Foals Holy Fire
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



10043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Haha man, have you seen the video it's from? The new one?

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

noooooooooo! which song?

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



10043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

"Take My Hand" - DTS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_rnDXq9XOU

Decent video, but now you'll know the context!

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha great video

kingsoby1
Emeritus
February 25th 2013



4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty indifferent about this

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



10043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

It can be pretty tepid at times, but in others it really comes together.

mindleviticus
February 25th 2013



8201 Comments


Overemphasis of atmosphere??? Shouldnt this be a good thing and not a flaw?

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



10043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Atmosphere isn't inherently good, Mindle! Like any other musical quality, atmosphere has to be approached well. This isn't really the case with a few of the songs here.

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



876 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good choice for your first Staff review Jacob, good work buddy.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



10043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Thanks Dannyboy! I was going to write a 5 review for Dillinger Escape Plan, but with this new rating system I'm not even sure if it's logically possible to have a 5.

mindleviticus
February 25th 2013



8201 Comments


I'll give this a listen in a bit

mindleviticus
February 25th 2013



8201 Comments


Still need to get used to the fact that you're staff

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



876 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, I am loving how specific the new rating system is I gotta say. Adds a challenge in a way though too you're right.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



10043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Haha Jake, you're not the only one. Looks weird next to my newly abbreviated username.

And Dan, it mostly makes things easier for me to be honest. I'd never realized how much MORE difficult it was to simply narrow ratings down to .5 increments. Plus, most albums we listen to are between a 3 and 4, so it provides for more flexibility.

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013



876 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wish I had it, but then I'm glad I don't. If that makes any sense.

mindleviticus
February 25th 2013



8201 Comments


Listened to the two singles; didnt like them that much

EaglesBecomeVultures
February 25th 2013



5217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0



Digging: FKA twigs - LP1

Hopelust
February 25th 2013



948 Comments


Good review, omaha. props on your new position in the community.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



10043 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Thanks dude, I appreciate the kind words. Looking forward to contribute with the new title at hand! =]

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013



1985 Comments


Your commas are good (as is the review, per the usual). EMBRACE THE COMMA. LOVE THE COMMA.

I'll be my normal douchy self and nitpick on a few quick grammary things (but, again, this is well-written as always and these are just nitpicks):

"The track’s also possibly the best one here because of its unique instrumentation, though, the playful percussive elements holding the verses together."

This is a mucky sentence because, at least for me, the "though" doesn't quite splice the two ideas together properly in my head. I think what you're going for is more of a "The track’s also possibly the best one here because of its unique instrumentation - playful percussive elements holding the verses together." but that still feels a little hollow to me. It's just one sentence, but it did throw me for a loop.

"Foals simply aren’t tailored for creating the sort of ambient crawlspaces for which Sigur Rós strives"

I think "strive" is more proper in this situation since you treat a band as a singular entity. But it's kind of a grey area.

"So lest we get caught up in when Foals will begin to decline"

Throw a comma in after "So." COMMAS ARE YOUR FRIEND. LOVE THEM. "So" is just one of those weird transitionary words that's almost always followed by a comma or an ellipses when used in this context.

But yeah, that's about it, I think.

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy