Rotting Christ Kata Ton Demona Eaftou
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2013


8497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

University and private life have drained me from much of my music listening time so I don't have the time to check out albums like I used to (nowadays I review like 50% that I do haha). If there are some records you think I really need to hear, though, go ahead and shoutbox me. I'll always find time for The Wizard's recs ;).



Also, it's never too late to get acquainted to the band's past ya know. Who knows, if you do, maybe it'll actually change your mind about them.

Nagrarok
March 7th 2013


8443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is great, will be a 3.5 or a 4.

kitsch
March 7th 2013


5110 Comments


stopped reading at "epic" melodic black metal

Tyrael
March 7th 2013


21003 Comments


'stopped reading at "epic" melodic black metal'

we've gone over this so many times before

kitsch
March 7th 2013


5110 Comments


>'stopped reading at "epic" melodic black metal'

>we've gone over this so many times before

uhh idr interacting with you that much

and gone over what exactly

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2013


8497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Took the grammar convo to the shoutboxes, Atomic.



Glad you like the album, Nag. Always makes me glad when I can introduce stuff to you that you actually enjoy haha.



@kitsch

You could've continued reading regardless!

MO
March 7th 2013


19743 Comments


fuck yea metalstyles m/

will listen

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2013


8497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed fromtheinside, though they've always had great opening cuts.



And you better, MO. I will leave you no alternative choice or room for slacking.

Wizard
March 8th 2013


19897 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Also, it's never too late to get acquainted to the band's past ya know. Who knows, if you do, maybe it'll actually change your mind about them.



I was just thinking of this yesterday. I'm sure their earlier stuff will please me seeing as it's probably rooted in a more raw production.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2013


8497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is, but honestly, Rotting Christ never had production that could be fully classified as raw. It's rawer than nowadays, for sure, but it's still pretty thick and tries to highlight the melodies. Do give Thy Mighty Contract a spin though, I think you could enjoy it. If you don't, this band probably just isn't for you.

kveldulf57
March 8th 2013


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The title comes from ancient greek, meaning something like "act however you will"



I think this is also engraved in Jim Morrison's tombstone

Hawks
March 8th 2013


38026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck yeah just downloaded this. Pumped to finally listen to it.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Hammer of the Witches

kveldulf57
March 8th 2013


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanx for the great review , wonderful album from a very consnstent band

Hawks
March 8th 2013


38026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Their past 5 albums are all really good, but I need to get back into their early albums too. Heard them all years ago, but I can't remember them at all except for Non Serviam, which is awesome.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2013


8497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm sure you will enjoy this, Hawks. And yes, RC's whole discography is consistently great.



You're welcome, kveldulf57.

Hawks
March 8th 2013


38026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck this rules. Going through it a second time right now.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2013


16781 Comments


Well shit I guess I gotta listen to this now. Great work as usual Metalstyles, keep it up!

mcg182
March 8th 2013


144 Comments


It's called black metal, not blackened metal. "Blackened" should only be used to describe hybrids of genres, like blackened death, blackened doom, blackened crust, etc. Sorry, I'm a snob when it comes to metal, and I get the wrong impression of someone if these use the term "blackened metal" in the summary, the first thing anyone reads before a review.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2013


8497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I used blackened because this album is far from being a typical black metal record. There are many people to whom Kata Ton Daimona Eaytoy may be the first taste of the band, so I didn't want to leave the impression that they'd be hearing a standard fare black metal album. There are black metal dynamics to be found, but they're mixed with goth and folk influences into Rotting Christ's unique sound, making them a hybrid band. I'm not using blackened as a genre descriptor (which becomes very clear once you've read the whole review), but simply as an adjective.



Thanks Kyle and I intend to. PS, I'm hoping you'll love this haha.

demigod!
March 9th 2013


47074 Comments


Yeah what i've heard from this hasn't been BM really. Blackened is a perfect adjective, i think.

Digging: Meat Puppets - Up on the Sun



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy