Bring Me the Horizon Sempiternal
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TalonsOfFire
August 16th 2014


13011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And if he stopped trying to sound like linkin park

fish.
August 16th 2014


22382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

SS is baaaaaad with maybe one or two decent songs


90% of this site says this but no one can agree what those one or two songs actually are

ChoccyPhilly
August 16th 2014


10034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Chelsea smile and Sadness are the tolerable tracks on SS

Digging: Bosse-de-Nage - All Fours

fish.
August 16th 2014


22382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah



so no one can agree what those one or two tracks actually are

fish.
August 16th 2014


22382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also the whole album pretty much has the same sound so unless you have some preconceived bias (which most people do) i really don't get how you can hate the whole album but excuse one or two tracks

TalonsOfFire
August 16th 2014


13011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I guess they would be sadness and the t/t, but even those don't exactly stand out since everything on SS kind of runs

together. It's about on par with this

fish.
August 16th 2014


22382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

SS is still my fave by them. so infectious if you let it into you. doesn't outstay its welcome either

ChoccyPhilly
August 16th 2014


10034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just find the majority of it boring and as you say, it's got the same sound throughout, which gets stale very quickly. I don't mind those other two songs cos they're catchy but not in a really awkward way

TalonsOfFire
August 16th 2014


13011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There is a Hell is my favorite because it's the least annoying and has my favorite songs by them like Crucify Me, It Never Ends, and Blessed with a Curse

fish.
August 16th 2014


22382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

eh I find the songwriting pretty strong so the similar sound just gives the album a more cohesive feel. i've just never understood why people are so ready to dismiss it cos i've always thought it had so much more grit and substance than all the other shitty metalcore coming out at the time, and it's only when the band has changed its style that previous detractors have changed their tune and come to recognise the band's talent



Mort.
August 16th 2014


6054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

tbh i agree with fish



SS has always seemed pretty strong to me. 4.5. highest bmth rating



would explain but fish has basically already said how i feel so eh

Digging: Thy Art Is Murder - The Adversary

fish.
August 16th 2014


22382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea and we're not the only ones who feel that way. I think it's just cos they came about alongside all the other shitty metalcore bands and looked like total scene kids, and if you just give that album a superficial listen you can easily just think "oh yeah it's more of that junzy crap" so they become the anathema of the genre when ironically the stuff they were putting out was 10x better than anything being produced by the bands they were being associated with



there's a reason they're still around going strong but all those other bands have faded away

TalonsOfFire
August 16th 2014


13011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I'd rather listen to SS than most mainstream metalcore, is even better live too

Mort.
August 16th 2014


6054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i always thought an interesting part of it was that when they started to get massive (end of cyb/beginning of SS era) it was during when the word "emo" and the whole idea of "screamo" and a shitty genre that the weird kid at your school liked was developing as an idea. BMTH were at the forefront of most of that and so got a lot of hate directed at them





ChoccyPhilly
August 16th 2014


10034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm with you, fish, which is why I spend so much time on their threads but I can't help but feel they're not there yet. They're heading in the right direction and I'm interested as to what they do yet but everything they've done so far is pretty inconsistent with glimpses of quality

Mort.
August 16th 2014


6054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah im looking forward to the next album, it has the potential to be brilliant

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2014


4261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They have the potential to become a lot better.

xiLeadFeather
August 18th 2014


99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The more I listen to SS, the more I actually kind of enjoy it. Honestly, I didn't like it as much back then because they

weren't August Burns Red or Architects, but they do do metalcore better than most bands. Their newer albums push the

genre in a bit of a different direction and that's why I like them more, but SS isn't all that bad. I feel like Architects is in the

same boat. They can make a great album (I really liked Daybreaker and enjoyed parts of their other album), but they're

just missing something.

DrGonzo1937
August 18th 2014


10307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

5 lol





SS is a solid album for sure.

xiLeadFeather
August 18th 2014


99 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hey I can't justify listening to an album on a near daily basis, sometimes more than that, for a year with anything less than that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy