Bonobo The North Borders
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Keyblade
August 12th 2013


16395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah he absolutely nailed the atmosphere, and the production is the cherry on top.

Digging: -

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2013


31933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EAdbkbca_0

Digging: ASC - Imagine The Future

clercqie
August 12th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hmm good point, which I can totally understand. For me personally though, I need some sort of rhythmic structure in my electronic music. His atmosphere is indeed superb, but I can't handle that sort of thing for two hours straight, unless I just employ it as background noise while I'm doing other stuff.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2013


31933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Yeah I was kind of surprised how well it worked on me, because, while everyone knows I love electronic music, my main love will always be more beat-oriented stuff. And I think there's something to be said about the merits of music that work as just background music; to me there's a difference between that and say, "white noise"

MikeC26
August 27th 2013


3246 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is good. I love it.

ShitsofRain
September 11th 2013


6621 Comments


Grey Reverend's solo album was pretty bad btw

MikeC26
September 18th 2013


3246 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Antenna is the bizness

OnWaldenPond
September 20th 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dude how did I miss this. I listen to so much trip-hop. It is definitely better than Black Sands.



This is some seriously sexy music

clercqie
September 20th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes! Wonder which direction he'll go next, more dance oriented or back to more chilled out trip-hop.



Welcome to the site!

OnWaldenPond
September 20th 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks! Your review is really great. It's simple and to-the-point



As for the music, I hope he sticks with something close to what he did on this album. Black Sands had really good execution and writing but was not terribly unique. His earlier stuff was a tad too simplistic for my tastes. I trust that whatever Bonobo does it will be good. He has had a generally excellent career

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2013


3814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

god damn I forgot how good this album was. super pumped about seeing him this Friday

tommygun
October 8th 2013


25670 Comments


aus tour in jan sweet can't wait to get out of my head and dance like it's 1999

CosmicPie
October 8th 2013


1101 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent stuff.

clercqie
October 8th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

god damn I forgot how good this album was. super pumped about seeing him this Friday


Have fun man. Best show I've seen so far, this year.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2013


3814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

I'm planning on writing up a 5/5 review for Black Sands sometime in the near future. I love this, don't get me wrong, but Black Sands has probably become my favorite album ever

clercqie
October 8th 2013


6515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, nice to hear! Looking forward to it.

ShitsofRain
October 8th 2013


6621 Comments


oh cool, downloaded it a few days ago

tommygun
January 5th 2014


25670 Comments


still jams

Acanthus
January 5th 2014


9726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

He's got a new mix out for the Late Night Tales series that's pretty fun as well if you like DJing.

Digging: Celldweller - Transmissions: Vol. 02

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 5th 2014


3814 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

TBH don't like his DJing as much as his more organic (?) stuff you find on his last few albums, though to be fair I only really have a Boiler Room mix to judge from. That style of house just isn't my thing



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy