Leprous Coal
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
CosmicPie
August 17th 2013



1076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gave her a focused listen. This is a steady 4.

Willie
Moderator
August 25th 2013



15900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So far, not bad... but Coal drags on for WAY too long.

CosmicPie
August 25th 2013



1076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think the closing track with Ihsahn really screws up the flow of the album. Might have to drop the rating a bit.

OmairSh
August 25th 2013



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you think Coal drags on then uh oh. But I've gotten used to the length of some of the tracks, I think the music has you immersed enough to appreciate their lengths.

I used to hate the closer, now I really like it, especially the last 2 odd minutes, so intense

Digging: Paco de Lucia - El Duende Flamenco

CosmicPie
August 25th 2013



1076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I used to hate the closer, now I really like it, especially the last 2 odd minutes, so intense"

It's like taking a sweet voyage just to get punched in the face by the locals on your return home.

pedro70512
August 25th 2013



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"It's like taking a sweet voyage just to get punched in the face by the locals on your return home."

\m/

OmairSh
August 25th 2013



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I love getting punched in the face, beats getting punched in the balls

CosmicPie
August 25th 2013



1076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hah, getting punched in the face isn't all it's cracked up to be. Break a cheekbone or an eye socket.... meh.

OmairSh
August 25th 2013



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You can have those replaced at least ;)

Spag
August 25th 2013



1730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Have you guys heard Bury? It's rad.

Digging: Power of Omens - Eyes of the Oracle

CosmicPie
August 25th 2013



1076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bury, bury, quite contrary?

Talking
October 26th 2013



20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

After being completely enamoured with Bilateral, this album took me quite a few listens before it started growing on me. It's definitely more focused than Bilateral and seems to remain in a similar tone throughout. Really digging the album now, but I can understand why fans of the previous albums might not like it quite as much.

OmairSh
October 26th 2013



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a good album but after Bilateral I was expecting them to maintain that level (which was obviously difficult). But I expect great things from these guys

Artuma
October 26th 2013



12091 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great band

Digging: Le Pre Ou Je Suis Mort - Le Pre Ou Je Suis Mort

OmairSh
October 26th 2013



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Defo

RollieQuibbs
October 31st 2013



430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I love the breakdown or bridge ( don't know what to call it ) half way through "Chronic".

The last three albums, including this one, all have a unique sound. That is amazing because all three albums are at least 4 stars if not a full 5.

CosmicPie
October 31st 2013



1076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album, for sure. But Bilateral is the one that really wowed me.

LilLioness
October 31st 2013



2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But let's all admit that "Foe" is one of the greatest things of 2013.

OmairSh
October 31st 2013



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Urrrgent aaaaaaand uuunnacciiDEEEEENTAL!!!!

Einar is a beast of a vocalist. Foe is brilliant, especially the dichotomy of the 2 halves of the song, but my favourite is Echo.

Spag
October 31st 2013



1730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

My top 3 are the last 3, Echo, Contaminate Me and Bury.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy