Anamanaguchi Endless Fantasy
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Go to "Community," log in, go to User CP, click on Avatar, and it'll give you a few options.

I actually wasn't all that impressed with the title track. It starts off way too slowly for an Anamanaguchi song in my opinion.

TomAkaVeto
May 14th 2013


1638 Comments


Has anyone noticed the penis and vagina pattern on the kimono on the cover art. It's relatively subtle.
Made me laugh when I noticed it.

paradox1216
May 14th 2013


482 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Such a fantastic listen. It's 75 minutes but it doesn't feel nearly that long, and super diverse and fun. It's almost a miracle that everything works with this record too, given all the things they tried

Digging: Death From Above 1979 - The Physical World

darkknight3993
May 14th 2013


25 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My ears have feelings, and right now, they're very happy.

SabertoothMonocle
May 15th 2013


493 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is fucking good.

gosk8n
May 15th 2013


1049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

couple of gems on this record

Digging: Jonny L - Magnetic

ButtsoupBarnes
May 15th 2013


30 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i cant believe how good this is.
this should be boring after 5 songs, yet it totally isnt

WatchItExplode
May 15th 2013


3243 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

These guys have upcoming shows with Danny Brown. Anyone that can should get sideways and go see them.

Acanthus
May 15th 2013


9542 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

AMA on reddit right now: http://www.reddit.com/r/IAmA/comments/1ee9tv/we_are_anamanaguchi_we_just_made_a_22track_album/

Digging: Falls of Rauros - The Light That Dwells in Rotten Wood

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

dude that's sick, i'll be sure to pop in

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2013


10418 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

sorry this is a bit late:

Sugar can do wondrous things. The bane of young parents, kindergarten teachers and dietitians everywhere, the magical carbohydrate has inspired countless displays of insane artistic brilliance.

“Insane” is a sort of weird word to use here. Might want to try something like “unhinged” – something with a less negative connotation.

(if their is one) is this

“There” – non-possessive

does crazy stuff

Maybe be a little more descriptive. I know you don’t want to run this sentence into the ground but I try to avoid bland nouns like “stuff.”

“ to continue the sugar idea,”

Unnecessary. Shouldn’t have to hold a reader’s hand – trust!

The length is pretty much the only negative about the whole thing, though, and once one gets past the formidable run-time it's clear that Endless Fantasy is one of the best chiptune releases in recent memory.

Replace “whole thing” with just album or record

an insane music video.

While I disliked the use of insane earlier, if you’re going to use it then you should choose a different adjective here. I don’t always do this but I try to only use each adjective only once per review

Most pieces here are rather upbeat, whether it be the sugar-rushing "EVERYTHING EXPLODES" or the anthemic "Pastel Flags," and the band does a great job at varying exactly what "upbeat" means every time.

See above comment

and the euphoric "Japan Air," the latter of which basically sums the album as a whole up.

Don’t need to say “basically.”

The members of Anamanaguchi probably have some ideas about what their aim is, as evidenced by the interludes and widely varied song lengths, but it's kind of difficult to tell what the whole aim of this thing is.

Replace the second aim with a synonym

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks a ton for the feedback, Rudy. I'll go and change some stuff.

gryndstone
May 17th 2013


326 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

the last minute of Japan Air is the greatest thing this band ever did do

Digging: Perturbator - Dangerous Days

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2013


10199 Comments


I just wrote a comment and it was too long-- I now lost all of it. Damn it.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

sailSAway
May 17th 2013


846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

forgot what i was gonna say...bland techno something...

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I just wrote a comment and it was too long-- I now lost all of it. Damn it.

aww. next time you have to hit the back button, cut half the comment, and paste it into the next comment

bland techno something

Is this sarcasm?

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2013


10199 Comments


Alright, hopefully the computer won't delete this comment too!

The video is an experience anyone looking for an introduction into the wilder side of the genre based around video game bleeps and bloops should watch


This should be reined in some, quite a bit of ideas here. Also a bit specific-- I'm not in this specific group you pinpointed, yet I'd probably enjoy the video. Maybe find a more broad category to mention instead of this.

arcade-turned-stereotypical-Japanese-anything


Not sure what this means. You should elaborate on this last part, so that non-chiptuners like myself can relate.

Also, I think your introduction with sugar feels a bit unnecessary-- think about what you could do to make it connect more with the substance at hand, because at this point you certainly don't need it.

the music shouldn't let fans down


This is too qualified, I think-- try saying something like the fans are sure to be satisfied, etc.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2013


10199 Comments


with the standard formula of chip-sounding lead instrument over a rock background taking on many different forms over the course of the album's 22 songs.


I think this line is a bit much, as well-- try simplifying it some. There's also some ambiguity about, well, is the rock background taking on many different forms? This is a paradox of sorts, like you saying one particular form is taking on many different forms.

most listeners will probably "crash" midway through and have to stop.


I like this idea, but the quotes around 'crash' make the joke-of-sorts feel too blatant. I'd take those out. Also, the end of the phrase is just a bit lacking-- one can assume they stop the album, but you may want to find a more precise way of saying it.

it's apparent that Anamanaguchi's creative genius reaches far beyond an insane music video.


The end of this sounds a bit strange-- try "far beyond its insane music video." Also, Rudy may have brought this up but I'd find another adjective to use here, since its insanity was mentioned earlier.

the band does a great job at varying exactly what "upbeat" means every time.


Good point, but very roundabout way of saying it. The word 'varying' doesn't feel adequate here-- maybe just say 'the band redefines its upbeat tendencies every time,' etc.

There's also a fair amount of pop-electronic viewed through the lens of chiptune[/i]

THIS REMINDS ME OF MY ICARUS THE OWL REVIEW!

[quote]the latter of which sums the album as a whole up


I'd put 'up' after 'sums'

As a whole, though, it's hard to tell if there's some sort of master plan behind this behemoth.


This sentence and the one after it make exceedingly similar points-- I'd edit one to make it go more in-depth, or maybe to just scrap one.

it's also entirely possible there is no point except for the listener to sit back and enjoy for a while.


So many words for such a simple idea-- think about it and see if you could phrase this an easier way.

Last tip is that you could switch up the 'sugar-rush' phrase in the final paragraph, maybe to another adjective that means something similar. Avoiding redundancy, etc. This isn't one of your best reviews, just because it seems you struggled with deciding on which ideas were best. But I sometimes forget you haven't been doing this reviewing thing for a relatively short while, so it'll get easier with time.



Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2013


10199 Comments


Compared to other reviews on the site, this is really good-- you're starting to develop your own voice now, and I love it. Keep up the good work, and the fine-tuning. Sorry I haven't looked through many of your recent reviews-- been trying to spend less time on the computer these days.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks a ton for the feedback! I'll be sure to keep my future reviews more concise. That's really my main problem, I think - I have trouble saying what I want to say in one sentence.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy