gets insanely good with the last 5 songs and TWFM has
some filler. Also Sad Songs doesn't get enough love

SeaAnemone
June 20th 2014


20534 Comments


and yea Sowing that makes a little more sense (but now I'm confused as to why you hadn't heard them before???)

SeaAnemone
June 20th 2014


20534 Comments


HV just isn't nearly as engaging
I don't even need energy or whatever because they do drunken lethargy so well, but nothing on HV is all that interesting to me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy