The Dillinger Escape Plan One of Us Is the Killer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 7th 2013


10383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

True, JS. i just think Option Paralysis did a much better job of working in softer sections. Crossburner is still a 'heavy' song of theirs, it's just slow-churning and rather predictable. Get why people dig it but it's not my cup of tea

And DEP has always been sort of a one-trick pony in regard to going apeshit, and one could argue their innovation here w/ songs like Crossburner is to be admired. I just wish theyd gone about it in a diff way

Digging: Thou - Heathen

JS19
December 7th 2013


4411 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is nowhere near as good as Option really. It's really formulaic in places. hate how the singles just predictably recycle the chorus after the alternate sections. It's just lazy.

that being said, they just do it so well I can't help but enjoy it

Digging: Circa Survive - Descensus

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 7th 2013


10383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah I particularly feel you in terms of the self-titled track and Nothing's Funny. These are very solid songs but their structuring feels fairly neutered

DrMaximus
December 7th 2013


9961 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, very strange how the song ends and then the chorus kicks in again, like: http://www.lolwut.com/

YakNips
December 7th 2013


13224 Comments


I have nothing to say so

YOURE ENTITLED TO THE PRIZE

Digging: Jordaan Mason - The Decline of Stupid Fucking Western Civilization

TheMoreira
December 9th 2013


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

interesting discussion going on here.

I'd say that TDEP do everything well, but the raw emotion and sense of urgency on the chaotic parts straight up kick my ass. When I Lost My Bet is the musical equivalent to a stroke while having an orgasm. And it last more than one of those would

NightProwler
December 9th 2013


6602 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"and one could argue their innovation here w/ songs like Crossburner is to be admired."
That is what I think, but I respect your opinion.

What makes this album lack somewhere, is the flow sometimes. Every song seems very dynamic with different time-changes, but somehow it isn't flowing all together as well as, say, Side A of Miss Machine.

That is, however, the only minor problem I have with it.

And well put with WILMB, Moreira ^

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

BigPleb
December 9th 2013


37948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, that descrip of WILMB is accurate dude.

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

apert
December 9th 2013


3067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its the best song here, i really like magic as well but no one ever talks about it

DrGonzo1937
December 9th 2013


6848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Crossburner is so fucking good.

Digging: Marilyn Manson - The Pale Emperor

fr33convict
December 9th 2013


11705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Crossburner is my fav track on this.

DrGonzo1937
December 9th 2013


6848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed.

TheMoreira
December 9th 2013


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha cheers guys.

Damn Mal u don kno how to math(core) bro?

DrMaximus
December 9th 2013


9961 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

How do I mathcore?

sixdegrees
December 9th 2013


17723 Comments


well first you have to

Digging: Sputnik - Christmas At Our House

BigPleb
December 9th 2013


37948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Prancer is the perfect Christmas song.

JustinKing
December 9th 2013


1367 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listened to this for the first time in about two months, and gaaaah, it's still so good.

MeatSalad
December 9th 2013


15073 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Its shit agreed

Digging: Hey Rosetta! - Into Your Lungs (And Around in Your Heart and on

BigPleb
December 9th 2013


37948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Meat c'mon man cheer up :]

MeatSalad
December 9th 2013


15073 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

But this album makes me sad



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy