Bonobo The North Borders
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
oltnabrick
May 12th 2013


31100 Comments


Ksuc
Kit

Digging: Ariel Pink - Pom Pom

FourthReich
May 12th 2013


17900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i don't watch enough adult swim anymore

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2013


31368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2


These are just minor qualms, though. I do really enjoy this release! I guess I just wish he had integrated this style a bit more with the Black Sands trip-hop style.


Outside of 'Kong', I'd argue that this falls more into Bonobo's usual trip hop stuff. Black Sands has a huge amount of garage influence in it

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2013


6487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Idk, I think of this as his garage album really.

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2013


31368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I think he implemented it better here, like it wasn't so obvious. He took it and made it his own thing; Black Sands does sound like he was listening to a lot of garage and funky while he was working on it. More worship than influence maybe?

fromtheinside
May 13th 2013


18717 Comments


i really like this

Digging: Devin Townsend Project - Z2

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2013


6487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think he implemented it better here, like it wasn't so obvious. He took it and made it his own thing; Black Sands does sound like he was listening to a lot of garage and funky while he was working on it. More worship than influence maybe?

Yeah, but like I said in the review: "Predecessor Black Sands stretched his palette of trip-hop beats as far as it could". There was an influence sure, but to me Black Sands is still 90% trip hop, stylistically. To me, the garage feel is far more obvious on this one, but I do agree it's very naturally implemented.

Either way, they're both fantastic albums.

iamSeraph
May 23rd 2013


865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great review, have a pos, sir.

Underflow
May 23rd 2013


2579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Didn't realize UK garage was a style of electronic music and for a min I thought you guys were talking about garage rock. Was beyond confused.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2013


6487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks, Seraph!

Underflow, check out some artists like Horsepower Productions, El-B, Sepalcure, Sorrow, Phaeleh, etc. That should give you an idea about the UK Garage genre. It's mainly characterised by that particular "shuffle beat" - for lack of a better description.

Rev
May 24th 2013


9437 Comments


speaking of which, clercq do you have any good 2013 future garage digs? i'm severely lacking in that area =/

Keyblade
May 24th 2013


15032 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

me too

Digging: Submotion Orchestra - Alium

Sleaper
May 24th 2013


3407 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

clerq always seems to have sweet recs for electronic stuff. hit us up...

Digging: Vince Staples - Hell Can Wait

BigPleb
May 24th 2013


37205 Comments


Still rules.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2013


6487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

All of you wanting garage stuff: just get Sorrow's latest. It's the best thing he's ever done! The Sepalcure EP was nice as well. And otherwise Locked Groove - Heritage, Throwing Snow's EPs and Perverse - Equinox. Some of these are dubstep - garage crossovers though.

After this, I'm kinda spent though, unless you just want Soundcloud snippets and stuff.

Rev
May 24th 2013


9437 Comments


Sorrow's newest and Sepalcure are all I have, but I'll grab the rest thanx

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2013


6487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also: Airhead - For Years (coming up somewhere in June)
and Koreless - Yugen


Sleaper
May 24th 2013


3407 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i knew i was forgetting something, i heard Sepalcures new one recently and loved it.. i just forgot to DL it when i got home haha

Keyblade
May 24th 2013


15032 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

that Sorrow LP, got DAYUM. thanks clercq!

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
May 24th 2013


3471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

Finally listening to this, holy shit it's good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy