Iron & Wine Ghost on Ghost
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
tragic.details
May 8th 2013


624 Comments


Great review, Irving!
I've listened to this a bit, but it's not anywhere near as interesting as his previous efforts.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2013


23964 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I like this less than you but good review.

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2013


28770 Comments


c'mon man "really" and "real" separated by 6 words?

in the opening sentence no less???

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2013


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

c'mon man "really" and "real" separated by 6 words?

in the opening sentence no less???


If you go in and read the review again you'll see that I separate "actual" and "actually" by a mere two words at the end of that second paragraph*.

* Going to fix these right now.

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2013


8387 Comments


Good stuff, Irving. I, too, am enjoying these short reviews from you.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2013


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

Thanks mate =) Care to share why though? (is the flow a bit more tolerable when compared to my other reviews; do I sound less pretentious etc etc haha)



Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2013


8387 Comments


I like how you're able to say everything that needs to be said in this shorter form without losing any of the substance found in your lengthier reviews, but don't get me wrong, those were/are great too. More than anything I've just been in the mood for shorter reviews in general lately, so it has more to do with that than with a change of quality in your reviews, as they've always been great reads, no matter how long.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2013


28770 Comments


:D how are things?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2013


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

@ Metalstyles: More than anything I've just been in the mood for shorter reviews in general lately

Funny you should mention that - me too actually. I used to read P4k a lot, but I was starting to find their 1500++ word reviews a bit straining on the eyes; then I stumbled across several AllMusic and came away being pretty impressed by how they could say so much in so little. This change in style has been partially inspired by my wanting to see if I could tap into some of that goodness.

(also I've been slightly lazier and had a bit of a writer's block hahaha =p)

@ Acad: Great, thanks! You? =) Long time no chat man. Anyway, when are you coming to Malaysia? ;)

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 9th 2013


8387 Comments


For me, life's been really hectic in 2013 and whenever I have a free moment I try to check out/read/get up to date with as many things as possible, often simultaneously. That has contributed a lot to me reading/favoring shorter reviews at the moment. Also, I'm a terrible time-planner. Just awful.

And as a writer, I agree with you wholeheartedly: I also like the challenge of writing short pieces lush with content haha. Obviously, I've still got a ways to go, though, as I try to improve with every new review I write.

wacknizzle
May 9th 2013


13602 Comments


So I'm gonna take a wild guess and say this sucks compared to his earlier work.

Digging: Redwood Hill - Collider

Underflow
May 10th 2013


2588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yes, but it's also just bad in a general sense.

fromtheinside
May 11th 2013


19029 Comments


whoa.

are you srs?

Digging: Ibex Throne - Ibex Throne

fromtheinside
May 11th 2013


19029 Comments


wow this sucks to hear

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2013


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

Yep it's not very good. Pretty sure it's his weakest yet.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2013


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

Yep it's not very good. Pretty sure it's his weakest yet.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2013


23964 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

come

on

girl

when you ask 5+5

come on girl

come on girl

do that schfifty five (come on)

come on girl

come on girl

nao let's do the sex (come on)

shigggity shuave

(shfifty five)


Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2013


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

What just happened. Lol.

Underflow
May 11th 2013


2588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Flashback 2001

Veldin
August 2nd 2013


1490 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nowhere near as good as the Shepherd's Dog, but I like the grandiose approach. I'm really surprised to
see such a low average rating. Guess I'll have to relisten to this with a more objective outlook.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy