In Vain Aenigma
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
OllieS
March 12th 2013


2033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review but I literally have no clue where you got the idea TLR had bad production. It has superb production - the drum sound, the thick guitars, the vocal channeling, etc. Mantra had poorer production as it sounded drab and far less punchy. Maybe this is is subjective but it always struck me (and a few others) as obvious Mantra's production was a let-down after TLR - this is reflective of the songwriting quality of both as well.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


19918 Comments


this isn't bad

Digging: Transit - Joyride

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


21453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

"Good review but I literally have no clue where you got the idea TLR had bad production. It has superb production - the drum sound, the thick guitars, the vocal channeling, etc. Mantra had poorer production as it sounded drab and far less punchy. Maybe this is is subjective but it always struck me (and a few others) as obvious Mantra's production was a let-down after TLR - this is reflective of the songwriting quality of both as well."

Lets agree to disagree then, because i feel exactly the opposite

And thanks for the kind words guys i really appreciate it

Digging: Aspherium - The Fall of Therenia

FrozenVain
March 12th 2013


2444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

more like In frozen Vain

Really good work, Ins. I've liked this band quite a bit before so I will probably love this based on the review.


cagedescending
March 12th 2013


4124 Comments


baller review, earned dat feature

gonna give this a go

PortalofPerfection
March 12th 2013


552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet review man, very nice job, you know this band well. Consistent is definitely the word too, they've had some awesome songs/parts of songs before, but their albums as a whole were always tough to listen to front to back.

One spin of this and I can tell this is a step up as far as song writing and album progression goes. Good stuff.


Digging: Darkest Era - Severance

FearThyEvil
March 12th 2013


12622 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really do not enjoy the cleans on this at all.

PortalofPerfection
March 12th 2013


552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think they're awesome, rather unique, but I can see how they could be off putting.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


21453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Yea i think they fit the music rather well

PortalofPerfection
March 13th 2013


552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

3 spins and I'm ready to 4.5 this. It's really fucking good. Seems to get better from one track to the next as the album progresses too.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 15th 2013


21453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Really loving that avg rating

CaptainDooRight
March 15th 2013


29891 Comments


dam still can't dig

Digging: Impetuous Ritual - Unholy Congregation of Hypocritical Ambivalence

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 15th 2013


21453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Not even the last song capt?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 16th 2013


21453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

so tempted to raise this. image of time and culmination are just fantastic

ZeroTolerance
March 16th 2013


435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album surprised me a lot. Glad they've finally done away with that weird Native American obsession...

KILL
March 16th 2013


71957 Comments


i wonder how boring this is

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 16th 2013


21453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

well this is actually good modern prog metal so yea youd probably hate it

KILL
March 16th 2013


71957 Comments


yea will def be boring

PortalofPerfection
March 19th 2013


552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^^50 thousand comments holy fuck O_O. In other news, I can’t stop spinning this, Times of Yore is a hidden gem here methinks.

dsroka005
March 19th 2013


1526 Comments


I wish the bonus song "Rise Against" made the tracklist... dat riff



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy