Deerhunter Monomania
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2013



4415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

@Plane
I felt the opposite about Halcyon Digest. I found it to be pretty coherent and entertaining throughout, bu that's just me. "Earthquake" was one of the first songs I heard by them in high school and it's still my favourite today. I had a rough time with Monomania personally, but it eventually clicked on me. "Sleepwalking" and "The Missing" are my two favourites as well, especially "Sleepwalking".

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

klap
Staff Reviewer
May 7th 2013



10329 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lewis sometimes i think you are the only person on earth to think that about halcyon digest

Digging: Literature - Chorus

Sleaper
May 7th 2013



3365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

niiiice review.. everything clicked well.

halycon digest is still my fav. he would have laughed is like... woah... one of my fav songs.

this took a while to get into... but its a pretty great listen once you get it. the missing and pensacola are prob the highlights

Digging: Caribou - Our Love

killrobotmusic
May 7th 2013



670 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review! I still like Halcyon Digest better, but there are some really killer tracks on here, and I love the overall aesthetic quality of the album with its blend of garage punk and hazy melody. "The Missing" is one of the best songs that Deerhunter (and Lockt in particular) have ever written.

Chrisjon89
May 8th 2013



3528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good review man. i've only listened twice but not as keen on this as the previous two yet. they both had an opener that immediately grabbed me in. Cover Me (Slowly)/Agoraphobia is such a great opening to an album.

robin
Emeritus
May 8th 2013



4248 Comments


great review

i think deerhunter has become my new favourite band

tommygun
May 8th 2013



24629 Comments


very very good review

always love reading your stuff, hernan, and you get better with each piece

i'm a bit late to the party with these dudes, only jammed halcyon digest for the first time recently,
but will check this too for sure

Digging: Broods - Evergreen

plane
Staff Reviewer
May 8th 2013



6094 Comments


lewis sometimes i think you are the only person on earth to think that about halcyon digest

i like to think bradford feels this way too

joplinpicasso
May 8th 2013



427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I remember when DH became my favorite band years ago and I've never looked back! Considering their output, attitude, aesthetic, diversity, and Bradford Cox's outlandish and endearing intrigue, I honestly feel that they're one of the most rewarding bands working today of which to be a fan.

(And I still find 'HD' to be their best album, although this might be more 'enjoyable'...)

Shameless plug for the dedicated DH board here: http://dhforum.freeforums.org/

Gyromania
May 8th 2013



15506 Comments


i actually like halcyon digest a lot more than this, but this is still great.

superb review, hernan. i noticed you quite fancy the word 'dissonant' :P

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2013



7177 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No, Monomania demands an undivided attention and continuous play to truly see the beauty within its surrealism.

I don't think you need the "an" there mate =)

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2013



4415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

@Irving
It sounds right to me, but I'll change it if you think it reads better. Thanks, Irving.

scissorlocked
May 11th 2013



3509 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

great write-up man!

I gave this record several listens but it still hasn't clicked on me. don't really know why, maybe I wanted it more psychedelic and less straightforward

it really has moments of surrealism though!

GhettoHmbrglr
May 11th 2013



572 Comments


this shit is dope yo


robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2013



15019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

sleepwalking is money

joplinpicasso
May 23rd 2013



427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

What, everyone jumps on the Microcastle bandwagon but this gets little attention? This album and its whole mood are money.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2013



15019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

yeah this is a strong release--just a bunch of great, noisy songs stacked up atop each other. i can imagine the beatles jamming out to "neon junkyard"

Gyromania
May 23rd 2013



15506 Comments


microcastle isn't even that good to me. halcyon digest sounds like their magnum opus to my ears

Sleaper
May 23rd 2013



3365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

damn i cant believe im actually going to agree with gyro.
microcastle took so long to get into, but it just doesnt even compete with their orgasmic halcyon digest

Penlord
July 3rd 2013



183 Comments


This album was super disappointing for me after their other awesome stuff. Really only the first three songs stand out

Digging: Lil Wayne - Carter V Season



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy