Steven Wilson The Raven That Refused to Sing
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013


4424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

@Greg
Since you think it's in the 2 range, you might as well give it a '2.25'.

But in all seriousness, yeah, I remember you saying you hated it. Steven Wilson's stuff seems to be a hit-or-miss among people. This has a real 'classic' prog feel, but like I told MeatSalad, I have friends who are major prog fans and still hated it.



greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

My main quibble with this is that his songs don't really grab me all that much. Besides, this stuff doesn't bring anything new to the table and feels really derivative at times. I still prefer his previous album which has a couple of moments quite directly ripping off King Crimson, yet it feels more structured than this. I'll give this an extra spin though.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013


4424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Besides, this stuff doesn't bring anything new to the table and feels really derivative at times.


I feel the same way. And I honestly don't understand how sites like The Guardian are giving this a 5/5 and calling it an ambitious effort. It's certainly nothing too groundbreaking, but it is a good prog album in my opinion. And compared to the countless bands out there today that are ripping-off King Crimson and Camel, at least Steven does it well- at least, I think so.

I still prefer his previous album which has a couple of moments quite directly ripping off King Crimson, yet it feels more structured than this.


I feel the opposite there.I felt it was a bit boring at times. It was just messy and seemed to everywhere and nowhere at once. I liked it in the end, but I think this one is much more focused than 'Grace'. But that's just me.


JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2013


20654 Comments


Wasn't too fond of Grace for Drowning (or any of Wilson/PT's recent stuff for that matter) but I'll probably check this out at some point. Will read the review later when I have more time.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

PumpBoffBag
February 24th 2013


327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sounds interesting, will have to give this a listen. Great review

simmo69lol
February 24th 2013


14 Comments


Okay Steven you've had your fun, now back to p-tree with you!

Good review

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013


3449 Comments


Whoa, Greg giving something lower than a four? Gasp!

In all seriousness great review and gratz on the promotions (for both of you). You deserved them

Whispered4tw
February 24th 2013


616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Man, that F. solo at the end of Drive Home is incredible.

Myrkur
February 24th 2013


164 Comments


Rules

Vrid
February 24th 2013


116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I adored Grace For Drowning and definitely feel like submitting a review of my own. You're too quick, a mindpos is in order!

Titan
February 24th 2013


4884 Comments


good record, better than the previous

FearOfNapalm
February 24th 2013


80 Comments


I just saw the video for the title track and it's pretty emotional.

JS19
February 24th 2013


4256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of the best reviews I've read on this site in ages. And it hits the nail on the head too, what more could you want?

Digging: This Will Destroy You - Another Language

Underflow
February 24th 2013


2563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Somewhere between but a 4 and a 4.5 for me. While it doesn't reinvent the wheel, the execution is excellent.

Calc
February 24th 2013


12185 Comments


this (like coheed's latest) was leaked so long I forgot it wasn't officially released.

Digging: Jizue - Shiori

CasinoColumbus
February 24th 2013


340 Comments


Still, I hope he'll return to Porcupine Tree as soon as the tour ends to make another record
this (like coheed's latest) was leaked so long I forgot it wasn't officially released.
That's pretty much all I wanted to say. Oh, and: grats on the promotion Paperback.

Wizard
February 24th 2013


19399 Comments


Whoa, don't push the limits too far Wilson hahahaha. This sounds interesting the way you've presented the review, but it's probably gonna be an abortion of a throwback album.

Congrats on the Staffer position, you have now entered the realm of unfuckwithable.

Digging: Khonsu - Traveller

Underflow
February 24th 2013


2563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The only aborted throwback album here is Heritage.

OmairSh
February 24th 2013


11044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Holy Drinker is very early Genesis

Digging: Fleet Foxes - Fleet Foxes

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2013


16023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really liked the 2 tracks i heard. Great review and grats on staff you deserve it.

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy