Beyond Creation The Aura
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
YankeeDudel
May 9th 2013



9291 Comments


snox you need help

Digging: Ravi Shankar - Three Ragas

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2013



11389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

:D

Digging: Howls of Ebb - Vigils of the 3rd Eye

MichaelSnoxall
May 9th 2013



12163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

NEVER


I WILL PLEAD MY CAUSE TO THE FAR ENDS OF THE EARTH

PunchforPunch
May 9th 2013



5290 Comments


oooo baby baby its a wild wooorld

Digging: Vril - Torus

MichaelSnoxall
May 9th 2013



12163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Ooooooh heeeeaaaaven is a place on eeeeaaaarrrrtth

Eclecticist
May 9th 2013



3863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whatever you're on snox, I never want to try

MichaelSnoxall
May 9th 2013



12163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It's about three doses of several clinical depression, a couple of swigs of egotistical douchebag, a pinch of self-loathing and a dash of pity me.

Eclecticist
May 9th 2013



3863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ugh how petty

MichaelSnoxall
May 9th 2013



12163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I SAID PITY ME

xist
May 10th 2013



171 Comments


How is it "subjective" to say that he didn't like the album because he didn't like x,y and z?


I'm just making the case that reviews, although by their very nature are subjective (HE didn't like doesn't account for everyone), should be written as objectively as possible. A review is supposedly meant to serve as a non slanted summary of the merit of whatever is being reviewed. If you're a fan of a particular band and are personally disappointed in a release then when you're reviewing i believe that you have to consider whether a new listener would be disappointed too, and how that release fits into comparable music...in that case it may well be better for the mass audience than you find it to be.

Snoxall admits that he's not being particularly objective here ("I have an unnatural dislike for this record.") and that's really the point i wanted to raise. No-one has an identical taste to you so for me personally a review has to serve as an objective evaluation of how something fulfils it's mandate and how it compares to it's neighbours. I just think that the subjectivity here is far in excess of the objective (which means a reader gains less from the review than he possibly should)

Is that ok? I know that's what i personally want from a review, but i see them as evaluative tools rather than enjoyable reads or writing exercises.

Essence
May 10th 2013



3558 Comments


rating is a bit off because these dudes have some sense of songwriting, but mostly agree. disagree about the bass tone though

DePlazz
May 11th 2013



43 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes it's wank, but it's creative, layered and very musical as well, nowhere near generic at all. Regardless of personal issues you would have to admit that as a progressive/tech death metal album, this is very good if not excellent. Was so when it came out, still is. If you're bored reviewing good tech death, better go and review something else.

TheSpirit
May 11th 2013



16661 Comments


Regardless of personal issues you would have to admit that as a progressive/tech death metal album, this is very good if not excellent


Uhh, not if he doesn't like it

Digging: Sexdrome - Grown Younger

KILL
May 11th 2013



67082 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

despazz


BigPleb
July 2nd 2013



28467 Comments


Snoxall rip

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
July 2nd 2013



11389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

RIP He will be missed.




















































(lol no he won't just kidding haha fuck that guy)

PunchforPunch
July 2nd 2013



5290 Comments


damn thats harsh

Keyblade
July 21st 2013



13256 Comments


I don't know what's funnier, page 2 of this thread or the opening sentence of this review.

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins

JS19
July 21st 2013



3629 Comments


Holes in underwear are worse than holes in socks though

Digging: The Dillinger Escape Plan - Calculating Infinity

XfingTheSullen
August 20th 2013



2191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I love how he also panned the supposed "deathcore" elements of this album. Suffocation plays more breakdowns and I don't see them called deathcore. Fallujah's use of breakdowns is the closest to this band, I'd say. Their first EP was deathcore, but overall neither Fallujah nor this band have anything to do with deathcore.

And the pig squeals are more like just inhaled growls, not really bree bree, at least that's the way I received them.

Review is not bad though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy