Foals Holy Fire
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



9977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Ahh, all great catches. Thanks a ton, Atomic - always helpful =]

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

HSThomas
February 25th 2013



668 Comments


AIDS is that you in Omaha's avatar?

bloc
February 25th 2013



34669 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Novelty wore off fast

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



9977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Thomas, it's Aesop Rock

And aww, that low score makes me sad.

AutoRock
February 25th 2013



416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

First of all, great review, well written and all. Should be featured, but oh well.

This release’s downfall, though, is an overemphasis on atmosphere. The most glaring instance of this issue is in the album’s second half, and particularly the last track. Foals simply aren’t tailored for creating the sort of ambient crawlspaces for which Sigur Rós strives, despite what closer “Moon” would have us believe. The track works more as a lullaby than anything else for the majority of its runtime, but it then cascades into atmospheric swells... without resolution.

If have never disagreed so much with anyhting written about music i think. I think the stronges points are those in which atmosphere is emphazied (Prelude Stepson Moon) while the weaker songs are those who are blatanlty poppy. (Bad Habit, to a certain extent Everytime, altough I like Everytime) I think the Album would have been classic material if it would replace the three weakest songs (Providence, Bad Habit, Everytime) with some songs which have more atmosphere. Cuz if they had done that, the album would feel muuuuch more cohesive.

As it is. The album is a collection of very good songs, with a few weaker ones, but i think they kinda went all over the place by emphazizing atmopshere on the one hand, by building a very clear structure (Intro, Outro, long, epic center piece in the middle) and on the other hand beeing quiet uncohesive in terms of songwriting and style inbetween those fixpoints.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



9977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Potsy, you make statements like "shai huluds new album sounds exactly like every other metalcore band ever formed" and then are surprised when people have something to say against it, haha. With bold statements come bold responses, man.

And AutoRock - first off, thanks a ton. It means a lot that you enjoyed the review. I can imagine you were a big fan of the slower tracks on TLF, like Spanish Sahara and What Remains? I was too, but here they seem to drag too much for my liking. I guess I just liked the peaceful moments when they weren't as emphasized.



Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



9977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Fair enough, man, fair enough

I will both Get Real, and Get Right

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



9977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

U know it ;]

AutoRock
February 25th 2013



416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

first off, thanks a ton. It means a lot that you enjoyed the review. I can imagine you were a big fan of the slower tracks on TLF, like Spanish Sahara and What Remains? I was too, but here they seem to drag too much for my liking. I guess I just liked the peaceful moments when they weren't as emphasized.

You're quiet welcome =). And yeah actually Spanish sahara, what remains and 2 trees are my favs on TLF. (along with Black Gold, but oh well, that does not fit at all^^)
As for the new album, like I said, i think the amtospheric moments are fine, but should have been more consistent, or cut down to a minimum, as is, the album certainly feels kind of messy, pretty certain it's cuz they were trying to be artsy and go for the stadiums in one LP. (that sounds very negative, but I still enjoy the Album a ton.)
I would much prefer them to go emphazise the atmospheric route even more, but I guess they could make a classic album by cutting all the atmospheric stuff and focus on writing 10-11 really strong straightforward songs.

AutoRock
February 25th 2013



416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Also Youth lagoon

AutoRock
February 25th 2013



416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

no only to darkthrone.


AutoRock
February 25th 2013



416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

also james blake

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



9977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Potsy, I should start going by James Blake around these parts.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"i specified later and u knew what i was talking about all along."

miscommunication, and no I didn't. when you're having this discussion, the difference between "indie" and "indie rock" is pretty important. you can't just use them interchangeably. I mean in the context of the conversation that I set up, the distinction was important. I'm being a "nit picky fart" because, in my opinion, the terms "indie" and "indie rock" are loaded in very, very different ways, and I was talking about how the term "indie" is misused, before you started changing the rules, slut.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



9977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Someone promote lordoftheworms 2 staff already, he provides appreciated insight

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there are a lot of alts following my posts around the site, I think they're skeletor

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



9977 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Probably.

mindleviticus
February 25th 2013



8157 Comments


Someone make this guy emeritus. His writing is too horrible to comprehend ;p

mindleviticus
February 25th 2013



8157 Comments


Preach it, brotha! Preach it!

tommygun
February 25th 2013



23538 Comments


can't get into this album much

Digging: Obliteration - Black Death Horizon



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy