Rob Zombie Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DarkSideOfLucca
April 23rd 2013



3273 Comments


Viral- Yeah dude, you know horror is my favorite genre so it pisses me off when he seems like he knows everything modern horror needs to be fixed, but he keeps coming out with mediocre - shit films (haven't seen his newest one yet, though). Devil's Rejects was OK but everything else was...blah.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2013



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, insomniac. I'll check this out, hoping it'll be cooler than his last two efforts. Not gonna get my hopes up, though.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2013



3323 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

thanks. at this point i enjoy hellbilly deluxe 2 more. only the highlights are interesting really.

Digging: Karma To Burn - Arch Stanton

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2013



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aw hell naw. I really do hope I end up taking Bassdemon's side, because Hellbilly Deluxe 2, even if I did initially give it a three, had no lasting power for me (and it wasn't that magnificent in the first place). Zombie's music provides exactly what you said in the summary, cheap thrills, but Sinister Urge and Hellbilly Deluxe (imo actually to a lesser degree) at least delivered those thrills. The rest of his stuff, not so much, and I'm not really sure why, but I'm still waiting for him to deliver another Sinister Urge.

On a related note, have you heard of Scum of The Earth?

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2013



3323 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Sinister Urge was his last solid record. Since then, there have been some highlights and more average
material.

No, is it a side project of Rob Zombie's ?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2013



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No, but it's a project of his White Zombie bandmate Riggs. I think you'd really like it if you dig Zombie's style. Check out their debut album "Blah, Blah, Blah, Love Songs for The New Millennium".

Here's a small taste for you: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48fL9-Qu7Ts

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2013



3323 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

It sounds similar to the early Rob Zombie output, but it's cool. Do they still have the same sound ?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2013



7306 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I thought that both parts of Hellbilly Deluxe were kick-ass. Educated Horses was a fluke though. Sinister Urge was cool, but nothing special.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

DropdeadWHA
April 23rd 2013



569 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I actually really enjoyed this, has some dodgy tracks though like 'Rock and Roll (In a Black Hole). I really like the first track, to me it's pure RZ.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2013



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@insomniac
They don't anymore, as their latest album is purely electro metal. It still has the campy feel of White Zombie/Rob Zombie, though.

Their two first albums had that classic White Zombie/Rob Zombie vibe.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2013



3323 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

@metalstyles - Cool, I'm gonna check them all out anyway.
@greg - Hellbilly Deluxe both have some of his best songs. I even bought Hellbilly Deluxe 2 because of tracks like What, Sick Bubblegum, Werewolf Women Of The SS or Burn. Still, there were some less interesting, like Virgin Witch or Cease To Exist.

demigod!
April 23rd 2013



43809 Comments


i'll bet this is just a big bowl of wrong

Digging: Black Flag - My War

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2013



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The original Hellbilly Deluxe had such strong singles that when I bought the album, I was massively, massively let down by the whole package. It does have Zombie's most anthemic tracks, but I never listen to it as a whole.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2013



7306 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's definitely his best, most consistent work to date. I agree that there are a couple of blunders on part 2, but that record still flowed really well for me. I'm not so sure about this one.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 23rd 2013



3323 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

@metalstyles - I had the same thought. The singles are some of his strongest tunes, but the record is full of interludes and less stellar material.

halloway
April 23rd 2013



684 Comments


"I still only heard his first album" [2]

Can't believe this guy is financially worth publishing.

LilLioness
April 23rd 2013



2496 Comments


Nice feature, hun.

newjunk2
April 23rd 2013



230 Comments


Rob needs a change of pace. He should start a new band with Jack White, they could call it White Zombie.

LilLioness
April 23rd 2013



2496 Comments


"He should start a new band with Jack White, they could call it Pale Corpse."

You know, to mix it up a little.

Ovrot
April 23rd 2013



10460 Comments


More human than hu man

Digging: Jean Michel Jarre - Oxygene



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy