DIR EN GREY The Unraveling
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
heyadam
July 18th 2013


1715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really hope I can see these dues when they come to the States. They've quickly become one of my favorite bands these last few years

Digging: Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties - We Don't Have Each Other

DrGonzo1937
July 18th 2013


5980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

You guys are mega lucky they're doing a U.S tour. I can only pray they do a European, UK tour soon.

Digging: Ilenkus - The Crossing

heyadam
July 18th 2013


1715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Presale tickets were stupid expensive. I'm hoping GA isn't that much or else I won't be able to go.

DrGonzo1937
July 18th 2013


5980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

How much?

heyadam
July 18th 2013


1715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It was like $150+. It said VIP by all of the pre-sale tickets, so I'm just hoping that that's why they were stupidly expensive. I just dropped a bunch on two NIN tickets for the same month, so my budget is a little tight haha. It'd be such a freaking bummer if I couldn't catch them on this tour though

Gameofmetal
July 20th 2013


2137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My first experience with Dir en Grey and it was an eye opener. Really wasn't sure what to expect. "Unraveling" took me a bit by surprise as a new listener but the pulse pounding intro and vocals to "Karma" had me hooked.

LungButter
July 20th 2013


171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dum spiro spero is way better than this though, much more developed musically, considering its all newer material, and at this point their skill has surpassed their fame, especially Kyo, on dum spiro spero he takes his voice places no man has taken his voice before

TrueBlood
July 21st 2013


1388 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

koo fan^

DrGonzo1937
July 21st 2013


5980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off


dum spiro spero is way better than this though, much more developed musically

Not the easiest of listens, though. I think Uroboros R&E is definitely their peak. But I won't rule out that they can't do better. These guys are something very special, indeed.

FadedSun
July 22nd 2013


1284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My only complaint about Dir En Grey is Kyo live. He really needs to stop writing vocal parts that tear his voice apart, because live, he often can't handle it. How many times has this guy been in surgery for his vocals chords now? It's crazy.

BigPleb
July 22nd 2013


37247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, well when I saw em live he was incredible, hit every note.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

BigPleb
July 22nd 2013


37247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

3rd April.

FadedSun
July 22nd 2013


1284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Kyo uses a lot of pitch effects live to keep his voice in check. This was confirmed for me at the end of a show when I was
walking by a father and son, I think it was 2012 at the Paradise in Boston. The father must have been working as a sound
guy, because his son asked him about effects that Kyo uses on his voice and the father mentioned something about pitch
modulators and some other effects. It was something he would often switch on with the mic when he would go to do a
scream.

DrGonzo1937
July 22nd 2013


5980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Has anyone seen the Tour2011 Age QUOD AGIS dvd's? Man, does his voice get fucked up during that. It's actually painful to hear him try and hit the notes.

DrGonzo1937
July 22nd 2013


5980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

He got the surgery just after Vol.1, and with good reason. lol

heyadam
August 1st 2013


1715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I saw the DVDs. I was bummed that he wasn't able to hit the notes on Ruten No Tou, but it doesn't bother me too much that he might not be able to do everything live, cause he's clearly pouring everything he has and more into the recordings

DrGonzo1937
August 1st 2013


5980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

His will to continue is unparalleled.

skullkrusher097
September 27th 2013


70 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'm loving these redone versions but just make an entire new album please

skullkrusher097
September 27th 2013


70 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

if they play ruten no tou when i see them in november omfg help me

DrGonzo1937
September 27th 2013


5980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yjey are making a new album. New single is out jan 2014. And that is 3 singles, meaning the new album won't be far behind.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy