The Dillinger Escape Plan One of Us Is the Killer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
FanCrazedPanda
March 7th 2014


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of us must die.....

BigPleb
March 10th 2014


38138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

YOU SMELL LIKE SHIT!!!!!!!

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

Mort.
March 10th 2014


4071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i really enjoy the lyrics on this Dillinger. Gregs getting better and better with time

Digging: All Human - Catholic Guilt or the Queerest of Thoughts

BigPleb
March 10th 2014


38138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Ye, so are his vox.

Mort.
March 10th 2014


4071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah hes getting more varied


although I do love how strong sounding his screams are on MM

CalculatingInfinity
March 10th 2014


1784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Greg's a fucking monster, his improvement from MM is staggering. Prancer is probably his best vocal performance yet.

BigPleb
March 10th 2014


38138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

He sounds batshit crazy on MM.

CalculatingInfinity
March 10th 2014


1784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He sounds boring on MM

Mort.
March 10th 2014


4071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"He sounds boring on MM"


I couldn't disagree more but oh well

so what is it you don't like about MM calc? is it gregs screams?


BigPleb
March 10th 2014


38138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Disagree but hey ho.

CalculatingInfinity
March 10th 2014


1784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"so what is it you don't like about MM calc? is it gregs screams?"

I think I've explained this before but I'll do it again because I like you ;)

My main grips with MM stem from 2 things, Greg and the production. Greg is inexperienced with Dillinger and it shows massively, since he hasn't found his own sense of aggression and malice along with his own identity with the band. His dull, monotone screams and average singing hinder MM throughout with himself appearing as a Dimitri clone who can sing although without the intensity and desperation that made Dimitri work with Dillinger perfectly. If you've listened to albums after MM, it's further becomes apparent how dull Greg is on MM (in my eyes anyway). His clean vocals became far better, becoming more dynamic (e.g. in 'Milk Lizard' his personality shines) and having an awesome falsetto to boot and his growls become more forceful and aggressive. An example is in 'I Wouldn't If You Didn't' where his screams are relentless and having a sense of a massive scale while his performances in MM just sound monotone, trying to bludgeon you rather than trying to outright crush you under the sheer weight of his aggression and keep you on edge with his higher range.

As for the production, it's the exact same problem as Greg's performance, dull and monotone. Despite the energy which Dillinger show the production holds them back since the guitar sounds far more flat than it should be and the Bass has less presence than their other albums. In Option (and the other albums to a lesser extent) the guitar sound was perfect, loud and bombastic yet not too clean with the shill high notes working perfectly with the mix while MM sounds neutered of its crushing and high pitched frenzy. Add these 2 factors with in my opinion Dillinger least interesting compositions (the 'clean' songs are nowhere as daring or interesting as their later ones and the spazzy songs flow so jarringly) and you have their album which in my opinion pales compared to their other albums.



BigPleb
March 10th 2014


38138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Very good justification but:

'Note: If you want to give a short summary review, use the sound off feature.'

CalculatingInfinity
March 10th 2014


1784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm aware but it's more of a rant than a review so ya.

BigPleb
March 10th 2014


38138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hehe, I'm messing calcy :D

CalculatingInfinity
March 10th 2014


1784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You crafty devil :3

Mort.
March 10th 2014


4071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah plebs got a good point, what you basically have right there is an excellent sound off.

but fair man, you explain your opinion quite well

id guess I find the production quite enjoyable really and if anything for me it adds to the "crushing and high pitched frenzy". Also I like that Greg is just trying to "bludgeon" you as it adds to the overall hard hitting sound MM has. OP is extremely calculated and precise while MM is just pure chaos with brief moments of lucidity ("Setting fire to sleeping giants" being on of them) and I really like that.

CalculatingInfinity
March 10th 2014


1784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"but fair man, you explain your opinion quite well"

Really? I thought I express them poorly, which is one reason why I'll never do reviews. Either way I might as well make it a sound off :D


"id guess I find the production quite enjoyable really and if anything for me it adds to the "crushing and high pitched frenzy". Also I like that Greg is just trying to "bludgeon" you as it adds to the overall hard hitting sound MM has. OP is extremely calculated and precise while MM is just pure chaos with brief moments of lucidity ("Setting fire to sleeping giants" being on of them) and I really like that."

Fair enough, for me personally I got to this band for aggression which is as calcuated as a surgeon so having a bludgeon affair leaves me cold since IMO they don't pull it off nearly as well.

Mort.
March 10th 2014


4071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

anyway calc if you like calculated madness check out this album when you have the time, its a pretty fun listen (if you haven't heard it already)

just listen to the first track, then listen to the whole thing if you like

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AciDXNjNNI4



CalculatingInfinity
March 10th 2014


1784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks. Also Sput won't let me have the whole thing as a sound off, fuck sake >:[

Mort.
March 10th 2014


4071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

tbh mate if you just added in what you though was positive about the album added an introduction conclusion and some structure youd have a decent review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy