Daft Punk Random Access Memories
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
treeqt.
May 19th 2013


9704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

#RAMpower

Synchestra
May 20th 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Not only that, but some songs really go nowhere. "Giorgio by Moroder" is the worst offender in this regard; the song contains the life story of the person it's titled after for no apparent reason, and other than his dialogue, there's nothing new to listen to on this song. It's the same old song and dance (pun intended), but just with Giorgio Moroder speaking over it"

I agree with this, at least a little. There's a good 40 seconds around the seven minute mark with a little bass solo and drum solo that could probably have been shortened or even cut entirely without the climax after losing it's power. It would have made the song more coherent IMO.
I also think the intro is nice but unnecessary, I get that it sort of reflects the album's theme, though (making an album with sounds of the past and future etc.) I still listen to it but I think I just like his voice/accent rather than because it's a good story.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2013


10211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

"Giorgio" is perfect.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2013


31223 Comments


Wait, people are only just now complaining that Daft Punk are being excessive? DP have always bordered on the self-aggrandizing - everything they do has always been larger than life and in excess. That's part of the whole allure of the duo; this album is just the natural continuation of that, but one that just happened to be made after they produced a score for a multi-million dollar Disney movie. This is fucking Hollywood music - extravagant and decadent and totally excessive*

*These are not complaints

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Nikkolae
May 20th 2013


4849 Comments


i love you dev, couldnt have said it better, album is fun, nothing mindblowing but awesome for driving
around town with the misses

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2013


23848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"I really like some of the tracks on here (both pharrell tracks rule), but the majority of this does nothing for me."

agreed so hard. 3/5 for me, I expected to like it a lot more.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2013


23848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

hey look, Deviant is being Deviant. I missed my daily dosage of pompous douchebag. love you bb.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2013


31223 Comments


Gotta give you something to complain about

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2013


7307 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

What are you talking about Giorgio by Moroder is one of the best tracks on here

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2013


23848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'm on the "that shit's terrible" team

Polyethylene
May 20th 2013


3096 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Giorgio is m/

kparker0902
May 20th 2013


1 Comments


I guess if the album is "scatterbrained" that's where the Random in "Random Access Memories" comes from!

Just a thought...

Polyethylene
May 20th 2013


3096 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think its scatterbrained, just very sprawling and diverse. A good thing imo, the previous Daft Punk albums all have a tendency to stick to one sound for too many tracks (especially Discovery, as much as I dig that album)

omnipanzer
May 20th 2013


21581 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This sounds awesome, conceptually, I haven't heard it yet.

Digging: Jenny Lewis - The Voyager

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2013


21970 Comments


Someone tell deviant & acanthus not to read the pitchfork review for this otherwise they're gonna short circuit

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2013


7126 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Honestly it's too fucking long to read the whole thing, I did make it to this part though:

"“Lose Yourself to Dance”, on the other hand, is OK, but plodding, perhaps the weakest song on the record and a good example of the potential pitfalls of Daft Punk’s backward-looking approach."

Don't see how anyone could find that to be the weakest song here.

mindleviticus
May 20th 2013


8237 Comments


this is the greatest worst review I've ever read

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Henbane

jefflebowski
May 20th 2013


8247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love the way they've completely embraced the over-the-top cheese that was always present in their music - when it's good it's amazing, and when it's awful it's still hilarious

Digging: Shellac - Dude Incredible

Killerhit
May 20th 2013


5250 Comments


apparently 'k' is too short of a sentence

Vespiion
May 20th 2013


1222 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn 2013 has seen a lot of babymakin' music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy