Iceage You're Nothing
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
toxin.
February 23rd 2013


12802 Comments


"so you're my age? You come across as older"
and here I figured you were like 20.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


24090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The problem that usually plagues the kind of reviews Downer refers to, is the fact that they seem to rely too heavily on the lyrics as a launching pad for socio-cultural critique.


so much this

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


22047 Comments


and here I figured you were like 20.

I've had this before. Do I actually come across like that? I figured most people realised I was younger

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

liledman
February 23rd 2013


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Music criticism is important and interesting (for me anyway), but we definitely need to make sure that we don't take it too far. It may not seem like a big deal inherently, but this is very relevant in our modern music-consuming society if you ask me.

The best critics, the only ones I care to read, are those that can plant one foot firmly in each sphere and exist somewhere in the middle: primarily listening to music for enjoyment, but analyzing it with some intellectualism and depth when appropriate (or at least interesting to read).


We had a Canadian music critic come out to our Aesthetics class last year, and he basically told us that serious music criticism is a dying art, especially in print media and mainstream press. I don't want to agree with him, but I can see his point. When you read a really in-depth review, with rigorous dissection of the total work, presented with detail and clarity, it can be mind-blowing.

Over the past year or so, I have been reading the work of Theodor Adorno, and it is almost overwhelming in its rigour. As challenging as it can be to digest a full 10-20 page essay on a particular facet of some composer's style, it is always more than worth the effort.

This is an extreme end of the spectrum, being more academic, and assuming an academic audience, but lessons can surely be learnt. I would contend that the intellectual analysis can almost always be made to work when it is presented in a way that is still approachable to the average reader. Overly technical analysis, is to be generally avoided with the wider audience, but depth of musical discussion should never be avoided.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


15080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

adorno owns

i had to read brecht's measure for measure and then an adorno critical piece about same and he just -shattered- him, loved it. down with brecht

liledman
February 23rd 2013


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've got this book Aesthetics and Politics sitting on my shelf, which features writings from Adorno and Brecht, as well as Benjamin (another talented gentleman), Bloch and Lukacs. Should be interesting.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


15080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

i wish i read more of that stuff it's really ill but i can't unless forced to by school or school-ish things

i read the work of art in the age of mechanical reproduction though which was good and i keep seeing this other benjamin thing called the arcades project which looks awesome but is also like 70 dollars

liledman
February 23rd 2013


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah that's one of his most famous essays, and one which Adorno refers to quite a bit in his Cultural Industry writings. I've been tossing up for a while whether to buy that Arcades thing too.

I find myself more and more being drawn into that world, maybe because throughout my degree we never fully delved into it, or any serious intellectual discussion.

liledman
February 23rd 2013


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wish I was reading that stuff at 17 though, damn.

MadKungFu
February 23rd 2013


375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've got this book Aesthetics and Politics sitting on my shelf, which features writings from Adorno and Brecht, as well as Benjamin (another talented gentleman), Bloch and Lukacs. Should be interesting.

i agree with the other statement you made but holy shit this thread is obtuse as fuck please stop and talk about how the album is or isn't good.

liledman
February 23rd 2013


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'll give you my opinion when I hear the full album haha

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2013


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

im thrilled with this thread so far, very pleased at the discussion generated. At the very least it's gotten me thinking about what I present here. I think I'm... learning...? on SPUTNIK?!?!?!

CaptainDooRight
February 24th 2013


30334 Comments


sweet Disney jams ftw

toxin.
February 24th 2013


12802 Comments


"I've had this before. Do I actually come across like that? I figured most people realised I was younger"
Well yes but I'm not sure exactly why. I'm actually getting deja vu with this conversation, so I'm pretty sure we had it in my other period of activity here (late 2011)

731
February 24th 2013


662 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

p good

Captain North
February 25th 2013


6792 Comments


Really good piece downer.

My problem with the track review is he's making 'okay, but pretty ordinary' lyrics out to be something more than they are. The snippets you've out into this review are not exactly poetry

AggravatedYeti
February 25th 2013


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is really excellent buddy.

the review I mean,but I love the record too.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


24090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah the level of discussion on this thread is so high above virtually every other thread at sputnik. nicely done, adam.

wabbit
February 25th 2013


7035 Comments


its cuz I've been censored.

ILJ
February 26th 2013


6741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I found this to be pretty boring to be honest. It ain't bad though.

Digging: FKA Twigs - LP1



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy