Iceage You're Nothing
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


15098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

adorno owns



i had to read brecht's measure for measure and then an adorno critical piece about same and he just -shattered- him, loved it. down with brecht

liledman
February 23rd 2013


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've got this book Aesthetics and Politics sitting on my shelf, which features writings from Adorno and Brecht, as well as Benjamin (another talented gentleman), Bloch and Lukacs. Should be interesting.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


15098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

i wish i read more of that stuff it's really ill but i can't unless forced to by school or school-ish things



i read the work of art in the age of mechanical reproduction though which was good and i keep seeing this other benjamin thing called the arcades project which looks awesome but is also like 70 dollars

liledman
February 23rd 2013


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah that's one of his most famous essays, and one which Adorno refers to quite a bit in his Cultural Industry writings. I've been tossing up for a while whether to buy that Arcades thing too.



I find myself more and more being drawn into that world, maybe because throughout my degree we never fully delved into it, or any serious intellectual discussion.

liledman
February 23rd 2013


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wish I was reading that stuff at 17 though, damn.

MadKungFu
February 23rd 2013


376 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've got this book Aesthetics and Politics sitting on my shelf, which features writings from Adorno and Brecht, as well as Benjamin (another talented gentleman), Bloch and Lukacs. Should be interesting.



i agree with the other statement you made but holy shit this thread is obtuse as fuck please stop and talk about how the album is or isn't good.

liledman
February 23rd 2013


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'll give you my opinion when I hear the full album haha

Electric City
Emeritus
February 24th 2013


15744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

im thrilled with this thread so far, very pleased at the discussion generated. At the very least it's gotten me thinking about what I present here. I think I'm... learning...? on SPUTNIK?!?!?!

toxin.
February 24th 2013


12855 Comments


"I've had this before. Do I actually come across like that? I figured most people realised I was younger"
Well yes but I'm not sure exactly why. I'm actually getting deja vu with this conversation, so I'm pretty sure we had it in my other period of activity here (late 2011)

731
February 24th 2013


662 Comments


p good

Captain North
February 25th 2013


6792 Comments


Really good piece downer.

My problem with the track review is he's making 'okay, but pretty ordinary' lyrics out to be something more than they are. The snippets you've out into this review are not exactly poetry

AggravatedYeti
February 25th 2013


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is really excellent buddy.



the review I mean,but I love the record too.

Aids
February 25th 2013


24184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah the level of discussion on this thread is so high above virtually every other thread at sputnik. nicely done, adam.

Digging: Jamie xx - In Colour

wabbit
February 25th 2013


7057 Comments


its cuz I've been censored.

ILJ
February 26th 2013


6851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I found this to be pretty boring to be honest. It ain't bad though.

ApplicationToHeaven
March 1st 2013


1566 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

saw them last night, probably the best gig i've been to

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2013


10497 Comments

Album Rating: 2.2 | Sound Off

I really can't stand this album =/

Digging: bansheebeat - Lumine

WeepingBanana
March 4th 2013


10342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm sorry

Aids
March 4th 2013


24184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"saw them last night, probably the best gig i've been to"



oh ok I was considering whether I'd bother going to see them in a couple of weeks (venue is like 5 minutes walking from my house) but I guess I have my answer!!!



wait, you have good opinions usually, right?

plane
Emeritus
March 4th 2013


6110 Comments


they put on a great show. if you can walk to it, no question



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy