Rotting Christ Kata Ton Demona Eaftou
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 5th 2013


8497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just generally call them dark metal and am done with it. There are some black metal elements, there are some other elements, and all these elements just make up what is an awesome album. Some people complain about them not being black metal enough and are hating on the folk/gothic sections, but really, I think those are what make RC special. No one really sounds like them and I haven't yet come across another Greek metal band either that has a so distinct "Greek" folk feel to it as Rotting Christ's later day albums have had.

FrozenVain
October 5th 2013


2594 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good metal

mindleviticus
October 5th 2013


8521 Comments


Satan music

zaruyache
October 6th 2013


9029 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The folk sections are like the best parts. It's a genuinely fun record by a band with the trve name "Rotting Christ." That's pretty awesome.

Digging: False - Untitled

ZippaThaRippa
October 27th 2013


2480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is truly a fantastic album. Gets more entertaining every time I listen to it. These guys definitely deserve more attention

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2013


6693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I picked the album in CD yesterday and it's amazing how Rotting Christ, along with Kawir, Aherusia and many other Greek metal outfits, are taking benefit from the treasury of melodies within the Greek folk music.

Digging: Brannthorde - Auf Teufel Komm Raus

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 25th 2013


8497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Rotting Christ especially know how to do that. I'm yet to hear another Greek metal band who integrates Greek folk influences as well as RC do. Sure, there are some who do it well (Kawir is a good example), but imo none who pull it off as convincingly as RC do.



I'm not sure if you've recommended me Aherusia before or not, but I'll have a look to make sure.

TheSpirit
December 25th 2013


18516 Comments


the term "dark metal" really irks me

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Hammer of the Witches

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2013


8497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha, why so?

TheSpirit
December 26th 2013


18516 Comments


Idk haha. It kind of reminds me of like ... Over romanticized, gothic black metal which I am not a huge fan of

Relinquished
December 26th 2013


28857 Comments


dark metal could be also redundant if u think about it

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2013


8497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It could, I can agree (metal being a dark genre in itself and all that), but then again, if you have a death metal band you tag them with death metal, if you have a black metal band you tag them with black metal; if you have a band that mixes genres in a way that they can't really be lumped under any specific sub-genre, yet they still play music at the heavier/darker end of the spectrum, I think dark metal works fine as long as you elaborate on it.

damo13
March 28th 2014


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review. Only discovered this the other day, and I cant stop listening to it!

InFlamesWeThrash666
May 4th 2014


2128 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Hammer of the Witches

Totengott
October 7th 2014


2516 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still rules hard, up that rating..

Digging: High on Fire - Luminiferous



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy