Beyond Creation The Aura
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Eclecticist
May 9th 2013


3863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Now that everyone is contending that this album is actually really good it's going to be one of his favourites.

MichaelSnoxall
May 9th 2013


12163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Album still blows chunks. I have an unnatural dislike for this record.

YankeeDudel
May 9th 2013


9313 Comments


this is alright for its genre. really have no desire to listen to tech death anymore though.

Digging: Walknut - Graveforests And Their Shadows

AnimalsAsSummit
May 9th 2013


738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

These guys are good. This was refreshing as shit when I first heard it. The bass is nasty.

Digging: Bolzer - Soma

branflakes911
May 9th 2013


122 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

xist: How is it "subjective" to say that he didn't like the album because he didn't like x,y and z? Seems that that's how every review is: you say what you like and why and what you don't and why. While The review borders on ranting about things he's very clear why he doesn't like it and is specific in his complaints. This kind of writing allows the reader to 1) hear something about the music, and 2) understand where the reviewer is coming from. Works for me.

Regarding the review, no one seems to be talking about the -core elements of this band. The more I listen to the album the more pointless chugging filler I hear. It's somewhere between Obscura and Viraemia, and yet not as good as either. I actually think the bass is the only saving grace, as it demarcates the band from a lot of competitors. Without the bass this would basically be Enfold Darkness. But people talk about this band as though they're the saviors of "legit" tech-death. I don't really get it.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2013


14308 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Snoxall changing his opinion to appeal to the elite yet again. Decent review I guess lol

Digging: We Will Fail - Verstörung

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2013


14308 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I haven't I'm sorry lately I'll get round to it I promise : )))

KILL
May 9th 2013


71743 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lame band

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

MichaelSnoxall
May 9th 2013


12163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Snoxall changing his opinion to appeal to the elite yet again. Decent review I guess lol

I don't change my opinion, I never really liked this at all to begin with, but people told me it was like the pinnacle of modern tech death and I went along with it. As I've grown musically, I can safely say with my own voice that I think this is utter crap.


Regarding the review, no one seems to be talking about the -core elements of this band. The more I listen to the album the more pointless chugging filler I hear. It's somewhere between Obscura and Viraemia, and yet not as good as either.

Yeah, there are a few cool riffs on here, but between the few cool riffs and the pointless soloing, there's mainly just boring chugging.

I actually think the bass is the only saving grace, as it demarcates the band from a lot of competitors.

It's pretty much the only thing that sets this band apart from every other band

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2013


14308 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"It's pretty much the only thing that sets this band apart from every other band"

lol, earlier...

"Only thing I don't dig on this is the bass tuning." - MichaelSnoxall

See, this is your problem Snoxall, you don't even know what you like. You look to users like Hyp and Shadows for validation, and when they turn their noses up at you, you suddenly do a complete 180 and (poorly) act as if you're speaking of your own accord. I mean, how convenient is it that once you were absolutely laminated on your original death metal list (which had this on it btw), you've suddenly revamped your whole rationale for judging albums. C'mon Snoxall, I try to take you seriously but this is beyond a joke lol.

I'm out.

MichaelSnoxall
May 9th 2013


12163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"It's pretty much the only thing that sets this band apart from every other band"

lol, earlier...

"Only thing I don't dig on this is the bass tuning." - MichaelSnoxall


Yeah? The bass IS what sets it apart from every other band, that doesn't mean it still doesn't suck. Something can set something apart and still be a bad thing. Here's a question: why are you suck a fucking moron?

MichaelSnoxall
May 9th 2013


12163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

See, this is your problem Snoxall, you don't even know what you like. You look to users like Hyp and Shadows for
validation, and when they turn their noses up at you, you suddenly do a complete 180 and (poorly) act as if you're
speaking of your own accord. I mean, how convenient is it that once you were absolutely laminated on your original
death metal list (which had this on it btw), you've suddenly revamped your whole rationale for judging albums. C'mon
Snoxall, I try to take you seriously but this is beyond a joke lol.


No, you see, that's where you're wrong. When I first started out, when I made that list, that's when I looked for
validation from the general userbase by posting albums that were all rated highly on the site. In fact, I hadn't listened
to over half of those albums when I made that list. I was trying to seem cool and knowledgable and came across as a
dimwitted noob. When I started digging deeper into death metal and listening to things, I no longer relied on popular
opinion and average ratings for what was good. Sorry I learned to discover my own tastes, Jac!

And I don't look to Hyp and Shadows for validation, for two simple reasons:

1: they're assholes
2: they hate me

Why the fuck would I try to get a couple of internet douchebags to like me by trying to act elite? I'm not acting elite, I
just legitimately don't like this. Maybe YOU should look at the obvious things in these situations. I didn't review this to
seem elite or edgy, I was asked to review this for a website, this was a REQUIRED review from me, so I reviewed it, and
after listening to it for the first time in over a year, I can safely say I loathe this record.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2013


21041 Comments


lol

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

MichaelSnoxall
May 9th 2013


12163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

oh damn I edited and now my comment is all skew whiff

MichaelSnoxall
May 9th 2013


12163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I mean, holy shit I still disagree with half the "elite" dm members of sputnik on a lot of shit too. it's not like I follow their opinions to try and seem cool, I don't even know or care what they think of this album, for all I know they could be big fans

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2013


14308 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

k

PunchforPunch
May 9th 2013


6280 Comments


seeking validation on the internet oh wow!

Digging: Robert Hood - Fabric 39

MichaelSnoxall
May 9th 2013


12163 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I used to be a massive death metal noob. When general consensus told me an album was good, I listened and agreed without really thinking for myself. I saw bands like Amon Amarth, Nile, Beyond Creation, Rings of Saturn, Revocation, etc. all being praised highly by everyone and I thought to myself, "Man, they must be good because everyone loves them", and I pretended to like them too, even when I had issues with the music, I tried to ignore it and think, "no, it's objectively good". But then one day I stopped trying to do that, and I started thinking for myself. Now when I make criticisms of bands like these, I'm dubbed an elitist, or a try hard, or edgy, or a guy just trying to get approval from other elitists: no. No, BEFORE I started criticising these bands, that's when I was being a try-hard, trying to win the approval of others by saying, "Hey, I like these bands too!", but when I suddenly grow into my own tastes and discover my own opinions, that's when I'm the fake, posing elitist?

No, go fuck yourself.


ViralOblivion
May 9th 2013


7679 Comments


This whole thread is just fucking LoLz

KILL
May 9th 2013


71743 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

oh snoxall, deary me!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy