Depeche Mode Delta Machine
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
sinsexsodomy
March 19th 2013



221 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Wow this album is un-fucking-believable! I see what Martin was talking about when he said it was like
their early 90's material because, even though I love Ultra, Exciter, and PTA this album blows all
those away imo, its probly tied with Violator and Faith as my top three for DM. Loving the first
track, Should be Higher and Soft Touch/Raw Nerve, Slow is great too. Although Broken sounds like an
outtake from Sounds to me. Good job DM!

Yeah I don't get those fans who want Wilder back, to me they have made some great songs without him,
in fact some of their best, and this album just reinforces that. I'd be more broke if Gahan or Gore
left, you can always find another producer. just my 2 cents on that.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2013



3393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review man. I'm really digging the new record. Dave Gahan's songs get better with each album. I love Secret To The End and Hole To Feed off Sounds Of The Universe. Pos.

Digging: Amplifier - Mystoria

Eloriaz
March 19th 2013



693 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely my favorite album since Faith and Devotion! Sounds fresh, intense, and has a lot of uptempo songs.

And THAT acid hook on "Soft Touch/Raw Nerve" O_O Makes me feel back to CTA and SGR in some kind of surprising way. Excellent. And I agree, Dave's songs are awesome.

It was easy for me to choose a personal favorite song on PTA and SOTU ("John the Revelator" and "Wrong"), but on Delta Machine I gotta say... hard to choose.

Digging: Simian Mobile Disco - Whorl

bloc
March 19th 2013



34839 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whew, this is good. I was getting worried :P

I don't think I like it as much as Angel though, but I would say it is better than Universe.

This sounds silly, but I kind of feel like this is a bit too synthy and minimal sounding, without a lot of guitar or other sounds on it. Yeah yeah I get THIS IS SYNTHPOP DUH, but the band's last two albums have way more variation in their songs, imo.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2013



3393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I miss some of Gore's guitar on Delta Machine too. He has some really cool rhythms and licks.

Kaleid
March 20th 2013



711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, there's no iconic guitar riffs here, no Policy of Truth slide guitar or anything, but there's more guitar than might be apparent. The variation this time comes from song structure rather than instrumentation. Although, the guitar on Slow and particularly Goodbye is fantastic.

If there's anything wrong with this one, it's how flat Soft Touch/Raw Nerve sounds. They held back the snares and guitar crunches because... I don't know? It went a bit too close to U2 for comfort?

WhiteNoise
March 20th 2013



3142 Comments


In love that people are getting into Depeche Mode, I'm impressed sputnik!

bloc
March 20th 2013



34839 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Soft Touch/Raw Nerve is one of the stand out tracks to me

sinsexsodomy
March 20th 2013



221 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wow the deluxe edition tracks are great too, this is really looking like one of their best albums to
me

"Soft Touch/Raw Nerve is one of the stand out tracks to me"

same here,definitely looking forward to
hearing it live when I go see em

bloc
March 20th 2013



34839 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah one thing I've noticed with this band and even the solo projects is that bonus tracks and b-sides are usually pretty damn good.

bloc
March 20th 2013



34839 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Btw just realized the initials for this album are DM :O

RadicalEd
March 21st 2013



2643 Comments


Shit. This is out already? Gotta check it. Stellar review.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

Eloriaz
March 21st 2013



693 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lovin' this more and more =]

My favorite songs so far :

-"Angel". Insanely good tempo. Very danceable. Rules.
- "Soft Touch/Raw Nerve". Industrial Depeche meets Acid house meets Songs of Faith and Devotion is kind of how I see that song :P
- "Should Be Higher" and "Soothe My Soul" for their anthemic qualities.

ViperAces
March 21st 2013



12428 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gonna jam today \m/

datasafe45
March 23rd 2013



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

At last an album as good as violator and sofad, brilliant every song flows perfectly not like previous albums where only a few tracks stood out, should be higher and soothe my soul will sound amazing on the live shows.........Reach out and touch faith...theyve done it!!!!!!!!!!

sinsexsodomy
March 23rd 2013



221 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

uhg, may as well bump this up to a 5 since its on my top three for them

DutchDevotee
March 25th 2013



37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Me happy. It took a couple of listen sessions, bu t now I'm definitely getting it. My fave so far is My little universe and the extra track Always sung by Martin Gore, which should have been on the album itself (imho). The only thing that doesn't click with me right now is Soft touch/Raw nerve. I really don't like the stomping beat for that one.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2013



3393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Soft Touch/Raw Nerve sounds better and punchier on the Letterman special they filmed. Besides it, Soothe My Soul, Alone and Should Be Higher really grew on me. There's so much pathos in Gahan's performance, it's infectious.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mspn1LamJhU

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2013



6069 Comments


^^Wow double kick drums at the drum kit.

Depeche Mode going metal haha :-D

Digging: The Sabbathian - Ritual Rites

WhiteNoise
March 25th 2013



3142 Comments


Fucking pre ordered this today...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy