Vampire Weekend Modern Vampires of the City
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
joshuatree
Emeritus
May 12th 2013



3743 Comments


This might be my favorite album of vw's so far, and I really liked Contra

idk i thought you were gonna like this alex

Sleaper
May 12th 2013



3319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

its def my fav for sure.. theres no fillers, which is probably why.
listening to it as a whole is awesome... just a good pop album i guess

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

Winesburgohio
May 12th 2013



1001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't know why people don't like Contra, it's absurdly likeable + endearing

Digging: Wretched Excess - Away From This World

newjunk2
May 12th 2013



230 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review and all, but I think the rating is definitely off. I think the songwriting is the main aspect of this album that puts it a notch above their first two.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 12th 2013



6361 Comments


This may be my least favorite Vampire Weekend release yet, but it's still very enjoyable.

Digging: Shackleton - Deliverance Series No. 1

jefflebowski
May 12th 2013



7379 Comments


easily their best album so far for me, and it doesn't have the grating persona and musical appropriation of the first two

Digging: Flying Lotus - Cosmogramma

TheCruddyBug
May 12th 2013



17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked this immediately, and I really don't like their first two albums.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
May 12th 2013



11841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

diane young is interesting

Digging: Tenement - Taking Everything b?/?w Daylight World Plus 2

Ponton
Emeritus
May 12th 2013



5784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

well im crazy and i like this so

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2013



7140 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

It also contains as its opening line “Back back, way back, when I used to front like Angkor Wat.” I don’t really know what that means, but I’m sure Koenig wants me to Google it, after which I can also find out that the melody of the chorus is snatched from the sappy ballad “Aubrey” by Bread.

Best segue ever. Great review - one of several, in fact. I've been really liking your contributions ever since you arrived on the staff board, Alex. Long may it continue.

iGuter
May 12th 2013



338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was a step up in every way. Good review.

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

zaruyache
May 12th 2013



5866 Comments


So this is good? My little brother will be so thrilled. Might check out eventually.

Digging: Sunwolf - Beholden To Nothing And No One

Sleaper
May 12th 2013



3319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i had loooow expectations for this, as i hate indie pop.
but this is really surprisingly awesome,
so many SOLID tracks that arent just the usual boppy dance songs


TheDMV
May 12th 2013



64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A nice job of describing the feeling of disliking something you desperately want to enjoy but overall I think this is a weak review. There's a vague idea that this isn't good because the production and melodies were better on previous releases--and while melody is hard to describe there is little discussion of what's going on melodically in a lot of the songs or the album's production at any point in the review.

BigSimo
May 13th 2013



159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

p4k gave it a 9.3 lmfao

Uranium
May 13th 2013



7050 Comments


p4k is always right

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2013



10258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

listen to your friend p4k he's a cool dude

Digging: The Bilinda Butchers - Heaven

mrgeppetto
May 13th 2013



13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well written, great review. Hope I disagree tho... watching them perform a few of these tracks on SNL showed some production experiments that I was digging

duckenstein
May 13th 2013



15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pleasant surprise. Definite step up in songwriting.

Anthracks
May 13th 2013



3668 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

9.3



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy