Rotting Christ Kata Ton Demona Eaftou
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
sniper
March 6th 2013


19076 Comments


excellent review.

Gigglesdemon
March 6th 2013


187 Comments


I've heard consistently great things about this band, but I've never gotten around to listening to them. Where would you guys say is the best place to start?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2013


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks a lot for the kind words everybody, sincerely. And about the album title's spelling, just listen to some of our Greek members, like YUJOS or Voivod. Pretty sure they've got it down haha.

@Nag
I feel like I agree with you!

@Wiz
I wouldn't have expected you to like this anyway since I know you didn't like their previous stuff. There's nothing here that you don't "get" haha, it's just a matter of taste. I absolutely adore their melodic black metal sound with Hellenic melodies, but I can definitely see how some wouldn't, especially since Tolis' songwriting style hasn't really changed much during RC's career.

@Gigglesdemon
This is as good a place as any.

Wizard
March 7th 2013


19523 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

If I understood their background, I might appreciate their records a lot more. Oh well, if you need any other bm rec's that don't sound basement recorded, I can lend you a hand in that direction anytime : ).

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2013


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

University and private life have drained me from much of my music listening time so I don't have the time to check out albums like I used to (nowadays I review like 50% that I do haha). If there are some records you think I really need to hear, though, go ahead and shoutbox me. I'll always find time for The Wizard's recs ;).

Also, it's never too late to get acquainted to the band's past ya know. Who knows, if you do, maybe it'll actually change your mind about them.

Nagrarok
March 7th 2013


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is great, will be a 3.5 or a 4.

kitsch
March 7th 2013


5107 Comments


stopped reading at "epic" melodic black metal

Tyrael
March 7th 2013


20901 Comments


'stopped reading at "epic" melodic black metal'

we've gone over this so many times before

kitsch
March 7th 2013


5107 Comments


>'stopped reading at "epic" melodic black metal'

>we've gone over this so many times before

uhh idr interacting with you that much

and gone over what exactly

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2013


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Took the grammar convo to the shoutboxes, Atomic.

Glad you like the album, Nag. Always makes me glad when I can introduce stuff to you that you actually enjoy haha.

@kitsch
You could've continued reading regardless!

fromtheinside
March 7th 2013


18717 Comments


opening track is the perfect set up for this album

Digging: Devin Townsend Project - Z2

MO
March 7th 2013


18865 Comments


fuck yea metalstyles m/

will listen

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2013


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed fromtheinside, though they've always had great opening cuts.

And you better, MO. I will leave you no alternative choice or room for slacking.

Wizard
March 8th 2013


19523 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Also, it's never too late to get acquainted to the band's past ya know. Who knows, if you do, maybe it'll actually change your mind about them.

I was just thinking of this yesterday. I'm sure their earlier stuff will please me seeing as it's probably rooted in a more raw production.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2013


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is, but honestly, Rotting Christ never had production that could be fully classified as raw. It's rawer than nowadays, for sure, but it's still pretty thick and tries to highlight the melodies. Do give Thy Mighty Contract a spin though, I think you could enjoy it. If you don't, this band probably just isn't for you.

kveldulf57
March 8th 2013


49 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The title comes from ancient greek, meaning something like "act however you will"

I think this is also engraved in Jim Morrison's tombstone

Hawks
March 8th 2013


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck yeah just downloaded this. Pumped to finally listen to it.

kveldulf57
March 8th 2013


49 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanx for the great review , wonderful album from a very consnstent band

Hawks
March 8th 2013


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Their past 5 albums are all really good, but I need to get back into their early albums too. Heard them all years ago, but I can't remember them at all except for Non Serviam, which is awesome.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2013


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm sure you will enjoy this, Hawks. And yes, RC's whole discography is consistently great.

You're welcome, kveldulf57.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy