Iceage You're Nothing
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ihopeuchoke
February 23rd 2013


668 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm having trouble trying to find what everyone loves about this. I mean, it's good but there is nothing about this album that jumps out at me as excellent.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


7391 Comments


There are many great points in this review. Well done.

This overthinking and contextualizing thing tends to be annoying and really doesn't fit many rock albums. On the other hand, using such social observations and politics in your reviews makes them simply more interesting. That's why, many critics decide to do so even at the expense of muddling the overall message of the review (Pitchfork do it all the time). I have mixed feelings about this whole thing. I'm not necessarily against...

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Excellent review.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

liledman
February 23rd 2013


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just get worried about tying opinions to social contexts that are fluid and thus overlooking the material object in front of you


To a certain extent, you can only review and judge to the fullest of your capabilities in the present time/context, though I understand your broader point. But, I don't think this review makes a particularly strong case against it, as you adopt that very form of review in order to critique it. All I gained from this review, which is apparently trying to avoid being an "intellectual circle-jerk", was generalised comments about this album topping their debut, and "shit slays bro".

You fall into the same traps as the reviewers you allude to, by barely delving into any discussion about the music itself, and distracting from the "material object in front of you" by spending half of the review talking about another review or another album. If you had beefed up the review with another paragraph on the actual music then perhaps the balance would be better, but as it stands, you seem to refer to the music more than addressing it directly.

I think we’re starting to miss the point of rock music


And what is the point of rock music?

You play a dangerous game, resorting to assumptions of idiomatic homogeneity to make a broad social point. This is in fact indicative of what you later mention, "the state of rock", and specifically, rock criticism: obsession with idiom and use. The entire critical approach to "rock music" is called into question by your review, though you do little more than perpetuate the problem by implying a non-intellectual, simplistic, "shit slays, bro" approach is the romantic alternative for the genre we should just thrash about to. The problem is in treating the music as worthy of heavy musical analysis, as well as socio-cultural analysis; to treat it as music, not just cultural phenomena.

If people start seriously talking about You’re Nothing, which they should, I pray it’s because of the music and not the surrounding, extratextual discourse


Indeed.

Also, did you call these guys British?

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


3450 Comments


Seriously good review Downer. I love the points you bring up, and you do it in a way that's really
interesting and meaningful.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


21965 Comments


still don't get this

robin
Emeritus
February 23rd 2013


4248 Comments


this is pretty much the greatest thread that has existed on sputnik, n1 downer

kitsch
February 23rd 2013


5107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

read the summary, thought you would be comparing this to joy division, was pleasantly surprised

i feel like i should like this record more than i do

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


15737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Also, did you call these guys British?


i did, that's my error

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

kitsch
February 23rd 2013


5107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

liledman spittin truth

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


15737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

You fall into the same traps as the reviewers you allude to, by barely delving into any
discussion about the music itself, and distracting from the "material object in front of you" by
spending half of the review talking about another review or another album. If you had beefed up the
review with another paragraph on the actual music then perhaps the balance would be better, but as
it stands, you seem to refer to the music more than addressing it directly.


this is entirely fair. the piece turned more into a response than i perhaps originally intended,
while the music was great too. were this to be more the joint, broader cultural criticism/review I
initially intended, I'd have thrown more in on the music. As I was writing, it felt right to me to
lean on the former. I take your point, though.

The entire critical approach to "rock music" is called into question by your review, though
you do little more than perpetuate the problem by implying a non-intellectual, simplistic, "shit
slays, bro" approach is the romantic alternative for the genre we should just thrash about to. The
problem is in treating the music as worthy of heavy musical analysis, as well as socio-cultural
analysis; to treat it as music, not just cultural phenomena.


I wholeheartedly agree with the second point. I'm not saying socio-cultural analysis is out of place
in every rock album; indeed oftentimes it can be quite illuminating. But I'm not for applying socio-
cultural analysis where it isn't to be had, i.e. where it seems so clearly outside the scope of the
music. We gotta know when to turn it off. For example, you could use Celebration Rock to have a fine
conversation about our obsessions with nostalgia, but at the end of the day it has to come down to
"is this fun/enjoyable to listen to." So we land on the same point: to treat the music as music and
not just cultural phenomena


kitsch
February 23rd 2013


5107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

EC have you listened to any of Loke Rahbek's other projects

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


15737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

naw, should i?

kitsch
February 23rd 2013


5107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if you like new industrial music / noise punk / dark synth pop then yeah

http://www.discogs.com/artist/Loke+Rahbek

i recommend

lust for youth
sexdrome
war
LR

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


1992 Comments


Atomic, I always picture you speaking with a slight southern gentlemen accent.


Haha, nah, I'm probably too low-toned East coast for that, but I'll take that as a compliment, for sure.

I've enjoyed reading what's been said in this thread so far. I think I've said all I've got to say on the topic, though, so I'll just keep knockin' back the popcorn if there's anything more.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
February 23rd 2013


4950 Comments


Criticism will always be the quantization of art. But yeah
i agree mostly.and also pitchfork sux.

From the first sentences of each paragraph in this tl,dr
review, i can definitely tell id find this review interesting
if i ever committed to reading it.

Heart

toxin.
February 23rd 2013


12434 Comments


"Oh, some of it, sure. But Iago is not gay and the strawberries on the handkerchief are not fruit-dipped dongs."
lol yes that is certainly true. That's a hilarious interpretation, although Iago being gay does change some things... (a tale of unrequited, interracial, homosexual loveeeee). Just kidding.

and damn liledman spitting truth



RyanNealey
February 23rd 2013


11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There is a lot more diversity and ferocity on this album than their previous one..while not as experimental as I would have liked it to be...probably my favorite punk album this year so far.

MadKungFu
February 23rd 2013


375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the fact that you would post a response to a review as a review is pretty fucked up considering that you're a staff member who should be writing about an album on its own merits rather than acting as a counterpoint to what some other fuck said about it.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2013


15737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

¯_(ツ)_/¯



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy