Steven Wilson The Raven That Refused to Sing
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013



4339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

@Greg
Since you think it's in the 2 range, you might as well give it a '2.25'.

But in all seriousness, yeah, I remember you saying you hated it. Steven Wilson's stuff seems to be a hit-or-miss among people. This has a real 'classic' prog feel, but like I told MeatSalad, I have friends who are major prog fans and still hated it.



greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013



7162 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

My main quibble with this is that his songs don't really grab me all that much. Besides, this stuff doesn't bring anything new to the table and feels really derivative at times. I still prefer his previous album which has a couple of moments quite directly ripping off King Crimson, yet it feels more structured than this. I'll give this an extra spin though.

Digging: Floor - Oblation

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013



4339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Besides, this stuff doesn't bring anything new to the table and feels really derivative at times.


I feel the same way. And I honestly don't understand how sites like The Guardian are giving this a 5/5 and calling it an ambitious effort. It's certainly nothing too groundbreaking, but it is a good prog album in my opinion. And compared to the countless bands out there today that are ripping-off King Crimson and Camel, at least Steven does it well- at least, I think so.

I still prefer his previous album which has a couple of moments quite directly ripping off King Crimson, yet it feels more structured than this.


I feel the opposite there.I felt it was a bit boring at times. It was just messy and seemed to everywhere and nowhere at once. I liked it in the end, but I think this one is much more focused than 'Grace'. But that's just me.


JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2013



18200 Comments


Wasn't too fond of Grace for Drowning (or any of Wilson/PT's recent stuff for that matter) but I'll probably check this out at some point. Will read the review later when I have more time.

Digging: Benoit Pioulard - Hymnal Remixes

PumpBoffBag
February 24th 2013



324 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sounds interesting, will have to give this a listen. Great review

simmo69lol
February 24th 2013



14 Comments


Okay Steven you've had your fun, now back to p-tree with you!

Good review

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013



3010 Comments


Whoa, Greg giving something lower than a four? Gasp!

In all seriousness great review and gratz on the promotions (for both of you). You deserved them

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

Whispered4tw
February 24th 2013



564 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Man, that F. solo at the end of Drive Home is incredible.

Myrkur
February 24th 2013



164 Comments


Rules

Vrid
February 24th 2013



116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I adored Grace For Drowning and definitely feel like submitting a review of my own. You're too quick, a mindpos is in order!

Titan
February 24th 2013



4799 Comments


good record, better than the previous

FearOfNapalm
February 24th 2013



80 Comments


I just saw the video for the title track and it's pretty emotional.

JS19
February 24th 2013



3629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of the best reviews I've read on this site in ages. And it hits the nail on the head too, what more could you want?

Digging: The Dillinger Escape Plan - Calculating Infinity

Underflow
February 24th 2013



2180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Somewhere between but a 4 and a 4.5 for me. While it doesn't reinvent the wheel, the execution is excellent.

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

Calc
February 24th 2013



10868 Comments


this (like coheed's latest) was leaked so long I forgot it wasn't officially released.

CasinoColumbus
February 24th 2013



340 Comments


Still, I hope he'll return to Porcupine Tree as soon as the tour ends to make another record
this (like coheed's latest) was leaked so long I forgot it wasn't officially released.
That's pretty much all I wanted to say. Oh, and: grats on the promotion Paperback.

Wizard
February 24th 2013



18773 Comments


Whoa, don't push the limits too far Wilson hahahaha. This sounds interesting the way you've presented the review, but it's probably gonna be an abortion of a throwback album.

Congrats on the Staffer position, you have now entered the realm of unfuckwithable.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Underflow
February 24th 2013



2180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The only aborted throwback album here is Heritage.

OmairSh
February 24th 2013



8116 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Holy Drinker is very early Genesis

Digging: Clint Mansell - Moon

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2013



14506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really liked the 2 tracks i heard. Great review and grats on staff you deserve it.

Digging: Atomic Ape - Swarm



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy