Vampire Weekend Modern Vampires of the City
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
joshuatree
Emeritus
May 12th 2013


3742 Comments


This might be my favorite album of vw's so far, and I really liked Contra

idk i thought you were gonna like this alex

Sleaper
May 12th 2013


3438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

its def my fav for sure.. theres no fillers, which is probably why.
listening to it as a whole is awesome... just a good pop album i guess

Winesburgohio
May 12th 2013


1057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't know why people don't like Contra, it's absurdly likeable + endearing

Digging: Otomo Yoshihide, Park Je Chun & Mi Yeon - Loose Community

newjunk2
May 12th 2013


232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review and all, but I think the rating is definitely off. I think the songwriting is the main aspect of this album that puts it a notch above their first two.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 12th 2013


6515 Comments


This may be my least favorite Vampire Weekend release yet, but it's still very enjoyable.

jefflebowski
May 12th 2013


8257 Comments


easily their best album so far for me, and it doesn't have the grating persona and musical appropriation of the first two

TheCruddyBug
May 12th 2013


17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked this immediately, and I really don't like their first two albums.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
May 12th 2013


13452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

diane young is interesting

Ponton
Emeritus
May 12th 2013


5819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

well im crazy and i like this so

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2013


7321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

It also contains as its opening line “Back back, way back, when I used to front like Angkor Wat.” I don’t really know what that means, but I’m sure Koenig wants me to Google it, after which I can also find out that the melody of the chorus is snatched from the sappy ballad “Aubrey” by Bread.

Best segue ever. Great review - one of several, in fact. I've been really liking your contributions ever since you arrived on the staff board, Alex. Long may it continue.

iGuter
May 12th 2013


354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was a step up in every way. Good review.

zaruyache
May 12th 2013


7409 Comments


So this is good? My little brother will be so thrilled. Might check out eventually.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

Sleaper
May 12th 2013


3438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i had loooow expectations for this, as i hate indie pop.
but this is really surprisingly awesome,
so many SOLID tracks that arent just the usual boppy dance songs


TheDMV
May 12th 2013


64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A nice job of describing the feeling of disliking something you desperately want to enjoy but overall I think this is a weak review. There's a vague idea that this isn't good because the production and melodies were better on previous releases--and while melody is hard to describe there is little discussion of what's going on melodically in a lot of the songs or the album's production at any point in the review.

BigSimo
May 13th 2013


166 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

p4k gave it a 9.3 lmfao

Uranium
May 13th 2013


7271 Comments


p4k is always right

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2013


10579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

listen to your friend p4k he's a cool dude

Digging: Charli XCX - Sucker

mrgeppetto
May 13th 2013


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well written, great review. Hope I disagree tho... watching them perform a few of these tracks on SNL showed some production experiments that I was digging

duckenstein
May 13th 2013


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pleasant surprise. Definite step up in songwriting.

Anthracks
May 13th 2013


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

9.3

Digging: The Decemberists - What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy