Foals Holy Fire
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
February 25th 2013


16089 Comments


you aren't using a single song as a reference point to support your case here, and it sounds like you're bashing it on the sole premise that it's catchy and has a chorus large enough to rouse an entire stadium filled with people. i don't see the problem - like i said, i think it's kind of akin to thursday insofar as it building a wall of noise and the 'SPAAAAAAAAAAAACE'

Gyromania
February 25th 2013


16089 Comments


also 'hipster' is probably the most thrown around word in the english language.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol Potsy you haven't heard "My Number" yet? you are going to fucking haaaaaaaate that song.

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

Gyromania
February 25th 2013


16089 Comments


lol it's fine if you don't like it, honestly. my gripe is with you saying it's generic, because i think it's a fair bit more creative than a lot of stuff they've done before it.

yea but 'like' is just an annoyance and filler whereas 'hipster' is an overused pejorative

Gyromania
February 25th 2013


16089 Comments


Inhaler is basically just an appropriation of every other EMPOWERING HIPSTER TRACK ever made

this is what i was referring to.

and lol give me a fucking break. hipster is so overused that it's basically meaningless now

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's an overused word, yeah, but it definitely isn't meaningless.

"indie" now there's a meaningless word (nearly)

wacknizzle
February 25th 2013


13704 Comments


It's just the song they picked for the single Graham, there's nothing hipster about it. It's not generic either, you can objectively not like something though but the way you're banting those words about is unfair. This band has a sound that can in some ways can attract to hipsters and thus seems as thus in a way, it's been hinting at that since the beginning and I think it's starting to bug you because you like them. Finally got around to it but it's a good record, a good Foals record even though I had doubts about it since Inhaler but that song is actually pretty good now that I've given it a few listens. Yeah man this just sounds like Foals, no extra generic indie hipster injection that u sense.

Digging: Phobocosm - Deprived

Gyromania
February 25th 2013


16089 Comments


seems pretty meaningless to me, much like people overusing 'pretentious'. everything that has a bold and daring vision is pretentious, and anything that's kind of trendy and poppy is for hipsters - it's inescapable

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well I kind of disagree. "Indie" as a genre tag doesn't really mean anything anymore. It did in the
days of like Pavement and Dino Jr. and Archers of Loaf and stuff but today it basically is just an
umbrella term for almost all contemporary rock/pop music. It still holds meaning when talking about
labels, but 99% of the time the word it used, it is used as a genre-tag. (that was @ potsy at the
start of this page, you guys are posting really fast)

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013


10585 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yo if you're going to italicize album titles do it throughout the review

Digging: Charli XCX - Sucker

Gyromania
February 25th 2013


16089 Comments


potato: misinterpreting? how are you using the word? because unless you're using it sarcastically, i'm pretty sure i get it.

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013


10585 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this conversation made me throw up a little

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"but the fact that if someone asks you what genre something is and you say 'indie rock' and that they will know what you are talking about kind of speaks for itself in that there is some familiarity there of some sort and therefore it has inherent meaning to us english speaking buttfucks"

I didn't say "indie-rock" I said "indie." Yeah, if someone says "indie rock" I usually have some idea what they mean, but "indie" on its own is so broad. This is indie, Bon Iver is indie, Animal Collective is indie, Grimes is indie, Washed Out is indie. It doesn't mean anything.

Gyromania
February 25th 2013


16089 Comments


lol

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013


10585 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what graham is trying to say is it doesn't appeal to his uniquely alternative lifestyle, man

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"well i said indie rock. "

haha, ok, but I brought it up and that's not what we were talking about.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and yeah, you said "indie" a few times before switching to "indie rock"

this is making me barf though. gonna go jam the new FLips and play some smash bros.

wacknizzle
February 25th 2013


13704 Comments


Okay it was fair for u to say what you think, but what I really think you're trying to say is that you don't like it. This sounds like Foals man, it's more straight forward but it sounds natural imo, if that sounds like hipster garbage to you then so be it. You should atleast check out the other tracks man, I didn't like Inhaler much at first either but this album has alot to offer just as Antidotes and TLF did.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013


10383 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Aw damn, Klapper. I missed a few italics, thanks!

Digging: Thou - Heathen

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

can we please talk about how awesome omaha's avatar is for a second?

cause it is damn awesome.

































oh.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy