Old Man Markley Down Side Up
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cygnatti
April 9th 2013



19946 Comments


Folk punk has never done anything for me. Same goes with folk for the most part. I enjoy neo-folk more
than folk.

Digging: Lo-Fang - Blue Film

YankeeDudel
April 9th 2013



9290 Comments


yea weird folk is best folk

Digging: Shape of Broad Minds - Craft of the Lost Art

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 9th 2013



23606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"hi. this isn't as immediate and catchy as the first one but part of me thinks its better overall"

oh man me too, me too.

I dunno which one I like more, but this one feels more "complete." Better stand-out tracks on Guts n Teeth though.

And guys, this really isn't folk at all, you need to stop basing whether you will jam this or not on that. I only included that first comment as a joke related to the content of the reivew. Think bluegrass with punky lyrics.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 10th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like it, but the music kinda feels a bit too gimmicky instead of having the "real bluegrass spirit". Also, the vocalist kinda reminds me of Frank Turner.

Digging: Amatorski - From Clay To Figures

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 10th 2013



23606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah it isn't "real" bluegrass at all, and I know that pisses off a lot of the purists. I don't really know what genre it is at all, or if people (whose tastes I usually know well) will like it at all. I definitely understand why anyone wouldn't like it, but I just think it's so damn fun to listen to. And the lyrics really are great.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 10th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree it's really fun, though. I suspect they put on one hell of a live show.

Jash
April 10th 2013



4242 Comments


"folk music is mostly boring. besides guys, you're canadian. only americans can appreciate trve folk music"

Normally I like you hep but that's the stupidest comment you've ever made


Well the stupidest comment I've seen you make

Digging: Wen - Signals

Blackbelt54
April 10th 2013



4266 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah this isn't folk-punk, its fast-paced bluegrass with punk ethos

clercqie yes, they're fantastic live

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Heyhey, they're on Groezrock. What a nice coincidence! :D

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 18th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is getting better with every spin. Really siked to see them next week.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And bumped!

One of the best shows I've ever seen.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2013



23606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell yeah clerc, I am surprised and pleased that you love this as much as I do.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Silly hillbilly music is my jam!

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
June 2nd 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

When you come around heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeere

lancebramsay
July 10th 2013



1585 Comments


loved their first album, will definitely check this out. tried to POS your review but realized your a contributor now, so a late congratulations is in order.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy