Frank Ocean Channel Orange
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
alachlahol
March 18th 2013



7422 Comments


spending time reflecting on how you or other people go about determining playlists is great man but i dont think anyone really cares and they probably just want to hear about the album which you didnt even mention until the third paragraph. i guess adding introspective fluff is creative/artistic/thought provoking??

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2013



9468 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

You have a good point, man. Thanks for being honest! I'll work with this some more, and just know I really
appreciate the feedback.

I was trying to experiment with my writing a little here, because I've fallen into too much of a formula. I definitely
could trim this down, though, you're right.

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 18th 2013



4830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think extraneous stuff like this is cool if it fits with the review well. which unfortunately this doesn't. i've been trying to include more meta discussion in my reviews lately tbh though. def hard to mix it in though if it's not quite pertinent

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins®

Gyromania
March 18th 2013



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

what i like to do it take a day or so after writing a review and come back to it later, re-read it, and then determine whether or not to post it or make amendments.

thomas: congrats for knowing it was soul eater!

alachlahol
March 18th 2013



7422 Comments


whateve you wanna do,, some people enjoy reading dissertations on musics social and cultural impacts or writeups with lots of dolled up flowery crap but that aint me

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 18th 2013



4830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gyro - i hate that advice tbh. just sit down, write it in an hour or two (tops), proof it, submit it

Gyromania
March 18th 2013



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i say come back to it because it's hard to initially find errors in your writing. you know exactly what you want to/are trying to say. as an alternative, and when it comes to concept reviews especially, i'd say maybe have one or two other people whose opinions you trust read it over first and give you some perspective.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 18th 2013



4830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that helps, but when you sit on your writing, it's less likely to ever be released COUGH GYRO COUGH

alachlahol
March 18th 2013



7422 Comments


hmmm gyro i agree its always good to take a brief hiatus before returning to reflect on what youve said

Gyromania
March 18th 2013



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

haha you might have a point there sobhi :$

Irving
Staff Reviewer
March 18th 2013



7011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My favourite write-up for this thing was written by Lindsay Zoladz of P4k. It ended with something along the lines of, "In the year of #YOLO, Ocean was mischievously thinking about forever." Genius.

That being said good stuff Jacob =)

Digging: Caleb McAlpine - All Things New

Gyromania
March 18th 2013



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

that is devilishly clever

Tyrael
March 18th 2013



20394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'thomas: congrats for knowing it was soul eater!'

man I love that show

too bad the anime was so short :[

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
March 18th 2013



20200 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is really boring

Digging: YG - My Krazy Life

HolidayKirk
Contributing Reviewer
March 18th 2013



1478 Comments


Motherfucker, I need to get my ass in gear and write my 2.5 review of this piece of pomp.

Digging: Blood Orange - Cupid Deluxe

fromtheinside
March 18th 2013



16377 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"i get really frustrated at how unfinished at least half of these ideas are."

this times a million
half of these songs aren't fully realized and even when they are the only one that truly succeeds is pyramids because it holds no punches.

Digging: Bast - Spectres

sniper
March 18th 2013



18580 Comments


i love where he's trying to go with this record, but i get really frustrated at how unfinished at least half of these ideas are.
this. i really can't wait for his next though.

no love for lost, fti?

antigravity
March 18th 2013



522 Comments


how does this compare to the 20/20 experience

oltnabrick
March 18th 2013



29282 Comments


maybe all 9 minute songs

Digging: Future - Honest

ILJ
March 18th 2013



6540 Comments


i still haven't checked this out. if i liked the new JT album would i dig this?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy