Bring Me the Horizon Sempiternal
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
July 21st 2014


11507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i think their next album will probably be quite strong



i have high hopes for them

Digging: The Heartland - The Stars Outnumber The Dead

ChoccyPhilly
July 21st 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, in another 2 years, we'll see maybe? Until then, their current discog isn't anything special

Digging: Alrakis - Alpha Eri

Mort.
July 21st 2014


11507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

is for me, but i have a real soft spot for them. i view them above most other generic core bands they often get lumped in with. theyre the only core band thats really hated that i quite like tho (i dont count ES, they dont get nearly as much flak as these guys)



i think if you listen to enough music there will always be bands that in your eyes are uneccesarily shat on. BMTH is one of them for moi

ChoccyPhilly
July 21st 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's cool, we can keep ES to ourselves man. I definitely think they're better than the generic metalcore around, but 'better' right now only means potential. Something they are making progress towards, but have barely touched yet IMO. It's really encouraging and even if my highest rating for them is 3, I'll still listen to whatever they put out with keen ears.



ES don't get that much hate, unless you're an Arctic Monkeys fan, it's just the people here. I know people who love their stuff but don't like any other 'core' bands as such. I think they get a lot of hate because of their image and the bands their grouped with, which really sucked. Maybe if everyone heard the Rat Race EP before anything else, people actually would have liked them

Mort.
July 21st 2014


11507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah Rat Race is easily their most accessible and dropped a lot of the shit peeps didnt like them for (the weirdness tongue in cheeck bits they had like "yabba dabba do one son"



its just when TTTS came out they were a bunch of scruffy sorta weird looking dudes who got so easily thrown in with all the other core bands rising at the time





ChoccyPhilly
July 21st 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yabba dabba do one son is great. Makes me wanna stands up and headbutt a wall.



Let's not forget that the lyrics didn't save them either. Surprised people didn't like Adieu, but I guess their opinion was already decided by that point in the album

DrGonzo1937
July 22nd 2014


11852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

there is a hell is less complex but more consistent



Less complex? Disagree, hard.

Mort.
July 22nd 2014


11507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

really? songs like blacklist, anthem, visions were pretty standard verse, chorus, verse post hardcore affairs. not that they were bad, i have that album at a 4.



then again i havent listened to this or hell in quite a while so i may ba talking out my ass

ChoccyPhilly
July 22nd 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The songwriting is still an improvement nevertheless, even if the instrumentation isn't. But that's where this comes in!

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2014


14835 Comments


But this is so booooring and annoying compared to There is a Hell why would anyone think this has better songwriting

Digging: Opeth - Sorceress

ChoccyPhilly
July 22nd 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was referring to the instrumentation on this, but yeah I agree too

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2014


14835 Comments


They've never been that interesting instrumentally though

wacknizzle
July 22nd 2014


14431 Comments


Lol Sykes was addicted to Ketamine for 3 years before they wrote this

betray
July 22nd 2014


7155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Lol Sykes was addicted to Ketamine"



'Lol'?

wacknizzle
July 22nd 2014


14431 Comments


Hey atleast it motivated him to learn to sing and write this album

DrGonzo1937
July 22nd 2014


11852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This flows slightly better but, There's a hell has its little ups and downs because of all the guest vocal appearences that stop it flowing perfectly; I think instrumentally, and even vocally for that matter, There's a hell overall is their creative high thus far.

ChoccyPhilly
July 22nd 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't get the people who slate them off by saying "Oli can't sing anymore".



Is there a drug which might help him write better lyrics, maybe?

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2014


14835 Comments


Oli never really sang in the first place he mostly wails and whines

ChoccyPhilly
July 22nd 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've heard whinier whines. His voice isn't actually too bad, but it's not as good as a lot of people say it is

DrGonzo1937
July 22nd 2014


11852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've always liked his lyrics in the last two records, in places on SS.



His voice suits the sound of the band, but that's just my opinion. ha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy