Bonobo The North Borders
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2013



31094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2


but I was still planning to listen to it Dev :-(


At which point you will cease to suck

I dig the fact that it's kind of drone based but still cyclical enough to be structured; the production of it - it's so fucking crisp - plus the whole sci-fi sheen it's smeared in. I don't know, I went in not expecting big things (because it is 2 hours long, and I wasn't the biggest fan of his first ambient album) but this just blew me away because of it's fucking impressive atmosphere. The man can literally walk into any genre and just set gold standards - from drum & bass to its minimal "autonomic" counterpart, to house, to techno and now ambient. Genius, who very rarely misses the mark, which is beyond impressive given the size of his output

Digging: Banks - Goddess

BigPleb
August 12th 2013



36033 Comments


Can't decide whether I like this or Black Sands more :/

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

Keyblade
August 12th 2013



14713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah he absolutely nailed the atmosphere, and the production is the cherry on top.

Digging: Strawberry Switchblade - Strawberry Switchblade

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2013



31094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EAdbkbca_0

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2013



6443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hmm good point, which I can totally understand. For me personally though, I need some sort of rhythmic structure in my electronic music. His atmosphere is indeed superb, but I can't handle that sort of thing for two hours straight, unless I just employ it as background noise while I'm doing other stuff.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2013



31094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Yeah I was kind of surprised how well it worked on me, because, while everyone knows I love electronic music, my main love will always be more beat-oriented stuff. And I think there's something to be said about the merits of music that work as just background music; to me there's a difference between that and say, "white noise"

MikeC26
August 27th 2013



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is good. I love it.

ShitsofRain
September 11th 2013



5865 Comments


Grey Reverend's solo album was pretty bad btw

MikeC26
September 18th 2013



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Antenna is the bizness

OnWaldenPond
September 20th 2013



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dude how did I miss this. I listen to so much trip-hop. It is definitely better than Black Sands.

This is some seriously sexy music

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2013



6443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes! Wonder which direction he'll go next, more dance oriented or back to more chilled out trip-hop.

Welcome to the site!

OnWaldenPond
September 20th 2013



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks! Your review is really great. It's simple and to-the-point

As for the music, I hope he sticks with something close to what he did on this album. Black Sands had really good execution and writing but was not terribly unique. His earlier stuff was a tad too simplistic for my tastes. I trust that whatever Bonobo does it will be good. He has had a generally excellent career

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2013



3442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

god damn I forgot how good this album was. super pumped about seeing him this Friday

tommygun
October 8th 2013



24572 Comments


aus tour in jan sweet can't wait to get out of my head and dance like it's 1999

Digging: Broods - Evergreen

CosmicPie
October 8th 2013



1076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent stuff.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2013



6443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

god damn I forgot how good this album was. super pumped about seeing him this Friday

Have fun man. Best show I've seen so far, this year.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2013



3442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I'm planning on writing up a 5/5 review for Black Sands sometime in the near future. I love this, don't get me wrong, but Black Sands has probably become my favorite album ever

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2013



6443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, nice to hear! Looking forward to it.

ShitsofRain
October 8th 2013



5865 Comments


oh cool, downloaded it a few days ago

tommygun
January 5th 2014



24572 Comments


still jams



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy