The Dillinger Escape Plan One of Us Is the Killer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Inveigh
May 11th 2013


25216 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not sure how anyone could hate on this if they dug any of the other Greg albums

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

oltnabrick
May 11th 2013


31700 Comments


faux rating

Puzzles
May 11th 2013


3065 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's because this record is so samey and by-the-book Dillinger


Inveigh
May 11th 2013


25216 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I guess I can see that but my point was more that if that's the issue then it's an issue that's plagued their last three albums, not just this one

oltnabrick
May 11th 2013


31700 Comments


gregs vocals only bother me on OP and sometimes on this one




greg is pre swee on MM and IW

Inveigh
May 11th 2013


25216 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

his lyrics are never all that impressive, but are decent at times. I love his vocals on all the records though

Scoot
May 11th 2013


17919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

mm is my favorite dillinger

ViralOblivion
May 11th 2013


7679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Same here I've come close to giving it a 5 a few times plus it was my first dillinger album when I heard it in 9th grade

greg84
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2013


7474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

I don't think Greg's performance on this tops his work on Option Paralysis, but it's still awesome. The only album on which his vocals were quite annoying at times was Miss Machine. It's totally understandable though as he wasn't a very experienced singer back then.

Digging: Clipping - CLPPNG

Drummerboy123
May 11th 2013


2425 Comments


Album has leaked in 320kbps for all those wondering.

Sounds sweeeet.

DirEnRefused
May 11th 2013


2255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's because this record is so samey and by-the-book Dillinger

Seen this criticism several times now, can you elaborate? I mean, unless you were expecting an entire genre shift or something, this is a pretty experimental release. Certainly more so than MM and OP.

Puzzles
May 11th 2013


3065 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In all fairness, Understanding Decay is one of their best tracks. I don't know man, I'll compare it to Miss Machine - the latter is easily more technical, has a wider tonal palette (I don't see anything rivalling Phone Home on here), greater dynamic contrasts, and it feels just that much more ferocious. This record, on the other hand, feels like a band that has come into its own and has slipped into a comfortable groove that they already established on Option Paralysis. There's nothing on here that they didn't do (or didn't do better) on their last record. Plus, seriously, Parasitic Twins. Enough said. There are some brilliant tracks on here, but as a whole it just feels like standard fare Dillinger.

Edit: your avatar is going to give me an aneurysm one of these days

Puzzles
May 11th 2013


3065 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Plus the production is only slightly less shit than Ire Works.

Kman418
May 11th 2013


11352 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

123

Motiv3
May 11th 2013


8953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, as a dillinger release, its only better than Ire Works.

Digging: Full Of Hell and Merzbow - Full Of Hell and Merzbow

DirEnRefused
May 11th 2013


2255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good points man, I can definitely understand your perspective even though it's not my own. I'll wait until I write my review to detail why I personally find it such an accomplished release, but I don't think it's necessarily contrary to a lot of what you said.

BigPleb
May 11th 2013


38224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

As a Dillinger release its great.

Jesus.

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

Vakarian12
May 11th 2013


3925 Comments


what why aren't you dead jac said you were dead!

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2013


22113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Gonna check v0 version

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2013


15316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

:D

Digging: Blaspherian - Upon The Throne of Eternal Blasphemous Death



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy