Vampire Weekend Modern Vampires of the City
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
joshuatree
Emeritus
May 12th 2013


3742 Comments


This might be my favorite album of vw's so far, and I really liked Contra

idk i thought you were gonna like this alex

Sleaper
May 12th 2013


3370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

its def my fav for sure.. theres no fillers, which is probably why.
listening to it as a whole is awesome... just a good pop album i guess

Digging: Mick Jenkins - The Water[s]

Winesburgohio
May 12th 2013


1030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't know why people don't like Contra, it's absurdly likeable + endearing

Digging: Duke Ellington and John Coltrane - Duke Ellington and John Coltrane

newjunk2
May 12th 2013


230 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review and all, but I think the rating is definitely off. I think the songwriting is the main aspect of this album that puts it a notch above their first two.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 12th 2013


6448 Comments


This may be my least favorite Vampire Weekend release yet, but it's still very enjoyable.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

jefflebowski
May 12th 2013


8243 Comments


easily their best album so far for me, and it doesn't have the grating persona and musical appropriation of the first two

Digging: Shellac - Dude Incredible

TheCruddyBug
May 12th 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked this immediately, and I really don't like their first two albums.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
May 12th 2013


13139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

diane young is interesting

Digging: Electric Wurms - Musik Die Schwer Zu Twerk

Ponton
Emeritus
May 12th 2013


5793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

well im crazy and i like this so

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2013


7276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

It also contains as its opening line “Back back, way back, when I used to front like Angkor Wat.” I don’t really know what that means, but I’m sure Koenig wants me to Google it, after which I can also find out that the melody of the chorus is snatched from the sappy ballad “Aubrey” by Bread.

Best segue ever. Great review - one of several, in fact. I've been really liking your contributions ever since you arrived on the staff board, Alex. Long may it continue.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

iGuter
May 12th 2013


347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was a step up in every way. Good review.

Digging: Alt-J - This Is All Yours

zaruyache
May 12th 2013


6459 Comments


So this is good? My little brother will be so thrilled. Might check out eventually.

Digging: Alpha Male Tea Party - Droids

Sleaper
May 12th 2013


3370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i had loooow expectations for this, as i hate indie pop.
but this is really surprisingly awesome,
so many SOLID tracks that arent just the usual boppy dance songs


TheDMV
May 12th 2013


64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A nice job of describing the feeling of disliking something you desperately want to enjoy but overall I think this is a weak review. There's a vague idea that this isn't good because the production and melodies were better on previous releases--and while melody is hard to describe there is little discussion of what's going on melodically in a lot of the songs or the album's production at any point in the review.

BigSimo
May 13th 2013


161 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

p4k gave it a 9.3 lmfao

Uranium
May 13th 2013


7105 Comments


p4k is always right

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2013


10418 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

listen to your friend p4k he's a cool dude

mrgeppetto
May 13th 2013


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well written, great review. Hope I disagree tho... watching them perform a few of these tracks on SNL showed some production experiments that I was digging

duckenstein
May 13th 2013


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pleasant surprise. Definite step up in songwriting.

Anthracks
May 13th 2013


3742 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

9.3

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy