Daft Punk Random Access Memories
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
treeqt.
May 19th 2013



9704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

#RAMpower

Digging: Luigi Nono - A Pierre; Quando stanno morendo;

Synchestra
May 20th 2013



17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Not only that, but some songs really go nowhere. "Giorgio by Moroder" is the worst offender in this regard; the song contains the life story of the person it's titled after for no apparent reason, and other than his dialogue, there's nothing new to listen to on this song. It's the same old song and dance (pun intended), but just with Giorgio Moroder speaking over it"

I agree with this, at least a little. There's a good 40 seconds around the seven minute mark with a little bass solo and drum solo that could probably have been shortened or even cut entirely without the climax after losing it's power. It would have made the song more coherent IMO.
I also think the intro is nice but unnecessary, I get that it sort of reflects the album's theme, though (making an album with sounds of the past and future etc.) I still listen to it but I think I just like his voice/accent rather than because it's a good story.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2013



10056 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

"Giorgio" is perfect.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2013



31085 Comments


Wait, people are only just now complaining that Daft Punk are being excessive? DP have always bordered on the self-aggrandizing - everything they do has always been larger than life and in excess. That's part of the whole allure of the duo; this album is just the natural continuation of that, but one that just happened to be made after they produced a score for a multi-million dollar Disney movie. This is fucking Hollywood music - extravagant and decadent and totally excessive*

*These are not complaints

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Nikkolae
May 20th 2013



4832 Comments


i love you dev, couldnt have said it better, album is fun, nothing mindblowing but awesome for driving
around town with the misses

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2013



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"I really like some of the tracks on here (both pharrell tracks rule), but the majority of this does nothing for me."

agreed so hard. 3/5 for me, I expected to like it a lot more.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2013



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

hey look, Deviant is being Deviant. I missed my daily dosage of pompous douchebag. love you bb.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2013



31085 Comments


Gotta give you something to complain about

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2013



7164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

What are you talking about Giorgio by Moroder is one of the best tracks on here

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2013



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'm on the "that shit's terrible" team

Polyethylene
May 20th 2013



3057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Giorgio is m/

kparker0902
May 20th 2013



1 Comments


I guess if the album is "scatterbrained" that's where the Random in "Random Access Memories" comes from!

Just a thought...

Polyethylene
May 20th 2013



3057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think its scatterbrained, just very sprawling and diverse. A good thing imo, the previous Daft Punk albums all have a tendency to stick to one sound for too many tracks (especially Discovery, as much as I dig that album)

omnipanzer
May 20th 2013



21442 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This sounds awesome, conceptually, I haven't heard it yet.

Digging: The Ettes - Shake the Dust

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2013



21782 Comments


Someone tell deviant & acanthus not to read the pitchfork review for this otherwise they're gonna short circuit

Digging: Gesaffelstein - Aleph

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2013



7087 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Honestly it's too fucking long to read the whole thing, I did make it to this part though:

"“Lose Yourself to Dance”, on the other hand, is OK, but plodding, perhaps the weakest song on the record and a good example of the potential pitfalls of Daft Punk’s backward-looking approach."

Don't see how anyone could find that to be the weakest song here.

mindleviticus
May 20th 2013



8220 Comments


this is the greatest worst review I've ever read

jefflebowski
May 20th 2013



7822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love the way they've completely embraced the over-the-top cheese that was always present in their music - when it's good it's amazing, and when it's awful it's still hilarious

Digging: Big Black - Atomizer

Killerhit
May 20th 2013



5249 Comments


apparently 'k' is too short of a sentence

Vespiion
May 20th 2013



1221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn 2013 has seen a lot of babymakin' music

Digging: FKA Twigs - LP1



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy